Ratings based on 3,010 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lack of Security

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Cons: More security
I had a very scary situation one night while I was heading to my room: a man had followed me to my floor and tried to block me from possibly getting help. In the elevator, I had noticed as he stood next to me that he very blatantly grabbed himself. As you can imagine, I felt very uncomfortable when he & I were the only people to get off the elevator on my floor. He suspiciously loitered outside the elevator banks as I started to head to my room. I followed my gut & I turned around and headed back to the elevators to go back downstairs to tell the front desk. He tried to distract me was blocking my way to get on the elevator & blocking access to the house phone. I finally got an elevator & went to the front desk and they immediately called security. The security person on duty took me up to my floor. The man was gone. Security later called me to say they had found the man and had escorted him out of the hotel. Needless to say, I didn’t sleep that night. I felt very uncomfortable in the hotel and “what could have happened“ — harassment, robbery or, worse yet, assault — kept going through my mind. I checked out early the next day and told the front desk what happened. The manager on duty never even came out to talk to me and find out more about the situation! I wrote an e-mail to the hotel & also talked to the hotel manager on the phone. While they ended up finally refunding my money, they showed absolutely no concern for the incident.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great locations and comfy hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Staff More friendly than a business hotel
Cons: Bathrooms Decor a little faded
Location: Great place for access to most areas
The hotel was really well placed, the staff were great me the room was comfy, the downsides were no free wifi in room given the price per night and the bathroom was small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice!!!!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Great! It was a nice hotel. Great location!!! Close to many awesome attractions in Manhattan !!! Love the architecture and artistic contemporary decor!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel near MSG.

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Great hotel in midtown. Service and staff acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Pleasantly surprised..

Posted Nov 10, 2014
I arrived at Penn station and was delighted that the Affinia was on the same block.. So easy. Staff went the extra mile on a couple of situations I had and was extremely accommodating. Room was larger than most nyc boutiques and had plenty of space for the two of us to move around comfortably. Access in and out was efficient and the location was central to many of the sites, lounges and restaurants that we planned to visit. overall it was a great experience and I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in prime location

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliess. Better maid service.
Location: Across the street from Madison Square Garden at at Penn Station (very close to subway). Short walk to times square.
Affinia Manhattan is right across the street from Madison Square Garden and a short walk to Times Square. Because of it's prime location and price (we got a great deal by booking it with a flight on Expedia) we would stay again here. That being said we really just needed a place to sleep. We spent most of our days out exploring and not a lot of time at the hotel. The room looks nicer in the pictures than in real life, but it makes do. There was a fridge in our room but it didn't work ... ? Also the maids didn't seem to clean very well. We noticed that they didn't change the bed sheets, just made the bed. I also dirtied a spoon and it never got replaced, just stayed, dirty, on the dish for a few days. The room has a safe which is great and free wifi in the lobby. Also there is free wine between 5-6pm in the lobby which we loved! Beware: there is a TON of street noise/construction in the morning, but they provide ear plugs in the bed side table which are essential for sleeping!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Walking distance to time square. Hotel is across the street Madison square garden and penn station.
Good location next to train station. In busy area with a lot of noise 24/7. Room was upgraded free of charge by hotel staff to delux room. Overall, pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I'd definitely go back!

Posted Nov 6, 2014
The Affinia is pretty much what I expected when reading reviews. We paid the extra $20 for 200 more feet of space and it was well worth it. The noise level was as expected on 7th Ave in New York, but they supplied ear plugs if so inclined. We didn't eat in the restaurant because of our schedule but when we go back, will definitely imbibe. Housekeeping was excellent and front desk and concierge polite and helpful. If I had to complain about anything, it would be the size of the bathrooms and sharp cornered sink counters that, if you weren't careful, when you bend down you could very well crack your head on! We could live with that and chalk it up to small bathrooms in tight quarters. However, for a minimal expense, the Affinia could add some shelves in the bathrooms. Something other than the 8x12" counterspace. It was very frustrating to maneuver. Perhaps more hooks? Small, we could deal with, but for two people, there wasn't any place to put your things! Still, we'll definitely go back to the Affinia! \
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom england

Location, location, location

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The staff, the welcome, the decor, safety, location (may have mentioned that already a few times!).
Cons: double glazing - see earlier comment.
Location: Highline, Seven restaurant, JC Pennys, MAcys, Bus Tour, Avengers Museum, Empire State, Times Square, Outside Food market, Madison Square Gardens
Arrival from JFK using public transport - big savings on shuttle or cab fares - direct into Penn Station - across the road (45 mins door to door) makes this an excellent location. Close to 5th Avenue, Empire State, the Bus tour stops and Times Square (15 min stroll), The Highline (5 mins). This hotel has everything on its door step! Reception staff - Mavel - was amazing - we visited for my daughters 18th and she received top dollar service, congratulations and a room upgrade! WOW! HUGE room with seperate office area, large sofa and relaxing chair with deep sunken bath - needed to realx after walking so far in this city - oved the decor. Felt incredibly welcomed and safe. The concierge, Marina, made front row reservations for The Lion King on Broadway and a special dinner at Uncle Jacks Steakhouse. Unbeknown to us she informed them of my daughters birthday and my own a day earlier - so we received VIP treatement and a candle lit chocolate souffle on the house! Thanks again Marina - we were living the dream in NYC and will never forget that night for as long as we live x Other reviews mention the noise levels and yes, double glazing is a MUST to upgrade this 4 star to a 5star as located next the sounds of a church peeling at 0700hr and a fire station was noisy - HOWEVER you do not come to NYC to lie in your hotel room sleeping - so the early morning call got us set up for the day ahead. we wpould highly recommend - Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great location right in the thick of it.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Stayed on the top floor in a suit, spacious bright and very comfortable. Good room service (best fillet Mignon I've had) I Highly recommend it.