Ratings based on 3,018 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bermuda

7th Ave Gem

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly service and room comfort
Cons: Hallways are dark, need more lighting
Location: convenient location, catch an event at Madison Square Garden , visit Times Square see a plaacross the street from the hotel, shop non stop.
I truly love New York, it is my favorite city. Staying at the Affinia Manhattan puts me right in the midst of this beautiful city. I can conveniently shop, dine and be entertained just a few steps from the Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

Downtown access able clean rooms great

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Stayed here to do the sites and that we did from shopping to sites and all. Great friendly hotel excellent staff... yes it's a winner and for the Apple very reasonably priced through Expedia
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia Beach

Nice hotel but not for the price they asking

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Extra pay for breakfast and Internet in your room ? In 4 star hotel you have to be kidding me , 230 dollars for the room with no view and a size of barely walking aroun your bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Lovely staff, hotel needs a refurbish

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Staff , food and bar very good
Cons: Rooms need refurbishing
We booked the Affinia for my birthday 8 months in advance and specifically asked for 2 rooms up high to alleviate some noise and to be close together. The rooms were on the 11th and 12th and were very tired looking nothing like the website photos? The air con unit was banging very loudly no one could have slept through the noise. We were offered an upgrade on the 24th floor together with a discount and 2 bots of complimentary wines and chocolate. There should have been a complimentary wine hour every day but this has now been discontinued! All in all, the staff were very good with sorting out our complaint. The restaurant and bar were lovely good food and staff. The beds were very comfortable. It is ideally situated for all areas of the city. The rooms need refurbishing, once this is done I would happily recommend to others.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lack of Security

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Cons: More security
I had a very scary situation one night while I was heading to my room: a man had followed me to my floor and tried to block me from possibly getting help. In the elevator, I had noticed as he stood next to me that he very blatantly grabbed himself. As you can imagine, I felt very uncomfortable when he & I were the only people to get off the elevator on my floor. He suspiciously loitered outside the elevator banks as I started to head to my room. I followed my gut & I turned around and headed back to the elevators to go back downstairs to tell the front desk. He tried to distract me was blocking my way to get on the elevator & blocking access to the house phone. I finally got an elevator & went to the front desk and they immediately called security. The security person on duty took me up to my floor. The man was gone. Security later called me to say they had found the man and had escorted him out of the hotel. Needless to say, I didn’t sleep that night. I felt very uncomfortable in the hotel and “what could have happened“ — harassment, robbery or, worse yet, assault — kept going through my mind. I checked out early the next day and told the front desk what happened. The manager on duty never even came out to talk to me and find out more about the situation! I wrote an e-mail to the hotel & also talked to the hotel manager on the phone. While they ended up finally refunding my money, they showed absolutely no concern for the incident.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great locations and comfy hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Staff More friendly than a business hotel
Cons: Bathrooms Decor a little faded
Location: Great place for access to most areas
The hotel was really well placed, the staff were great me the room was comfy, the downsides were no free wifi in room given the price per night and the bathroom was small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice!!!!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Great! It was a nice hotel. Great location!!! Close to many awesome attractions in Manhattan !!! Love the architecture and artistic contemporary decor!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel near MSG.

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Great hotel in midtown. Service and staff acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Pleasantly surprised..

Posted Nov 10, 2014
I arrived at Penn station and was delighted that the Affinia was on the same block.. So easy. Staff went the extra mile on a couple of situations I had and was extremely accommodating. Room was larger than most nyc boutiques and had plenty of space for the two of us to move around comfortably. Access in and out was efficient and the location was central to many of the sites, lounges and restaurants that we planned to visit. overall it was a great experience and I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in prime location

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliess. Better maid service.
Location: Across the street from Madison Square Garden at at Penn Station (very close to subway). Short walk to times square.
Affinia Manhattan is right across the street from Madison Square Garden and a short walk to Times Square. Because of it's prime location and price (we got a great deal by booking it with a flight on Expedia) we would stay again here. That being said we really just needed a place to sleep. We spent most of our days out exploring and not a lot of time at the hotel. The room looks nicer in the pictures than in real life, but it makes do. There was a fridge in our room but it didn't work ... ? Also the maids didn't seem to clean very well. We noticed that they didn't change the bed sheets, just made the bed. I also dirtied a spoon and it never got replaced, just stayed, dirty, on the dish for a few days. The room has a safe which is great and free wifi in the lobby. Also there is free wine between 5-6pm in the lobby which we loved! Beware: there is a TON of street noise/construction in the morning, but they provide ear plugs in the bed side table which are essential for sleeping!