Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Valerie Jfrom Calgary

Once We Knew The Ropes...

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This B and B has the potential to be a great place to stay. Great features are subway is close only 1 street away and takes you to key locations without transfers. Neighbourhood is quaint. Separate bedroom in suite on second floor was great for privacy and two other pull out couches in livingroom for 2-3 othes. Kitchen stocked with basic breakfast items: juice, milk, fruit, cream cheese, fresh bagels. Some improvements: some lamps in the livingroom as only light is the big overhead light with energy saving bulbs which can be hard in the eyes. No cork screw-bring your own. No place to hang towels-hooks in bathroom on wall would be helpful for 4 people. No place for coats-hooks on hall might be nice. The locks! There are 5 locks. Reminder: locking is to the right unlocking to the left. These were hard to navigate each time-hopefully door downstairs is fixed-ask. The owner was available by text and sent Earl to help when we had the wrong internet codes. When checking in, get them to show your the locks (try them yourself), make sure the internet works, and that you are shown extra towels and linins. It would be nice if the welcome book had more information as to maps, how to get to subways, restaurants and maps as well as the neighbourhood. Overall, now that we know what to expect, we'd stay there again if it had the lamps and hooks for towels. Its a cute brownstone, safe, easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by UMSfrom NH

spotless, well maintained, convenient to subway

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
perfect for a 17 year old and her parents in NYC to see some shows. % min walk to train and ~20 min subway to Time Square. Never felt unsafe going to from train. Able to find street parking easily but may be more difficult if not during school vaca as across from a school. Spotless room w queen bed and day/bed trundle. Private bath, huge closet, quiet. Breakfast was bagel thins, crm cheese, kasha, oranges, pears, blueberries, OJ, Milk and bottled water provided. Keurig and kettle w asst teas and coffees. 3rd floor of brownstone - perfect for the independent traveler - not for someone looking for room service. Would definitely go again and recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rogerfrom South Carolina

Close to B,C and 1, 2, 3 Trains

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was excellent. The location of the B&B is convenient to the B and C trains as well as the 1,2, and 3 trains. I was there to do research at the Schomburg Center for Black Culture and it was only a ten minute walk away. The room itself was quite comfortable and had free wireless. It's proximity to City College is also a plus, as you have St. Nicholas Park nearby. The neighborhood was nice--there was a Subway, Duane Reade, and IHOP within walking distance. Also, just a train stop away are very nice restaurants. I thoroughly recommend this B&B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sue and Paulfrom England

Home Comforts and easy access to New York

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a great time and enjoyed staying there - I had help with my computer for- wifi .
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Just what I needed

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We are very pleased with their service, convenience, and cleanliness!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim Bfrom Portsmouth, Va

A bit of "bait and switch" -- inaccurate website

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Allies B&B was a fine and quiet place to stay. Finding parking was not easy, but parking is always tough in NYC. Easy access to subway. My biggest disappointment was with the website which said I would get a special breakfast option (not just the continental option of juice, milk, yogurt, fruit, cereal, etc). I was supposed to get an email with choices a week or two before arriving. Never got the email. When I inquired just a few days before arriving, I was told that the website was wrong (they have since changed it). But they should have honored the promise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mariafrom Frankfurt

ruhige Lage in einem Townhouse in U-Bahnnähe

Posted Jun 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Sehr angenehm und ungestört war der Aufenthalt im Gardenview-Room. Das Zimmer ist mit WC und Bad und mit einer kleinen Küche ausgestattet, so dass es wie ein kleines Appartment funktionierte. Der Kühlschrank war für die Gesamtdauer des Aufenthaltes aufgefüllt und man musste das Frühstück selbst zubereiten. Über Telefon oder Mail konnte man zu den Hausherren Kontakt aufnehmen und bekam auch zeitnah geholfen. Der schöne, kleine Garten war nicht frei nutzbar, wurde jedoch nach vorheriger Absprache jeweils geöffnet. Dort hatte man dann einen schönen, schattigen Platz unter einem großen Laubbaum mit Eichhörnchen und kräftig singenden Rotkardinalen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by PTfrom Racine, Wisconsin

clean and comfortable room

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Allie's. Both rooms have been very clean and in great shape. Breakfast items are stocked in the refrigerator and more than adequate. If you have a car, street parking is not a problem. We would definitely stay there again. One block from the subway stop. Our first time we didn't know how or where to check in since the building isn't marked, so contact them before you arrive and know the address of the building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Carrey

Overall, pretty good experience

Posted Mar 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay at the Allies Inn Bed and Breakfast. I stayed there for 2 nights while I took the New York Bar Exam, because it was only a 10 minute subway ride away from the testing site, and there was a subway station very very close to the Inn. Before arriving, I called because I wasn't going to arrive and check in until 11pm. Marilyn, the Innkeeper, was super nice and arranged for me to get my keys and left detailed instructions for me. The room was clean, the kitchen had everything I need. The only thing I can complain about was that the first night, the heat was on very high and I couldn't locate the control inside my room! I had to open a window, which was very hard to do. But other than that, the stay was very comfortable, and it was one less thing to stress about while I took the bar exam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jim

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had a great time. Only complaint is that the room was cold and I wasn't able to reach the innkeeper.