Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by PT from Racine, Wisconsin

clean and comfortable room

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Allie's. Both rooms have been very clean and in great shape. Breakfast items are stocked in the refrigerator and more than adequate. If you have a car, street parking is not a problem. We would definitely stay there again. One block from the subway stop. Our first time we didn't know how or where to check in since the building isn't marked, so contact them before you arrive and know the address of the building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Carrey

Overall, pretty good experience

Posted Mar 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay at the Allies Inn Bed and Breakfast. I stayed there for 2 nights while I took the New York Bar Exam, because it was only a 10 minute subway ride away from the testing site, and there was a subway station very very close to the Inn. Before arriving, I called because I wasn't going to arrive and check in until 11pm. Marilyn, the Innkeeper, was super nice and arranged for me to get my keys and left detailed instructions for me. The room was clean, the kitchen had everything I need. The only thing I can complain about was that the first night, the heat was on very high and I couldn't locate the control inside my room! I had to open a window, which was very hard to do. But other than that, the stay was very comfortable, and it was one less thing to stress about while I took the bar exam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jim

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had a great time. Only complaint is that the room was cold and I wasn't able to reach the innkeeper.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little info to consider

Posted Dec 20, 2012
Pros: The wi-fi option, cable, available computer, & stove
Cons: The lack of milk to go with the cereal & the hall & stairway lacked decor (did not well welcoming)
Location: Not in the best area, but convenient to restaurants & subway entrance
Would have liked to be greeted by the house keeper herself, rather than her "helper." Building did not have house numbers, difficult to find at night. Enjoyed the wi-fi option, but it kept fading in and out. Need to include milk with cereal for B&B. Need more decor in the welcome & stair ways so that it feels less creepy. Other than that, the place was clean and well kept. Good price for a short stay. Subway just a block down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elise from SF Bay Area

Allie's Bed & Breakfast

Posted Jul 6, 2012
Pros: quiet, clean, comfortable
Cons: noisy air conditioner. BUT most hotels have this issue and you can't complain about having AC in the NYC summer heat & humidity.
Location: located in West Harlem/NYC on 136th, near the subway B/C line.
This B&B is located on a quiet street in West Harlem. It is conveniently very close to the B/C line subway. Our room was very pleasant and comfortable with a queen bed, private bath, large walk-in closet and small equipped kitchen with stove, fridge, sink, coffee maker and teapot.. The breakfast was ample and suited us: yogurt, cereal/milk, bread, cream cheese, lots of fruit and fruit juices, coffee & tea. There is no elevator but our room was on the third floor and the walk up wasn't bad. We would stay here again and recommend it to others!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Cozy, safe, spotless place of privacy in Harlem

Posted Jun 11, 2012
Pros: A real homey atmosphere
Cons: Told there was a computer for use and WiFi at check-in but the computer was broken and WiFi was only "active" for 10 minutes when I logged in.
Location: Quiet street, very accessible to subway (one block) as well as buses and taxis.
My room was charming, very clean, cozy, quiet and overall, I felt very comfortable, safe and would definitely stay there again should my needs be in Harlem. I was there alone. My view was of trees and a garden, feeling very private. The "Continental" breakfast was much more than that, the frig stocked with fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and cream cheese as well as juice, milk and coffee available. It all felt very "homey". My only problems were trying to reach the innkeeper before arriving and making sure I had found the correct place. I got only voicemail twice so e-mailed a question the day before arrival (stating I was leaving in the AM) and didn't receive an answer till 4 hours after my arrival in NYC. Happily, my request was taken care of, but I was expecting an easier time reaching someone. Also, there is no indication of the building being a B&B or hotel; there is no signage and there were no names on the buzzer tags outside, so I randomly chose a buzzer. The cab had left and for a short while I was concerned I was left at the wrong place. Also, my room was on the 3rd floor and it's a walk-up, so not good for those who can't climb easily. This is not a typical B&B; I only met the man who showed me in and was there at checkout to start cleaning up; I never met the innkeeper. Still, aside for those few issues, it was a wonderful place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad experience

Posted Jan 18, 2012
very disappointing,expensive,no room service no clean towels 2flights of stairs to room not enough so you had to wear coat in room.continental breakfast was a joke.4apples juice sliced bread make your own coffee percolator that didn't work absolutely lousy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandy from Long Beach, CA, USA

Like Your Own Apartment in NYC

Posted Jan 3, 2012
Pros: It felt like I had scored a great little studio in the city.
Cons: My daughter said the cereals they provided tasted like cardboard, so we found a market in 59th CC, and took the C train home with our groceries.
Location: Very close to the 136 Street Subway Station, access to the entire MTA network.
Less of a Bed and Breakfast and more of a Studio Apartment with a kitchen. It was like having your own place in the city! Just the ability to make yourself eggs in the morning instead of paying through the nose at some eatery really saved us a bundle. They stocked the fridge with Milk, juices, a fruit plate, and the pantry had a loaf of bread and some cereals. Our room was very large and comfortable, but the best advantages are the privacy and access to the subway, only a short walk away. Going downtown one stop you can transfer to the A train which makes the ride to Columbus Circle and Times Square really quick.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, MD

Gorgeous room... but NO SOUP FOR YOU!!

Posted Sep 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
After my other housing in Harlem fell through, I scrambled to find last-minute accommodations and was thrilled to find Allie's. The room was stunning, the kitchen adorable and the cable and internet a nice plus. However, in the morning I found that I was denied *breakfast* at this bed & *breakfast*. The caretaker explained that she wouldn't give me food because I had booked too late. End of story, no alternate solution. I could understand being shortchanged on the first morning but I was there for 3 days! It just seemed like odd behavior and poor customer service for an otherwise lovely place. I was made to feel like I was a huge inconvenience for someone who was more than happy to take a TON of my money. So if you book far in advance, go for it, but if not, be prepared for a less-than-warm welcome.