Ratings based on 437 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Great price and location

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Awesome location. Convenient to everything. Quick shuttle stop from airport; quick train ride to other landmarks. Very comfortable rooms. Enjoyed Uptown and Harlem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great option in Harlem-

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Staff, decor, rooms- everything.
Cons: Not much.
Location: Great restaurants- bistros, nightlife- Academic centers- Barnard, Columbia short walk away.
We visit our daughter at the Columbia/Barnard campuses in Morningside Heights and this place is perfect! Rooms are great- staff is always cordial and extremely helpful. Area is loaded with great bistros and Columbia, Barnard, Teacher's College with lots of great restaurants are an easy and short walk away. This is our go to spot. Nice little coffee bar with free regular coffee which one can "upgrade" for a nominal fee to espresso or cappucino. Cool little bar as well. Rooms are well appointed, modern and very comfortable. No real negatives here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Good hotel close to the subway

Posted Sep 22, 2014
I'll admit to being a little wary of the location, but my husband I felt safe the whole time. The hotel is located just one block away from subway access. Only two stops to Times Square and a short train ride away from Yankee Stadium. This hotel put us in the middle of everything we needed. Staff was friendly and the bartenders at the lobby bar were great. We would recommend it to anyone and stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2014
What a gem. The hotel staff were great and the hotel itself was very clean and met all of our needs while in New York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MASSACHUSETTS

GREAT CLEAN HOTEL WITH FRIENDLY STAFF

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: I LIKED THE CLEANLINESS OF THE ROOMS AND COMMON AREAS. ALSO THE FRIENDLY AND ACCOMADATING STAFF.
Cons: EVERYTHING WAS GREAT!
Location: I SPENT MY TIME AT RANDALL ISLAND SO IM NOT REALLY SURE OF THE AREA ALL THAT MUCH.
MY FRIEND AND I STAYED FOR LABOR DAY WEEKEND TO GO TO ELECTRIC ZOO. WE ONLY STAYED FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHT. WE ARRIVED EARLY FRIDAY AND THE HOTEL LET US CHECK INTO OUR ROOM EARLY WHICH WAS GREAT BECAUSE THE FESTIVAL STARTED AT 1. THE STAFF WAS HELPFUL WITH LATE NIGHT FOOD DELIVERYS. HOLDING OUR BAGS ON SUNDAY DURING THE FESTIVAL. THE LOCATION WAS NICE BECAUSE AT NIGHT TIME THE STREETS HAD CALM DOWN, AS TO TIMES SQUARE WHERE IT GOES ALL NIGHT AND HAS BRIGHT LIGHTS. WE WERE ABLE TO CHECK OUT A BIT LATER ON SUNDAY WHICH WAS GREAT!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Aloft Harlem Stay

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Convenient location to Columbia University. I love the free wifi, complimentary water and other room amenities! Love the music and lounge/art area
Cons: Would be nice to have a ramp to use for carrying luggage up/down to the front lobby
Location: Lots of places to eat/grocery. Close to Apollo theatre. Close to ColumbiaU
We really like our stay at this hotel. The location is very convenient for us - walking distance to Columbia U and lots of places to eat/grocery/subway nearby. The room itself is really nice, clean and I like the layout! My only complain is the stairs where you have to manuever your luggages. We had 4 luggages and it was a hassle - would have been nice to provide a ramp for easy access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great location and safe

Posted Aug 1, 2014
I was a bit apprehensive because the long ago reputation of Harlem. This hotel lived up to other locations and is a great value. If taking the subway, be sure to get off at 125th st. The subway app on iphone told us to get off two stops later and not knowing we could get back on and be so close, we walked two miles with our luggage. Great place to stay of you are going to Yankee Stadium too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Branford, CT

Very nice!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: I liked its appearance and proximity to Columbia University, where I had my conference.
Cons: They had a full service bar, that served appetizers and drinks. I wouldn't mind if they added a full service restaurant.
Location: Columbia University is nearby. I liked the Harlem Tavern, which is just a stone's throw from Aloft Harlem.
Aloft Harlem is a very nice hotel: clean, well-run. My room was very clean and spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Calvin from PA

A nice hotel to visit

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent all around service. I received help with my bags and they even reserved a taxi when I needed.