Ratings based on 606 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Nice hotel in a great location of shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A great discovery!

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Good security. $5 voucher if room not serviced. Excellent breakfast. counter in room holds 3 suitcases at waist height. Comfortable bed. Stylish decor
Cons: The air conditioning in the lobby comes in short rather loud bursts!
Location: A vibrant interesting community and close to Columbia University.
We visit family near Morningside Park annually and it's always been hard to find accommodation nearby so we were very excited to read the great review in the New Yorker. The staff were warm and welcoming and thoughtful and the room elegant and very comfortable. We will be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from houston

Great Harlem location

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Refrigerator, free wi-if, location, key card access.
Cons: Air conditioner. Storage for clothing and personal items
Location: Near the Apollo, street vendors for fresh fruit and smoothies. Good shopping. Near subway.
Needs more Storage/shelf place for clothing. Room 401 has a big stain on the carpet. Air conditioner was very loud. Husband liked the minimalism. Free drinking water. Nice cleaning staff. Front desk was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Its too overpriced for the amenities offered. The untrance was uncomfortable and the TV did not work
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Quiet, comfortable and convenient

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: I'm happy with it as it is.
Location: Harlem, Columbia University, Central Park.
I loved my room. It was very attractive. It had everything I needed and nothing else -- no bulky bureau, overstuffed chairs or unnecessary floor lamp blocked my path. The bed was very comfortable. The light switches by the door included ways to control the lights separately or together -- you didn't have to roam around in search of switches and, at the same time, you didn't have to have every light blazing. I had a room to myself, but the layout would have been ideal for a couple -- the sink is separate from the shower. I appreciated being able to purchase Cokes and yogurt right off the lobby. Recycling is important to me, and I was happy to use the bins by the front door (very clean and unobtrusive) and to take advantage of the option of getting a $5 voucher instead of having daily maid service. I felt safer knowing that anyone who wanted to operate the elevator needed a card (the modern version of a key). The hotel was attractive and quiet. The staff was courteous and efficient.Restaurants and shopping were nearby. It was easy to get a cab. Central Park, Columbia University and the 125th Street Station were all within walking distance (20 minutes or less).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Harlem Native Approved

Posted May 26, 2015
I'm originally from Harlem, but moved for work. When I return I generally stay with friends or family or in downtown Manhattan. I was attending a weekend workshop at Columbia University so I stayed in a Harlem at the Aloft. I enjoyed myself immensely! The room was just the right size. The desk was perfect for getting my workshop materials organized. The noise level was very low considering it was near a very busy area on a holiday weekend. And the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There were also some delicious snacks available 24/7, which came in handy on late nights. I also appreciated that the fitness center was open 24/7, clean, had free water, and a variety of cardio machines for use. I didn't have the opportunity to take advantage of the lounge in the lobby, but I did hear the great music and saw others enjoying themselves sitting by the bar. I would definitely stay again and plan to recommend to friends, family, and colleagues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Harlem close to Columbia university

Posted May 25, 2015
Well appointed rooms. Clean! And great hotel staff! Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from harlem, ny

Nice hotel close to Columbia University

Posted May 21, 2015
Check in was smooth, my room was ready early and conveniently located near everything that I needed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Nice hotel close to the Columbia University.

Posted Apr 30, 2015
The hotel is 10 min nice walk away from the Columbia University. Aloft Harlem's rooms are clean, have complementary nice filter coffee, tea and water facilities. The mini food selling desk have some healthy food options as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island new York

Perfect if you have a show at the apollo...1 block

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Great staff. .. quiet spot. . Clean clean clean. .... sweet room. . Clean bathroom. . Very safe