Ratings based on 620 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Excited to return to this hotel and area soon,

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Staff was excellent. Loved the area of Harlem where it is located. Enjoyed outdoor space.
Cons: Bathroom door is a slider that didn't stay closed.
Location: Good shopping, great restaurants.
Enjoyed 4 days of walking around this area. Great hotel, comfortable and clean. Slept great in comfortable bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus OH

Very Nice hotel in the heart of Harlem

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Hotel was wonderful, my only complaint was the non privacy of the bathroom. If traveling with family this does not present a problem but if not it could be very awkward.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ewing, New Jersey

Fantastic hotel, close to all events.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The outdoor seating was a very nice touch. The rooms were designed very sleek and nice. I loved the shower. The windows were very very nice.
Cons: All good
Location: The location was good for me.. I wanted to get something to eat when I arrived and the staff directed me to a small eatery on the same block, nice.
I loved everything about this hotel. It was close to all of the events I had to attend. The staff was extremely helpful from the moment I stepped in the door. I had never traveled to NY by myself and was very nervous about finding my way around. I would tell the staff about the events I needed to get to and they advised me as to how to get there, whether I should take a taxi or if I could walk. I loved the fact that I could get something to eat quickly in the lobby of the hotel day and night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hôtel accueillant et bien situé dans Harlem

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Location: Harlem Tavern pour manger & Apollo Theater pour visiter
Notre expérience au Aloft Hotel est positive, le service est bon, les chambres sont bien équipées, propres et confortables, le rapport qualité-prix est bon, nous y retournerons si nous revenons à New-York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel in Harlem

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: friendly staff, clean, updated rooms
Cons: mattresses are hard
Great experience; very friendly staff. Rooms are small but well appointed. Note that new safety regulations require that the doors on Aloft hotel rooms not close automatically - you have to pull them shut. Make sure yours is closed when you leave the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Don't go!

Posted Jul 24, 2015
A/C unit is loud, coffee machine doesn't work, tap water is white, bed is not comfortable. Area is NOT touristy and full of police cars - dangerous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

I like staying at Aloft in Harlem.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
I like the staff they are friendly. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I hope they will continue to keep up the good work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great place in Harlem!

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The hotel played soft jazz or R&B in the lobby. It was really nice. The design of the hallways really limited noise.
Cons: Add free continental breakfast.
Location: Even though it is in Harlem, it was nice. The Apollo Theater, Columbia University, McDonald's, Morningside & Central Park are in walking distance.
This is a different style of hotel, a little more European in style, but it was nice place and close to Columbia University. The staff was excellent! I did think the incidental fee was a little high for a hotel that did not have a full service restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Nice hotel in a great location of shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A great discovery!

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Good security. $5 voucher if room not serviced. Excellent breakfast. counter in room holds 3 suitcases at waist height. Comfortable bed. Stylish decor
Cons: The air conditioning in the lobby comes in short rather loud bursts!
Location: A vibrant interesting community and close to Columbia University.
We visit family near Morningside Park annually and it's always been hard to find accommodation nearby so we were very excited to read the great review in the New Yorker. The staff were warm and welcoming and thoughtful and the room elegant and very comfortable. We will be back!