Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom washington DC

great alternative for people visiting Columbus U

Posted Nov 16, 2014
great hotel but the surrounding area requires caution at night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami fl

a hotel I will always stay at from now on

Posted Nov 16, 2014
for the business traveler this is a wonderful hotel. This was my first stay and from now on if a city I travel too has a aloft I will be staying there. It's a great simple modern hotel. Love it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Nice staff. Swanky deco . Right in the heart of Harlem. I'll stay here again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recent NY Stay

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Stayed here 5 nights in November. Nice staff. Biggest problem was AC in the hotel, because they had turned it off for winter. Made room hot and stuffy. Must be a problem they get complaints on, they had a small black fan they brought up in place of AC. Made it difficult to be comfortable in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice find

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Location, value, staff.
Cons: Lighting was quirky and the heat was either ON or OFF.
Location: Location is close to Columbia University. We had a great meal at Zoma's on Frederick Douglas Blvd. and 113th (?) street. Fabulous Ethiopian food.
Hotel Aloft is a very nice little place to stay - especially if you are visiting the someone going to Columbia University. The room is very modern and our only complaint was the lighting system. In order to turn a light on in the bathroom, all the lights in the entry/sink area are on. The staff was very gracious and on the day we were leaving we saw the staff working diligently at keeping the hotel clean. We also appreciated the free WiFi, we often stay at the Excelsior and although I love the location - I am never happy paying extra for WiFi!! We would stay at Hotel Aloft again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta

Great price and location

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Awesome location. Convenient to everything. Quick shuttle stop from airport; quick train ride to other landmarks. Very comfortable rooms. Enjoyed Uptown and Harlem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great option in Harlem-

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Staff, decor, rooms- everything.
Cons: Not much.
Location: Great restaurants- bistros, nightlife- Academic centers- Barnard, Columbia short walk away.
We visit our daughter at the Columbia/Barnard campuses in Morningside Heights and this place is perfect! Rooms are great- staff is always cordial and extremely helpful. Area is loaded with great bistros and Columbia, Barnard, Teacher's College with lots of great restaurants are an easy and short walk away. This is our go to spot. Nice little coffee bar with free regular coffee which one can "upgrade" for a nominal fee to espresso or cappucino. Cool little bar as well. Rooms are well appointed, modern and very comfortable. No real negatives here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Good hotel close to the subway

Posted Sep 22, 2014
I'll admit to being a little wary of the location, but my husband I felt safe the whole time. The hotel is located just one block away from subway access. Only two stops to Times Square and a short train ride away from Yankee Stadium. This hotel put us in the middle of everything we needed. Staff was friendly and the bartenders at the lobby bar were great. We would recommend it to anyone and stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2014
What a gem. The hotel staff were great and the hotel itself was very clean and met all of our needs while in New York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MASSACHUSETTS

GREAT CLEAN HOTEL WITH FRIENDLY STAFF

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: I LIKED THE CLEANLINESS OF THE ROOMS AND COMMON AREAS. ALSO THE FRIENDLY AND ACCOMADATING STAFF.
Cons: EVERYTHING WAS GREAT!
Location: I SPENT MY TIME AT RANDALL ISLAND SO IM NOT REALLY SURE OF THE AREA ALL THAT MUCH.
MY FRIEND AND I STAYED FOR LABOR DAY WEEKEND TO GO TO ELECTRIC ZOO. WE ONLY STAYED FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHT. WE ARRIVED EARLY FRIDAY AND THE HOTEL LET US CHECK INTO OUR ROOM EARLY WHICH WAS GREAT BECAUSE THE FESTIVAL STARTED AT 1. THE STAFF WAS HELPFUL WITH LATE NIGHT FOOD DELIVERYS. HOLDING OUR BAGS ON SUNDAY DURING THE FESTIVAL. THE LOCATION WAS NICE BECAUSE AT NIGHT TIME THE STREETS HAD CALM DOWN, AS TO TIMES SQUARE WHERE IT GOES ALL NIGHT AND HAS BRIGHT LIGHTS. WE WERE ABLE TO CHECK OUT A BIT LATER ON SUNDAY WHICH WAS GREAT!