Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Wonderful hotel in nice location in midtown

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Best staff and very convenient location close to Grand Central station, delis, shopping. The Andaz suite was quite crammed for our family of four. Note there is no door separating the bedroom from the living area which was a little less private than we liked. The kitchenette was a useful feature and the free snacks & drinks were a bonus plus coffee & wine downstairs. The bed was a little hard for our liking. The wonderful helpful staff and location cannot be beaten. We had a lovely stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms not functional; nice staff and location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Nathan provided exceptional customer service.
Cons: lighting, bathroom / bedroom layout, FOOD...was terrible (was great when I stayed in March 2013 it was great).
Location: Great location.
This is the second time I've stayed at this property, but this time in a more expensive suite. The room was stylish/minimalist and the sitting room was comfortable. The bathroom shower being exposed to the bedroom was very inconvenient - no privacy, difficult for one person to sleep and the other to shower. Also, the lighting is terrible in the rooms. It's impossible to see to do makeup or style your hair. The rooms need some repairing and maintenance. They look ragged and worn. I was also quite confused by the 'complementary wine and soft drinks' in the lobby which never seemed to be there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qatar

Perfect hotel for a few days in NYC

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The hotel is comfortable and centrally located on 5th avenue. We enjoyed walking to most places like Central Park, museum mile, the Empire State Building and Times Square. The rooms are spacious, very basic but comfortable. The bathroom is large with a strong shower. The complimentary minibar was a nice touch. We had lunch at the restaurant - the food was nice and very fresh. Room service food was average. Coffee was served in the lobby every morning and good wine in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by victoria from toronto

Great location

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Everything was perfect , the hotel has nice contemporary design , staff very friendly , we asked about late check out , no problem , had lunch in the restaurant and food was great. For the money we pay it was more than we expected .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by fizziobob from Worcester, UK

Midtown hotel, Manhattan

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: NYC - what's not to do?!!!
Great hotel in a central location ideally placed to experience NYC. Hotel staff excellent - dealt with every request in a very professional and friendly manner. Customer service second to none from the complimentary evening wine to the morning coffee! Lovely room, very clean and contemporary. Would not hesitate to recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zak from United Kingdom

Excellent location

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Excellent location with well designed rooms that for once are better than the photos used on the hotels website. We had a high room with an amazing view over Bryant park. The only let down was the arrogance of some staff members. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff and location make this hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Cons: Rooms are stylish but could be improved with additional drawer space
The staff are to be highly commended for making this a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by susana from cincinnati

Perfect location, interesting concept

Posted Jun 12, 2014
We just arrived from a 4 night stay at this beautiful hotel. We really enjoyed our stay there - everyone was very kind and helpful and the decoration was unique: a breath of fresh air!!! The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great. My only issue was the pillow ( they tried to help me with an orthopedic one but it was too hard for me). We stayed in a room in the back and it was very peaceful and do not know if that applies for all rooms. We ate several times in the restaurant and we loved the food. Make sure you try the branzino. Delicious!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in an excellent location

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing I didn't like!
Location: Perfect location on 5th Avenue and easy walking distance to everything.
The food in the restaurant is fantastic - The cocktails in the bar downstairs an absolute must! The room was gorgeous, excellent bathroom and a very comfy bed! We had an adjoining room which was the only disappointment as we were woken by the next door guests in the middle of the night being inconsiderate - But that's not the hotels fault! Will definately be booking to stay back here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maureen from New York NY

Chic hotel in the heart of Manhattan

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Location. Big comfortable rooms. Helpful staff. Very chic public areas.
Cons: I wasn't keen on the open plan reception area which could be a bit chaotic at busy times.
Location: Perfect mid-town location for seeing the sights. Within easy walking distance of Times Square, Grand Central, Empire State and 5th Ave shopping.
We stayed at the Andaz Hotel 5th Avenue from 19-26 May 2014. The hotel is very modern, clean and chic. We stayed in a deluxe double which was huge with a beautiful bathroom and a big comfy bed. Everything was spotless with a free turn- down service every night. There were complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks that were replenished daily. The staff were very helpful and there was free coffee every morning in the lobby and free wine in the evening which is a nice touch. Breakfast was available on the second floor but we had breakfast out in a diner for the New York experience. This was our first visit to New York. We would recommend the grey line open top buses for getting you bearings and seeing the main sites. Don't be afraid to buy your tickets from the street representatives. They will give you good advice and throw in a free attraction. Must sees are Manhattan from the top of the Rockerfeller building, Empire State and Grand Central Station, both Art Deco masterpieces. The Chrysler building is in our opinion the most beautiful in New York and the lobby is a must see. The 9/11 memorial is very moving although we decided to give the museum a miss. On a rainy day museum mile by Central Park will keep you. Use for hours with the Museum of Modern Art, Metropolitan Museum, Guggenheim to name but three! If you are a John Lennon fan, Strawberry Fields is disappointing and somewhat tacky but is the only thing that did disappoint on this memorable trip.