Ratings based on 325 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great location, easy to get to everything.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Subtly elegant exterior, peaceful interior lobby and rooms. Accommodating and diligent staff. Excellent room service - delicious food and prompt ser
Enjoyable and pleasant stay. Asian-inspired decorated bedrooms and baths. Very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

great Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: service, location, design
Cons: room service menu, dinner menu to be extended
Location: park, shopping, offices
I was very impressed and did not expect what I experienced. Fantastic front office, great service, amazing room, loved the bathroom and great gym. room service was good however limited menu, but overall extremely pleased and happy with the hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced, underwhelming

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location, quiet.
Cons: Rooms, service and rates.
This is Hyatt's answer to the W, a modern-boutique joint with a young staff and, one assumes, clientele. And its location is terrific, around the corner from Grand Central, the Public Library and Bryant Park, as well as an easy walk to the theater district and Times Square. Given the location, surprisingly quiet, too. But things fell apart quickly from there. My "loft suite" was poorly designed, cramped, with an awkward layout, hard-to-access desk outlets, chipped paint, timer-run lights that would go out during a shower (and why was the switch *outside* the space?!), a desk chair that wouldn't move easily on the carpet, one of those stoopid Euro-style showers without a door so that the bathroom inevitably floods, a fancy clock-radio that didn't work properly, minibar freebies that were supposed to be replaced and weren't, and so on. Worst of all, after a middle-of-the-night hotel-wide water-valve repair, our water stopped working intermittently, going out twice while I was showering and then continue to sputter for the balance of our stay. I notified the front desk and left a complaint with management, but I never heard back and the problem wasn't fixed. Like the W, the Andaz staff is young and clueless. For instance, the bell staff watched us take our bags out to the curb, but until I was in the street trying to hail a cab, no one came out to assist. I got a nice rate that is way below what most pay now, but this is barely a 3-star place that charges 5-star prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Fabulous hotel, great location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Everything.....great location, friendly & helpful staff, good spacious rooms.
Cons: Noise from traffic
Location: On 5th Avenue close to Central Station, Empire State, Times Square, Central Park etc.
Had 3 nights at the Andaz on our first visit to New York. Great location and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable. Our only disappointment was the road noise in the room. We were at the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor so whilst we had great views we also had the noise from traffic at a fairly busy junction. Other than that we couldn't fault this place, would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great modern concept hotel and unique midtown view

Posted Jul 29, 2014
If you're looking for a modern concept hotel, look no further. This hotel exceeded my expectations on every level, great room, views, food, facilities, and yikes what a location. Thanks for everything staff at the Andaz!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rhode island

andaz rooms

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: modern facility
Cons: open bar up earlier so if guests arrive early and room is not ready they can go downstairs and have a drink. andaz could make more money!!!!
Location: great location near Bryant park and subways
hotel was beautiful. nice staff but woke me out of a dead sleep at 9:00am to clean the room.check out was at 11:00.good location would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Wonderful hotel in nice location in midtown

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Best staff and very convenient location close to Grand Central station, delis, shopping. The Andaz suite was quite crammed for our family of four. Note there is no door separating the bedroom from the living area which was a little less private than we liked. The kitchenette was a useful feature and the free snacks & drinks were a bonus plus coffee & wine downstairs. The bed was a little hard for our liking. The wonderful helpful staff and location cannot be beaten. We had a lovely stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms not functional; nice staff and location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Nathan provided exceptional customer service.
Cons: lighting, bathroom / bedroom layout, FOOD...was terrible (was great when I stayed in March 2013 it was great).
Location: Great location.
This is the second time I've stayed at this property, but this time in a more expensive suite. The room was stylish/minimalist and the sitting room was comfortable. The bathroom shower being exposed to the bedroom was very inconvenient - no privacy, difficult for one person to sleep and the other to shower. Also, the lighting is terrible in the rooms. It's impossible to see to do makeup or style your hair. The rooms need some repairing and maintenance. They look ragged and worn. I was also quite confused by the 'complementary wine and soft drinks' in the lobby which never seemed to be there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qatar

Perfect hotel for a few days in NYC

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The hotel is comfortable and centrally located on 5th avenue. We enjoyed walking to most places like Central Park, museum mile, the Empire State Building and Times Square. The rooms are spacious, very basic but comfortable. The bathroom is large with a strong shower. The complimentary minibar was a nice touch. We had lunch at the restaurant - the food was nice and very fresh. Room service food was average. Coffee was served in the lobby every morning and good wine in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by victoria from toronto

Great location

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Everything was perfect , the hotel has nice contemporary design , staff very friendly , we asked about late check out , no problem , had lunch in the restaurant and food was great. For the money we pay it was more than we expected .