Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Orange County from Orange County

Fantastic Hotel & Staff

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The staff, location and reasonable cost
I travel quite frequently and have been to NY many times so I was skeptical about switching up my hotel to the Andaz. I am so glad that I did! The hotel staff was always so courteous, happy and extremely accommodating. When we checked in after a redeye flight I was looking for that coffee in the lobby that everyone alluded to, but due to our timing it had already been put away. However when I asked the check-in desk where it was they explained this and immediately proceeded to get us coffee. I mention this because when our room was ready not only did they call us to let us know, but they also had housekeeping deliver a Nepresso coffee maker to our room for the duration of our stay. The in-room snacks were a nice touch and the evening wine in the lobby was a lot of fun. If you do go to their bar you have to try the octopus as it was fantastic. With regards to the location it was even better than my previous hotels in Midtown and our room even had a view of the NY Public Library. The reviews are real and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here anytime and to help put it in perspective I've stayed at the Waldorf much preferring the Andaz in every aspect.
3 out of 5
by Denise from Ottawa, Canada

Luxury hotel not quite up to par

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Complimentary wine Main restaurant
Cons: Better lighting in the rooms More amenities for the price Price point too high for TV options at 20$/day
Location: Have a drink in Bryant Park Walk to Times Square, Grand Central Walk to Broadway shows Shop at Ted Baker
Location of hotel mid-town excellent. Little perks like complimentary wine from 6 to 9 a pleasure - except for some unpleasant comments from staff. Bad lighting (dim) lighting in room. Beautiful but way too big a bathroom for the size of the room - took 2/3 of the space. Was told we had beautiful floor to ceiling windows I our room on the 9th floor - only to realize that we were looking at rooftops and the backs of buildings - so no view. Tapas bar downstairs an expensive but really good experience. Restaurant on first floor offers very good menu and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Overall Experience

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Rooms were clean and well appointed. Staff friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area
Location: Located a few blocks from time square and grand central, right next to the New York public library.. There is lots to do within walking distance
From the moment we arrived the staff was amazing. Going out of their way to ensure an excellent experience. The rooms were clean and well stocked. Overall a great stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved loved loved it!!

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Um - EVERYTHING!
Cons: I can't think of anything, we had such a great experience.
Location: Close to Times Square, Central Park is straight up 5th Ave. Right opposite the New York Public Library & 1 min to 42nd St/Bryant Park subway stn.
I stayed here with my 8yr old daughter for her birthday surprise weekend, the staff couldn't have been more welcoming, kind and sweet. Aside from the free snacks & soft drinks and FREE WINE in the evenings (who does that? It's genius!), one of the concierges, Amanda, sent up milk and cookies for us on our first night with a hand drawn card saying Happy Birthday to my daughter. So thoughtful and kind and made the weekend extra special and memorable for her. Our room was ginormous by NY standards, as was the bathroom. Room service food was delicious and made up for the NY prices with great sized portions and deliciousness. Everyone we met at the hotel was kind, polite, thoughtful, helpful and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from uk

Amazing modern hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Very warm welcome. Beautiful, clean, stylish room. Perfect location for visiting major sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Contemporary and quiet hotel close to Times Square

Posted Feb 24, 2014
I was worried about finding a quiet hotel in NY but Andaz 5th avenue was just that. The room was clean and comfortable . Staff were helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Ontario, Canada

Modern Luxury

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Location. Great service. Free wine. Free Wifi. Free snacks and beverages. Attached Restaurant.
Location: Great 5th Avenue location at 41st. Close enough to walk to Grand Central Station. Directly across from NY Library. We walked to Broadway too.
Beautiful, small hotel just off 5th Avenue and right across from the NY Library in midtown. Lobby nice, not stunning and overall size of lobby and rooms is small. Price was relatively high but not unreasonable for location and level of service. Staff were great - Helpful and friendly on several encounters. Several freebies were great e.g. free in-room beverage fridge (alcohol not included) with a few free snacks to munch on (both replenished daily), happy hour in the hotel lobby for 3 hours from 6-9pm daily where you can enjoy several glasses of free wine (quality was decent) which we enjoyed on both nights. Stayed in a loft King room. Small overall but layout made it feel larger. There wasn't any second level / loft area in the room, so not sure what "loft" means. Bathroom area was large and beautiful. Separate seating area was nice to have. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ellen from New York

Fantastic Hotel very close to shopping heaven

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: perfect location to all that we personally required.
I found the hotel to be perfect, the staff were very helpful, the facilities in the room were top class, we had a very happy stay and we would go there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Q

Best hotel in midtown. Period.

Posted Feb 18, 2014
This is our fourth time at Andaz and is always a great experience. This time I noticed pillows were really nice. The bar downstairs is a cool place although we thought paying $22.00 for a Don Julio tequila was ridiculous (I'm in the tequila business). Breakfast delicious and well priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, central location

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Lovely hotel, right in the middle of 5th Avenue. Great room although the bathroom lighting was too dark for me to do my make up and hair in.