Ratings based on 732 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D. C.

Lovely Hotel/Walking Distance from Penn Station

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: It is centrally located, clean, quiet, bath with a tub, and close to the train station.
Cons: Cannot think of anything to improve.
Location: Walk to the Empire State Building, Macy's, and other shops within a few blocks. Walk to Times Square in about 20 mins., and to SoHo in about 35 mins.
I stayed at the Avalon Hotel on August 29 until August 31. I had a wonderful experience. I was able to walk to the hotel from Penn Station. It is centrally located in Midtown, the heart of Manhattan. We only had to walk a block to get breakfast. The hotel was very clean and the staff was excellent and accommodating. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate were made available to guests at all times. I have stayed at many hotels in Manhattan, and this experience was one of the best. I stayed in a family room with 2 queen beds. By New York standards, the room was rather spacious and updated. I could go on, but I will just say "Excellent."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel with perfect position for all the sights.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have been pleased with the overall service and comfort of the hotel. We will continue to stay here in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great hotel and fab location

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Couples holiday - room size great with additional seating area. Great to have fridge in room. Good size bathroom. Room well serviced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Buffett breakfast was very nice.
Cons: Shower and sink drains.
Location: Great location.
Shower did not drain and we were ankle deep in water while we shower. Very gross. One of the sinks did not drain either when water was left on for brushing teeth or shaving. Shower door was bent and did close properly ( you had to lift it up to close it).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Cons: If were on the other side of the hotel
Unfortunately we were not told and/or aware that there is construction directly next door and our room window was directly facing this so at 7:00AM we were woken to the non-stop sounds of construction equipment and trucks
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Desperately needs rennovation.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs renovation ASAP
Location: Everything from Empire State to all the best shops are across the street.
There's only one good thing about this hotel - amazing location. In the heart of everything, its location is impossible to beat. Other than that, the place is really run-down. Staff keeps rooms cleans but the building and rooms are just way too old and uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Rhode Island

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Spacious room, nice location. Pleasant courteous staff. I will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jesse mcghee from atlanta

This rating is to be believed by all who read it!!

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I am in the Air Force and was at home in Atlanta,Ga from a deployment in South Korea. I have to be in Japan on June 12,2014 for 2 years so I Mom and I decided to get away for the weekend. From the time of our check-in until our departure, all things worked for our good. There were no unexpected delays, the room was clean and well maintained, the staff, from the front desk to the maids, were kind and helpful. The location is near perfect. We rode the city busses, which were quite nice, to the sights that were a bit out of the way of the hotel. It was a great experience and I would stay at the Avalon again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Manchester, UK

Good central location

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Free hot drinks machine down in lobby The wifi is free. The air con was efficient (but noisy) and necessary
Cons: The wifi kept going off but it did come back on.
Location: If you plan to walk around Manhattan then you can from this location. All the sights are within a trek, though those at the south are 90 mins away
The hotel is close to Penn Stastion - 2 blocks E-W - about 10 mins walk with luggage. And you will probably have to walk as a cab will not take you such a short distance. The area is a little on the downmarket side, but not one where you would worry about your security. The proximity to the Empire State is excellent. The bar/restaurant at the bottom of the Empire State (Heartlands?) is excellent, with good service. And that was one of thr few places where we had good friendly service. Something has happened to NY in the 12 years since we last went. The people are generall miserable, rude, aggressive and altogether spoil the city. Once you can accept this then you can start to enjoy the city. But check your change and the items they charge you for in the shops - they are a little free with their till use at times. If you like wildlife then you will encounter the friendliest squirrels in the parks. They will take nuts out of your hand and have no fear, but are gentle. They are a rare exception to the hostility of the local inhabitants of this city. On a hot day you will need to hold your breath as you walk down the streets. The bin-bags are dumped out on the street for collection and once they leak only a shower of rain can clean up the pavement.