Ratings based on 728 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel with perfect position for all the sights.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have been pleased with the overall service and comfort of the hotel. We will continue to stay here in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great hotel and fab location

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Couples holiday - room size great with additional seating area. Great to have fridge in room. Good size bathroom. Room well serviced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Buffett breakfast was very nice.
Cons: Shower and sink drains.
Location: Great location.
Shower did not drain and we were ankle deep in water while we shower. Very gross. One of the sinks did not drain either when water was left on for brushing teeth or shaving. Shower door was bent and did close properly ( you had to lift it up to close it).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Cons: If were on the other side of the hotel
Unfortunately we were not told and/or aware that there is construction directly next door and our room window was directly facing this so at 7:00AM we were woken to the non-stop sounds of construction equipment and trucks
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Desperately needs rennovation.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs renovation ASAP
Location: Everything from Empire State to all the best shops are across the street.
There's only one good thing about this hotel - amazing location. In the heart of everything, its location is impossible to beat. Other than that, the place is really run-down. Staff keeps rooms cleans but the building and rooms are just way too old and uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Manchester, UK

Good central location

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Free hot drinks machine down in lobby The wifi is free. The air con was efficient (but noisy) and necessary
Cons: The wifi kept going off but it did come back on.
Location: If you plan to walk around Manhattan then you can from this location. All the sights are within a trek, though those at the south are 90 mins away
The hotel is close to Penn Stastion - 2 blocks E-W - about 10 mins walk with luggage. And you will probably have to walk as a cab will not take you such a short distance. The area is a little on the downmarket side, but not one where you would worry about your security. The proximity to the Empire State is excellent. The bar/restaurant at the bottom of the Empire State (Heartlands?) is excellent, with good service. And that was one of thr few places where we had good friendly service. Something has happened to NY in the 12 years since we last went. The people are generall miserable, rude, aggressive and altogether spoil the city. Once you can accept this then you can start to enjoy the city. But check your change and the items they charge you for in the shops - they are a little free with their till use at times. If you like wildlife then you will encounter the friendliest squirrels in the parks. They will take nuts out of your hand and have no fear, but are gentle. They are a rare exception to the hostility of the local inhabitants of this city. On a hot day you will need to hold your breath as you walk down the streets. The bin-bags are dumped out on the street for collection and once they leak only a shower of rain can clean up the pavement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Just great!

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would stay at this hotel again. Although the accommodations, location, etc were fine, I feel the additional fee for an additional person in the room was much higher than any other hotel I looked at. I was very disappointed in the VERY HIGH fee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great midtown location!

Posted May 24, 2014
Great location, friendly staff! Doorman (if I recall correctly his name was Abby) was very helpful upon arrival and departing with luggage and assuring with a taxi! Front desk crew were all friendly and helpful! In particular Melody helped to get us checked in as quickly as possible even tho we arrived early. Always giving assistance with directions, point of interests and transportation recommendations. Thanks to her and the rest of the staff we had a wonderful stay in New York! Thanks again Avalon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2014
The hotel was a great surprise. Nestled in the middle of 32nd between Madison and 5th, it was a real gem!