Ratings based on 4,214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barely meets requirements

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Central location.
Room very tiny. Bathtub closure was not working and was not fixed after repeated requests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kleines, sauberes Hotel mit guter Anbindung

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Kleines Zimmer, aber sauber; Central Park und subway Station sind gut zu Fuß zu erreichen. Für ein paar Tage völlig ausreichend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport, NH

Rude Receptionist

Posted Aug 1, 2015
I hade one of the most rude Receptionists I have ever dealt with at this hotel. I booked two rooms through Expedia and put one room in my name and one in my employees name. When I went to check in I was asked for my ID and CC, I provided it and then they asked for my employees ID. He had forgotten his ID at home but I was securing the room with my CC anyhow and had booked both rooms and had all the perwork as well as the reservation #. The room was pre paid for. No matter what I showed for information they would not let my employee check in. They didn't even attempt to be helpful and only stated that it was the hotel policy that he had to have an ID. I asked for a refund of his room and they denied that as well. My employee had Credit Cards in his name but that was not enough. To say the least, after a very long day of travel and work I was more than a little aggravated. In the end I ended up having to call Expedia and change the name on his reservation to my name so that we could both check in. Expedia, unlike this receptionist was very accommodating. I travel alot and have never run into such a lack of willingness to be helpful. With that said, the hotel was very nice and the rooms spotless and we'll appointed. Be ready for a small room though, just barely enough room to fit the bed and one night stand with about a foot around the perimeter of the bed. I'd stay there again because the rest of the staff seemed very nice and I'm sure that this one employee is an isolation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: location, very clean
Cons: coffee maker in a room
Location: Excellent location, close to Subway station, in walking distance to Central Park, Metropolitan Museum of Art , Museum of Natural History and 5th Ave.
Excellent stay, very good location close to Central Park and Hudson river. Very clean. Many restaurants on Amsterdam Ave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for us

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Only a block from the subway, just a couple of blocks from Central Park, very quiet and clean. We practically felt like we lived in the neighborhood!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater Florida

Great location - check in went well and was quick.

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: The location was great and the price was low for this area. Close to subway and bus stop.
Cons: The staff could be more welcoming.
Location: Walk to Central Park or jump on the subway less than a block away and be in Times Square. Many great restaurants in the area that you can walk to.
We arrived early and were able to store our luggage until check in which was nice, however I was a little concerned that our luggage was safe as the room where it was kept was not very secure. (Key was given to unsupervised guest for entry) Staff was ok but not extremely friendly. Room was modern and clean. Bathroom was very small. Location was awesome !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Can be a great choice

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Cons: The internet service in my room was terrible.
Location: Located on the Upper westside of New York City. It's a vibrant safe area with any amenity and cuisine you might want. You are a block from the subway.
The hotel is located off of Broadway on 87th St in a vibrant safe neighborhood. The interior has been tastefully renovated and the rooms are charming and clean, but quite small. If you plan to be out and about this an excellent choice, if you're claustrophobic or plan to work in your room, it may be very small. I am taller than 6' and couldn't bend over the sink to wash shaving cream off my face due to the bathroom size. The worst feature is the internet service in the room. I measured it as 0.4MB down and 0.25MB up on several occasions. The speed is fine for email without any large attachments.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2015
clean and nice for the price but rooms are very small also good locationxxxxxxxxxxxxx
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK location

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Expedia reservations are not well done
Location: Nothing
My rating problem is with Expedia, not the hotel. This is the second recent mixup where Expedia accepts the charge card information as if paying for the room but the bill is presented at check in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from würzburg

Nettes Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Nettes und sauberes Hotel in naher Lage zur U-Bahn. Kleine Zimmer und etwas wortkarge Portiers.