Ratings based on 3,481 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for a great price!

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Not to sound too corny, it was one of those special trips that you could never recreate! The hotel was easy to find and self parking was great (25 a day and it is literally right behind the hotel). Our room is what did it for us. It was clean and smelled good, the view was worth a million bucks. We were in 1402 over looking the East river and the Queensboro bridge. After years of staring at brick walls, rooftops and air ducts in other parts of the city this was truly the greatest! We will stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Overpriced for location tiny rooms, furniture marked and scratched up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For business

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Good location, bed too soft to my taste. FYI if you have a big car they will charge you extra as if $25 is not enough
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Food and shopping
Everything was as it should be the room was clean and comfortable. The location was great
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom East Hampton, NY

Don't Turn Your Back!

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Great proximity to the bridge and a quick escape from the city by car.
Cons: Communication between front desk personnel.
I had booked a room at the Bentley through Expedia - in the special request section I had asked for a room with a view of the Queensboro Bridge and East River. Upon my arrival I was pleasantly surprised to hear (from the front desk) that my request had been granted. There was one catch however, the room wouldn't be ready for another 45 minutes. Okay, I said, I'll just park my car and come back. However, upon my return, a different front desk associate asked me if I had been 'assigned' a room yet, which I thought was odd. I said no, I'm still waiting for my room to be available. Of course once I got up to my room, I realized that they had given away my original one, my view was gone, I was now on the other side of the hotel, facing north. So, I went downstairs and asked what had happened. To my surprise, no one really apologized for what had happened - they made me feel like this was my fault. I explained that the view was a sentimental factor because I had grown up down the street, and my apt had faced the bridge/water. The staff remained unfazed until the manager walked over and gave me her card - told me that I could contact her on my next visit to insure that I received the correct room. Next visit? I probably won't be coming here again! Why didn't the girl who had asked if I had a 'room assignment' check the reservation for any special requests, before she gave my room away? I think the least they could have done would be to offer me free internet or a bottle of wine.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Cons: Refurbish the facility top to bottom! Fix the hot water problem!
This review is based on two stays over 2013-14. Hotel is a tired facility. Refurb is clearly overdue. Very noisy location adjacent to the FDR. Room furnishings are spare but worn. Rooms undecorated but still full of things for sale, like coffee, water. Elevators are slow and shared constantly with working hotel/maintenance staff. Bathroom shower routinely floods bathroom floor. Morning hot water for showers etc is always limited and often not available. No comp was offered. However, bell staff and housekeeping do a nice job. Free NYT stands out as an amenity.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Nice hotel, rooms are a bit small but that's New York...next time I would get a suite. Close to EVERYTHING which made it easy to cram 7 days into 3!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not too bad

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Overall not too bad but small things need work. Breakfast room service was BAD and aircon was loud. But good location & nice staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

We'd Consider Staying The Again...But...

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Better sound-reducing windows and easier room temperature controls.
Location: We went up to Central Park area for most activities though we enjoyed our dinner on 81st(I think) at Sandros.
First off, don't get me wrong, me and my family enjoyed the one night we spent at The Bentley. The price for the room was OUTSTANDING for (almost) Upper East Side NYC. However, we were in room 909 on the side of the entrance ramp for the FDR and if you have ANY issues sleeping through noise, I'd advise you try and stay on the other side of the hotel. Luckily, my wife, 2 daughters and I could sleep through a fire alarm so it didn't bother us too much. I woke up repeatedly but had no problem falling back asleep again. We live in a downtown neighborhood of a large North American city (3.5 million population) so trust me, it wasn't someone from the sticks expecting NYC to be quiet but without the ac/heat on(we couldn't get the temperature in the room to budge past 60 degrees) it was incredibly loud from 9 stories up. Again, we could sleep through anything but be forewarned:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel - lacking adequate hot water

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING except hot water!
Cons: Hot water
Location: Perfect for upper east side
Shower had to run for more than 15 minutes to get hot water