Ratings based on 583 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great location and access to City

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness of room, contemporary design, having a breakfast each morning and free wifi. Jeffrey and Terrance were great.
Cons: More seating space in breakfast area and more variety of cooked food.
Location: Right in the centre of Soho, Little Italy and China town, broadway just a few blocks away and subway a few minutes walk. Great location for exploring
Jeffery and Terrace were great they did all they could to make us feel welcome, helped us get the most of our stay, advice on journey planning, subway and trains to use, helped us book big bus tour, planned car for return journey to airport. The room was clean, contemporary cleaned every day and towels changed, loved the shower, the coffee making facility was a nice touch. Breakfast was a bonus, nice to start day without having to worry about food. Nothing special but a nice selection of basic breakfast stuff e.g toast, bagels, cereal, jams, cereals, juice, coffee, tea and fruit. The cooked breakfast selection was very basic and repetitive but still welcome. However, there was not enough space in the seating area, had to take food up to room at times or sit in reception/lounge area but a small prce to pay for the facility. Great to have free wifi facilities. Would definitely stay there again. Good all round experience for the price. My daughter and I were in NYC to celebrate her 21st birthday and have created some beautiful memories thanks to Best Western Hanbee Bowery. :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, in Chinatown, subway nearby.

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Room and bathroom reasonable size. Very quiet, which was great in such a big city. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good breakfast, with plenty of choice. Lots of restaurants nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom tel aviv

Bad location

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Location is not good. Small room window. Noisy. Breakfast is minimal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Nice hotel in an excellent location

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: The location was the hotels biggest positive - right in the East Village with China Town and Little Italy on the doorstep.
Cons: My only complaint was the lack of a proper kettle - a filter coffee machine was provided but a kettle would have been more practical.
Location: There was numerous coffee shops, restaurants, bakeries, shops and bars within a few minutes walk.
We arrived well before the 4.00 pm check-in time but there was a room available so we could check-in early and begin our trip there and then! We chose the location because most of the activities we wanted to do were at the south end of Manhattan - all within walking distance to the hotel. Midtown for shopping and Broadway shows were a just a reasonably priced cab ride away. We had booked a 2 Queen sized bed room - was pleasantly surprised by the size of it - though the wardrobe was in a bit of a silly place! The beds were so comfortable - best hotel bed I have slept in for a long time. The traffic noise was very minimal - which was probably down to a quiet location and quadruple glazing!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pleasant hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Cons: no mini fridge
Happy with our stay there, hotel was clean, had new bathroom fixtures which was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

Affordable, clean value downtown

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Great staff, clean rooms. Second floor location is noisy due to front desk and breakfast area and clean staff area. This should be stated when checking in. I asked for a non-second floor location when booking as I had read about this problem on TripAdvisor. You will hear beginning about 4:30am the staff coming in, the microwave going off (beep, beep, beep) and breakfast machinations get very active around 7am. Location is central though getting a cab is challenging. Staff is professional, helpful and friendly. Hotel is clean and well kept after.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saratoga, NY

Chinatown Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Nice, clean- a little warm as temperature was unseasonably warm.
Location: Close to many attractions in NYC. Quick commute to Times Square and Grand Central as well.
I was attending a short class at New York University. Very convenient to get there by subway. Plenty of restaurant options in area. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Location - close to everything

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Everything! The staff are excellent and go out of their way to ensure your stay is a happy experience.
Cons: The hotel is looking tired. It needs refurbishing, painting and new carpet. It could be "funked up".
Location: Little Italy is on the doorstep with abundant cafes/bars/restaurants. Walk over Manhatten Bridge 5 mins.walk away. Grenwich Village 20mins walk away.
We've stayed at this hotel the last 3 times we've been to New York because it has everything we want. It's very clean, it's got a great location, friendly helpful staff, a big breakfast and we've always had a good room with a skyline view of Manhatten. We've always been very happy staying here. It's an historic area so it's within walking distance of lots of attractions, including the neighbourhoods of Grenwich Village. Staying at the Bowery Hanabee on the doorstep of iconic Little Italy gives us the experience of living in a New York neighbourhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lancaster

Nice hotel near China town and Little Italy

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Yummy breakfast included and staff on 24 hrs
Location: Good for chinese and italian food
We enjoyed our stay HARD to get to Times square be because of heavy traffic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Very nicely located. Close to subway.

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, and breakfast. The staff was always very helpful and pleasant!
Location: Plenty of things to do. Little Italy was close for some great italian food. I always enjoy canal street and finding bargains!
We knew that we were on the edge of Chinatown. Was a bit of a shock when we got off the subway, but had no problems. The hotel was only a block and a half from the subway, very handy!! We would get back to the hotel some evenings around 12 midnight and had no concerns of safety!