Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco Bay Area

invitation to a nightmare

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: The fact that the front door was unlocked and that we were able to leave!
Cons: Try everything. Try giving people what they pay for. Try having a desk clerk who can at least comprehend the concept of customer service.
Location: It's a Brooklyn neighborhood. There's a subway stop right outside the front door, so you can get anywhere (especially away from this hotel!) easily.
Though my husband and I booked two months in advance, when we checked in we were given a room that was obviously meant for a single occupant. There wasn't enough room for more than one suitcase, and contrary to their promo, there was no mini-refrigerator. It wouldn't have mattered if there was a fridge anyway, because there wasn't a place to put it. The desk clerk was anything but friendly. When we requested a new room, she put us in a basement room where the air conditioner was broken—the room was 85˚. There was a ground level window we could reach by standing on the bed using a coat hanger to open it. The street noise was deafening. One passerby actually yelled down into our room: "I wouldn't want to stay in that room!". We asked to be put back in our original room. We told them that if this was to be our accommodation, we'd only stay the first night of the 4 nights we originally booked. We left the following morning, but they charged us for 2 nights!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newfoundland

Close to the Cruise Port

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The breakfast area was very small so seating was very limited.
My husband and I chose this hotel as it had good reviews and was close to the cruise port. We were not disappointed. The hotel was great and very close to a subway stop for anyone wanting to take the subway to Manhatten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newport, Shropshire

Could not have been more helpful

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Lovely hotel, warm, comfortable, fantastic position. However by far the best feature is the helpfulness and courtesy of the staff. Chasing up lost luggage for us at 4 am, as well as offering reacement toiletries etc makes this a hotel well worth visiting. Breakfast is great, make your own fresh waffles is the highlight of every morning :).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1 night stop

Posted Oct 29, 2014
only stayed for 1 night in between travelling around nyc & new jersey. great hotel, nice room & decent location right next to a subway which was a short & cheap way into manhatten
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Poor breakfast facility, small room, pathetic fitness facility, hotel in need of a lick of paint, expensive for what it was.........however staff .. Friendly and helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn new york

Hotel easy to get to Manhattan right near subway

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: The fact it was close to a subway station. Wifi was good and rooms very clean.
Cons: The breakfast room not enough room for guests to eat their breakfast and hanging around waiting for people to finish is uncomfortable.
Location: There is a supermarket next door and a couple of fast food takeaways. Didn't see much else as didn't venture out after a long day in Manhattan
Hotel was right near a subway station which made getting into Manhattan so easy with frequent trains using the r line. Hotel room on the small side 2 double beds which gave little room to move for 3 or more people. Room was very clean and tidy though. Reception staff a mixture of helpful and not so helpful. Breakfast here is where the hotel let's itself down. Yes a "free" breakfast but room so tiny with hardly anywhere to sit. It doesn't matter what time you get to breakfast if the hotel is full then you have no where to sit We even had to eat standing up in the lobby as there was no room in the end we took our breakfast to our room which was fine if you don't mind sitting on your bed!! That said the food, bacon, sausage and scrambled egg with cakes, bagels, fruit and toast with plenty of jams, honey etc and a waffle machine was good. WiFi very good and the mini cards for attractions gave you some ideas where to go just make sure they are in date!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, VA

cramped

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: The room was attractive; the bathroom was quite nice.
Cons: Lighting, pillows, fan in bathroom did not work, chair did not work
Location: The neighborhood was iffy.
The hotel is decent, but for the price not a great deal. The room was so cramped that it was impossible for 2 people to walk around. The queen bed is against one wall. On either side there is probably not more that 18" and in front maybe 2 feet between the foot of the bed and the wardrobe and desk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2014
It was good overall but the elevator broke down which was inconvinient the staff a bitt arrogant but proffessional everything else was good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great access to the underground...adequate stay.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Close access to the underground, generally a pleasant location.
Cons: Breakfast!!!!!!
Location: Great access to Manhattan and all attractions.
The room was adequate, aside from only having double beds. The worst problem is the breakfast seating capacity...a small serving room with crowded access to the food and only three tables, and a room around the corner (former office?) with six small tables and not enough chairs to seat 3-4 at all tables. This is ridiculous for a 10-story hotel that seems to have many large touring groups coming through. Tables could at least be set up in the lobby during the breakfast hours.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great for the Subway

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Booked at the last moment. Family room was fine. Next to subway so great for Manhattan & Coney Island. Only draw back was lack of seating for breakfast. Would use again.