Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

horrible dirty horrible beds

Posted May 29, 2008 on Hotels.com
bad bad bad
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from luton, england

satisfactory and a bit more

Posted May 29, 2008
Very impressed with the facilities they had there and the service was sound. Only problem i had was the room did fell cramped with the air conditioning units in place (might have been humidifiers i cant tell the difference.) A lack of power outlets was also a tad concerning but other than that everything you want in a basic hotel. Just don't bring much in electronics and you are pretty much laughing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Would not recommend

Posted May 29, 2008
The Broadway Hostel is not somewhere I would recommend. Yes, it is a budget hostel, that said, I stayed in much cheaper hostels on my trip which were far nicer than this one. The room was old and, quite frankly, falling apart. The floor was coming up and the paint was peeling off. That said, they were cleaned daily, but sadly this didn't seem to rid the room of a horrible rotton smell. The bathrooms were clean and there was hot water, possibly the only good thing about the place. On my last night there was a mess up with the room I was in - 8 people, 6 beds! Which meant I was kept up until 1am sorting the problem when I had to be up by 4am to catch my flight home. I also asked if checking out at 4am would be a problem and was assured it would not, but I had to wait 30mins to find someone, keeping my taxi waiting and making me later than I would have liked to have been. The staff are ok, but not overly happy to help if they don't have to. I was alos annoyed that I had to pay for my room key, somethingI have never had to so before. The location is pretty good, just off Broadway and close to the subway, meaning I didnt have to spend too much time there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good Trip!!

Posted May 21, 2008
I think This Hostel is Good in NY. Everyday You will be cleaned up your room. I stayed at dorm type. but I could enjoy staying with anothere people. It likes adventure!! I recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted May 11, 2008 on Hotels.com
An overall facy setting with just the bare essentials. Good for a quick stop in the city at an affordable price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The most uncomfortable night of my life!

Posted May 11, 2008 on Hotels.com
A friend and I stayed here because it was cheap and was in a good location for the Yankees game. However, upon checking in we were told they do not accept NY state drivers licenses as a form of ID...ummm, we are IN New York, aren't we? The room we stayed in had three bunk beds, and was shared with three strangers. This wouldn't have been a problem, but one of our roommates was some middle aged foreign guy who woke up in the middle of the night, swearing loudly and pacing back and forth for about ten minutes before leaving the room. The room was like a sauna and the beds felt as if they were made of plywood. The pillows also provided as much cushioning as you would get from a rolled up shirt! Even at the very cheap price it was not worth the experience. I am 24 and generally don't mind sleeping in a cheap hotel just as a place to pass out, but this hotel was horrendous. I only recommend this if you don't mind not getting any sleep :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Cost and Benefit

Posted May 9, 2008
From perspective of cost and benefit, it is really a Okey hostel. Enough bathrooms, and clean beds. But everywhere is narrow, and elevator is really narrow and slow and I had no idea which floor I was when taking it. After all, it is a good hostel for that price, I recommend it if you want to save your bucks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

A Surprise Hotel Find

Posted May 2, 2008 on Hotels.com
The Broadway Hotel and Hostel was a surprise find in Manhattan. The price was reasonable. Having used other West Side Manhattan hotels in the same price range, the Broadway was exceptionally better than any of the others. Even though I felt like the oldest person there (by two generations at least), I was not uncomfortable, nor did I feel out of place. I recommend it for hotel bargain hunters in Manhattan and I hope the owners and staff can maintain the current level of comfort and convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2008 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

extremely impressed

Posted Apr 30, 2008
The hotel was extremely well decorated -- swanky, even. The room was simple with basic amenities (no phone for instance) but ample sized bathroom, very luxurious linens and furniture. I didn't know what to expect, but I was blown away by this chic gem. Would definitely recommend it to anyone who needed an affordable place to stay.