Ratings based on 1,714 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Cons: Tired furnishings
We paid for a room for three persons. However, we arrived with towels for two, glasses for two, robes for two. If they are going to charge extra for three people they should think ahead.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2014 by Vic, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous We are pleased you found our central location beneficial. Please know we do not charge for additional guests in a room. The only time a charge may be added is if a rollaway bed is requested. Our standard bathroom setup in every room is towels for 3, I am sorry this was not the case with you. We hope we will be able to welcome you back Sincerely Vic Freeman
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great location for a short break in New York.

Posted Dec 5, 2014
This Hotel is in an ideal location for exploring the various sites in New York, it is clean and reasonably maintained with a restaurant on site serving breakfast, lunch and evening meals .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

very good hotel in convenient location

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: location
Enjoyed out stay. We only stayed one night but the convenience for where we needed to be in Manhattan was terrific. I read reviews that were all over the map but overall favorable- we also enjoyed our stay and will use the hotel again next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

Meh

Posted Nov 26, 2014
It is completely fine. Very old and the bathrooms smell a bit moldy. Beds not terribly comfortable and rooms v small. Great neighborhood tho!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by Vic, Hotel Management
Dear katemac Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased our central location worked for you. We do have multiple room types of varying sizes available for the future. I am sorry our bed was not to your liking they usually receive rave reviews. Sincerely Vic Freeman
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Hotel in NYC

Posted Nov 16, 2014
The hotel was good overall but the standard rooms are small and staff werent really helpful to find a solution- we weren't Even able to upgrade because we were only staying for 4 nights which I found quite frustrating!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Vic, Hotel Management
Dear elodie Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the Carlton. Like many New York City hotels some of our rooms are more compact but we do offer multiple room categories of different sizes. I am very sorry we were not able to accommodate a larger room due to our high occupancy at the time. We hope you had a good visit to New York Sincerely Vic Freeman
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester NY

Great hotel!

Posted Nov 11, 2014
I was delighted the minute I opened the door to our room! The beauty and character of the architecture and close proximity to the attractions of the city made this the perfect place to stay. Staff was courteous and professional and the room was clean and well-appointed. I would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Parents Weekend

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: I like the location of the hotel.
Location: Close to Herald Square for shopping
We had a wonderful stay at your hotel. Although the bed was quite small, the bathroom made up for it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Room without a view

Posted Nov 8, 2014
The hotel is in a convenient location. Room was spacious and pleasant but had no view (interior courtyard presenting windows of other hotels and offices). Bed was excellent. Poorly lit bathroom. Towels were at other side of bathroom, could not be reached from tub. Skimpy toilettries. Remote control for tv did not work. Breakfast buffet was not included in room rate, which was close to $900 for two nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2014 by Vic, Hotel Management
Dear MR Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed our central location , the size of our rooms and our fabulous bed. IThe Carlton is an older historic hotel and as such is not very tall inhibiting some room views. We proudly provide Molton Brown amenities and include two sizes of soap as well as shampoo, conditioner, body wash and body lotion. Please know we do have bed and breakfast packages available which include breakfast. Thank you again we hope to be able to welcome you back Sincerely Vic Freeman
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Meghanfrom Washington, DC

A mattress like heaven

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The biggest room I've stayed in in NYC, which is notoriously lacking in sq. ft. even in some of the swankier establishments. Additionally, the bed was SO comfortable, I even slept in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Juliefrom Bronx

A night to remember

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is beautiful and in a great atea.just blocks away from the empire state building and shoppung.