Ratings based on 1,507 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by deej from san Francisco

Spacious and very nice for the price. Great locati

Posted Mar 27, 2014
I always stay in this neighborhood, but I was really happy with the courtesy of the staff when I arrived. the room with super clean and I was surprised how big it was for a standard room in NYC. There are also a 2 fresh baked cookies in my room that that were very tasty. room was clean, bed was comfortable and the bathroom was a really good size. I would definitely recommend this over anything else and its price range.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bett from Arkansas

Excellent location!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Roomy for NYC, super-friendly staff, meticulously clean.
Times Square and theaters are within a ten minute walk. Nearest subway station is two short blocks, with a Times Square station ten minutes' walk, to get you anywhere else!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, decent rooms

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Good location, decent sized room. Small hotel, 65 rooms. Our shower drain was clogged when we got there, woke up with black "dirt" in the tub. It took 3 phone calls before a repairman showed up, and the shower drain still remained clogged. Cookies every night delivered to your room. Overall good stay, but probably would try another hotel next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ana from Springfield, MA

Birthday Weekend!

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: It was quiet, clean, and very well decorated. They decorations extended into the elevator. I thought that was cool! I loved where they kept the ref
Cons: The bathroom in my room had what I think one of the glass shower doors missing. They compensated by having a see through shower curtain on that side.
Location: Very near Times Square, Broadway shows, and excellent restaurants!
I spent the weekend in NYC celebrating my birthday. Although I live far away, NYC is my home town and I return to visit whenever I can. The City Club Hotel met all my expectations! Beautiful room,! The bed was wonderful and comfortable! Very clean room. Lovely bathroom!!! The staff was very welcoming and very pleasant. I will return to this great hotel!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T from Washington

Great location and elegant service just SMALL

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: The cookie at night was a nice touch and so was the New York Times in a handsome bag.
Cons: Room was tiny but it's an old building - they can't do much about that.
Location: Awesome location with great shopping nearby. Convenient to Penn Station and, of course, Grand Central. Park is close too. Somewhat sleepy at night.
Needed a hotel in Midtown for a work trip. The City Club Hotel is located on a really nice part of 44th street next to some famous hotels. It holds its own on the strip as a small, boutique hotel. I have read that some rooms are large, mine was not. In fact, it was tiny. Despite being diminutive, the room utilized its environs elegantly: the TV mounted in the corner, "hidden" closet tucked in the wall etc. The bathroom was great and it even had a bidet. The front staff was nice and helpful. The rate was lower than most other hotels of the same quality in the area, if that's the rate you find, you are getting a good value. I wouldn't splurge to get a room here though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by The Zim from Montreal

No major complaints

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: The location is great especially if you are a theater goer. The chocolate chip cookies are to die for. Staff are great. The King rooms.are spacious.
Cons: Get the fridge out of the closet
I have stayed at City Club previously but at their King rooms. This time I booked a Queen room. Although all the hotel literature says "Queen size bed", it is not a Queen bed. I sleep on a queen bed at home and this was definitely not a queen. I was there with my wife and she managed to put her clothes on the 2 shelves and night table. I had to live out of the suitcase which I wedged under the desk. Of course that meant that the chair had to go next to the front door. It's a room that just really work for 2 people. There is a small fridge in the closet which takes valuable space and renders the pants hanger irrelevant as your pants rest on the top of the fridge. Otherwise, the room is in good condition. The bathroom is quite large but has little space for personal items. It's also in very good condition. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is great and and you hear no street noise. The chocolate chip cookies left on your bed in the evening are heavenly!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Itinerant from Vancouver

Small, friendly, relaxed and quiet.

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: It was as in the title, and those for me are all important assets. And the DB Bistro on the ground floor was not too shabby either.
Cons: If there was a closet, or anywhere to hang a coat or suit, I could not locate in my room, which was small enough to explore easily
Location: I was only there for a day and a half of steady meetings at the UN, so had no chance to take advantage of a splendid mid-town location. Next time?
My taxi driver drove right by without seeing the sign- now THAT is an unobtrusive hotel on a pretty narrow street. So I had to decamp 50 metres down the one-way street and hope I had the address right after all! But the friendly faces in the hotel made me sure that I had come to the right place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great value, close to Time Square

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The price was great and it wasn't the Bates Motel.
Cons: Add counter space in the bathroom.
Location: A 5 minute walk to Time Square, and under 10 minutes to Theater District.
Great deal for a quick weekend visit. A short 2.5 block walk to all the action in Time Square. Staff was very nice and offered help with getting around on the subway, etc. Room was very clean and much larger than I anticipated, perfect for one or two people. The bathroom was huge, with two bathrobes and a bidet. Nice pedestal sink, but a little bit of counter space would be nice for toiletries and make-up, etc. The delightful chocolate cookies at night were a great treat. While there's no onsite restaurant, there is a great restaurant right next door, and countless others up and down 44th. I would recommend this hotel to my friends, and I would book a room here again in a heartbeat.
3 out of 5
by Sue

So-so

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Clean, Nice shampoo and toiletries... Cons: teeny tiny room..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and good location

Posted Mar 14, 2014
The hotel is nice and walking distance to Times Square. Unfortunately, they were doing repairs early in the morning that woke us up. But I will still recommend this cozy hotel.