Ratings based on 1,983 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Syracuse, NY

Posted Dec 23, 2014
I liked the location and price for this hotel. But the room given me was very outdated, dusty, rugs were very worn and dirty, and the bathroom wasn't all that clean and shower pressure was very low.... No way to adjust heating--had to open a heavy window and prop it up. Internet service was so spotty! This was a problem as I was on business and in need of it--very hard to get reception, had to call the desk for help twice! The TV cable selection for NYC was very limited and I couldn't access movie channels from my remote... You know, you're at a hotel and you want to feel a little perk--but this was a basic room for sleeping; bed was comfortable, thank goodness! Just wish it had looked like the ad on Expedia and was cleaner. Not a 3.6--I put it lower at a 3.3... But if location and complimentary breakfast is important to you, this was a very convenient place to stay and catch the subway!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

good location and a reasonable price for NYC

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: location and prince
Cons: size of rooms, decor
Location: lots of bars and restaurants. right by Central Park
had to wait at check in while staff talked to each other. room was SOOOO small. and hot. it had a radiator!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, D.C.

Disaster

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: It's location only.
Cons: I wish I could suggest something, I'm still upset about the size of the room, the bathroom could only fit a midget also. No place to put anything
Location: Central Park, museums, Rockefeller Plaza and the Chrsitmas tree. Theaters. Quiet residential street of brownstones and small apartment houses.
The checkin people were not helpful. The hotel has one elevator and a line forms after checkin time and one can wait 15 minutes to get into the elevator. The room was the worst decorating job I've ever seen. The room was brown, Everything in the room was brown. the beds were placed in such a way that the person in the second bed could not see the tv. .It faced into a shaft and there was no natural light. There were noi chairs in the room. Fortunately all we were doing was sleeping there, but if you wanted to sit and read...... you had to sit on the bed. The room should have only been one double bed, so that a chair and/or desk could be there. There was no "snack machines" as advertised. To make matters worse, I stayed an extra night because of a family emergency, and was billed in triplicate. This is not Expedia's fault, but the hotels. It is now four days since I left and I am arguing with the hotel and the bank because there are four holds on my bank account, yet the bank and the hotel say there was only one bill. I would never ever stay there even if they offered me a free night. The location is great, quiet street, close to the subway, across from the Park, but the worst place I've stayed - and I'm 73 years old and travel in my federal job. This was not a business trip, but boy, you need to 'declassify" that hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york 71st west central park comfort inn

Dirty hotel in need of work

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pictures on web are faulse room is dirty the windows are held up with papers draw with no bottom in i can watch cobwebs blowing on celling no TV signal I can go on hotel in need of makeover a dump only good thing is location I only booked this after staying in the comfort inn at time square but this one is a disappointment stay away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2014
It was really nice..but room was little bit small. Friendly staff. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel with accommodating staff

Posted Dec 10, 2014
The hotel was convenient to the subway and is situated in a safe, comfortable neighborhood. The room, though small, was quite comfortable and afforded us all the conveniences we desired. The complimentary breakfast had a large selection of healthy and traditional breakfast fare, though the space of the "cafeteria" was not large enough for the foot traffic at the time. The hotel staff was very accommodating, offering us a late check out and even going so far as to hold our bags behind the front desk for an extended stay in the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New England

Great location for the price.

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Price for the location
Cons: Bathrooms could be cleaner ( shower curtain had some mold on it )
Location: Lots of good restaurants and short walks to where you need to go
Like many small European hotels - small rooms not meant for lounging - just sleeping. Staff were helpful and very pleasant. Breakfast room could be a little tidier - like wiping down tables between guests
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Battered room.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
The location of this hotel, so close to Central Park, so close to the subway, will keep it popular for years to come. The price was good. The staff was nice, and helpful. The room was battered, the walls spackled, (but not re painted), and the grout in the shower tiles was gap toothed. We kept our eyes in soft-focus so as not to mind the condition of the room, elevator, and breakfast room. How about a little sprucing up around here?
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Terrible

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Would never stay here again. Very dirty. Rooms were very small
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Osaka

暖房の故障が直らなかった。

Posted Dec 3, 2014
ニューヨークだから狭いのは承知だが、暖房が働かなくなり、フロントに連絡、しばらくして修理担当がやってきてしばらくしたあと、修理完了と。しかしまったくあったかくならずでした。比較的暖かい日でよかったけど、少々寒い夜を過ごしました。