Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bray, Ireland

Street sounds, beat sounds all through the night

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Housekeeping. Different location for breakfast.
Location: Lots of restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. Close to Tenement Museum. Enjoyed a long walk along the East River to the Financial District.
On arrival, receptionist seemed preoccupied with other matters (certainly not guests) and we had to wait for some time before we were checked-in. Our room was so small that we had not enough space to stack two ordinary cases off the floor. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was okay. No sleep possible - air conditioner very noisy; open window let in the sounds of all-night revelry. Breakfast (generous amounts of everything) was in a small, awkward basement which is NOT suitable for the purpose. Vacuuming of carpets is obviously a much disliked and hurried job! (An inch-deep line of dust and debris clearly visible close to skirting boards.) Night-receptionist assisted with urgent telephone call to Credit Card Centre (my partner's card had been blocked), so that is definitely a plus.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michelle from Brisbane, Australia

Dirty, small, noisy and highly over-rated

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very disappointed. Selected this hotel because of good reviews, but were sadly disappointed. The sheets were clean but the carpet was dirty, there was rubbish and dirty linen behind the cupboards. The room was small. We were on the 2nd floor right above a noisy bar (on weekends). The worst fault though was that we requested a crib, received an email to say that they would supply one and when we arrived they told us they did not have one... what the? So our 10 month old slept on a folded mattress (thin) under the desk, yes that's right under the desk! We had to use suitcases to keep her in. Not at all ideal, but what do you do when you arrive at 10pm and they cannot deliver a cot/crib as promised. All in all, a very cramped and unpleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Cindy from Rochester ny

Room

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Requested king size bed, rooms were small and they didn't have that size bed. It was a great stay any wAy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok Hotel

Posted May 15, 2014
Ended up at this hotel as our flight out of New York was cancelled last minute and the hotel we were staying at was fully booked (as was most of New York). Reception was friendly and efficient. There was a funny smell throughout the hotel, possibly because of the rain. Rooms were tiny. Ended up paying way more than what the stay was worth (almost $300 - which was $100 more than the 3.5* hotel we were staying at a few blocks away). Area seems a bit dodgy but ok, with some nice looking restaurants, Breakfast was held in the lobby, outside people's rooms, but there were insufficient chairs to accommodate everyone, so we had to stand while eating. No hot items were available. Overall stay was ok, but would not book this hotel again as there are so many better (cheaper) options if you are able to book in advance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, nothing special

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Very close to Delancey subway, lots of bars and food places around. Very small room, no where to put cases.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AA joke from new york

Good location for dining out.

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Bed was comfy. Room and bathroom were very clean. Lots of cute restaurants and shops on and around the block.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by lisa frances dee from melbourne

friendly and helpful staff

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a couple of small challenges with my computer upon arrival. staff were helpful and polite.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Greg H.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Blake from Denmark

Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
You could smell smoke in the bathroom on the 6th floor because there was a smoking room on the 7th and some how it got into the vent and came in through our bathroom. Nothing was done to correct it even though we mentioned it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Megan from Baltimore

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a great hotel. The rooms are a tight fit, but I wasn't staying there to hangout in my room all day. I highly suggest this hotel for the 40 and under crowd without children. The surrounding area has a lot of nightlife (bars, clubs, eateries). Street noise may be an issue for some visitors. I had quick service when the smoke detector needed and new battery. The staff was very helpful in suggesting places to visit and how to navigate the area. I would definitely stay here again.