Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

We took a chance

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The bed was super comfortable. The front desk staff and concierge were freindly and helpful.
Cons: We had been through the lobby on our last visit and was impressed but the rooms fell short on decor - the room was dark. The bathroom was tiny.
Location: Macys 1 block, Penn Station/Madison Square 4 blocks Times Square 8 blocks, Restaurant in hotel has very good food and good atmosphere
We were coming in from Great Neck so proximity to Penn Station was key as there were 4 of us plus luggage. We have stayed elsewhere on 35th but our usual location was booked. We changed rooms after we checked in because the first room has a musky odor. The second room was better but we were not in the room a lot. It is an older hotel but lacks in charm. Probably would not stay here with my family because the rioom was small. Might stay again with just husband in a king room. I really like the restaurant next door. The staff held our luggage for us upon checking out since my son had liberty until 6pm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is in a good location.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
I stayed their for the weekend and it was a fairly small room but I expect that in that area of New York. But the room was very clean, it had a small closet a refrigerator and a small bathroom. But for the price I paid I thought it was ok, and I also thought the service around the hotel was very good they always asked me how am I doing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good place to stay

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful and friendly - they remembered us from previous visits.
Cons: The shower had a mind of its own and went from hot to cold of its own choosing - but hey, have a bath instead.
Location: This hotel is located perfectly for the shopaholic - turn left out of the door and you are in Macy's. One block from the Empire State Building.
They have a 'serve yourself' breakfast that is an excellent start to the day. Typical American food alongside more European choices - something for everybody. Staff were very friendly and helpful - they know about customer service in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the Empire State Building.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Its a very nice place to just relax when your tired from all the walking around New York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Excellent Hotel Stay For a Great Value!!!

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was an excellent hotel with great service and wonderful location. I highly recommend it for families. The breakfast was also very good. To be honest I am surprised it is rated as a 2-star hotel. It should be rated at least a 3-star!!! You won't be disappointed for the great value you are getting.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jayne from ontario

A few problems

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Other than the a/m problem. We would stay again. Great location
Location: Too many things to mention. Easy access to everything
We had a problem with the air conditioner not working. Reported to staff at least 5 times. No one came until the 3rd night. Did offer to move us but by then the mini heat wave was over. Also last day there was no hot water because of a boiler problem. We were offered a 50% discount for one night that we are working on as a credit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Salomon from Woodbridge, VA

Good Hotel

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was very courteous and helpful. I would stay there again. The Hotel room was clean and they had continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Glasgow

Great hotel 2mins from Macy's and Empire State

Posted Apr 24, 2014
The hotel was right in the in the heart of mid town Manhattan. Very close to Empire State and Macy's. You have a 5-10mins walk to times sq and grand central terminal. Nice clean rooms. We spent all of our time adventuring New York and very little time in the room anyway but was clean and there was ample space. Staff were friendly, helpful and informative.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Overall

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the sights, and it is easy to find, just return to the Empire State building. The free breakfast was an advantage. It is homely after
Cons: Bathroom could be a bit nicer, but at the end of the day no one stays in their bathroom for long. It was not dirty, and perfectly useable.
Location: Very convenient location, Maceys and Empire State Building close by. You should go up ESB at night. The view of all the lights in New York is stunnin
I used this hotel because I had stayed there about 15 years ago. It is very convenient for the sights of New York, having Maceys at one end of the street and the Empire State building at the other. The rooms have been redone since that time. Our room was large and nicely furnished and had a large window letting in the sunlight.. The bathroom could have done with a little bit of attention but it was not bad. All staff were pleasant and helpful, and even the maintenance men chatted if the saw you. The free breakfast was an additional advantage, saving you money and probably some time as well as you didn't have to decide where to eat and wait for food to be prepared and served.