Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, NU

Well located. The cleaning staff is rude

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Bathroom was not too clean and the cleaning lady was too rude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice midtown hotel. Next to library and Park

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The location, size, noise factor.
Cons: The mattress was too soft and overused (there was a rut in the middle)
Location: Close to Grand Central Station (good for sightseeing and for getting a subway to anywhere), Public Library main branch (free tours), broadway, food.
Excellent midtown hotel convenient walking distance to broadway, Times Square, the gorgeous library and beautiful Bryant Park. Large room by NY standards. Rooms are sunny (full wall of windows) and its quiet as its off the main drag.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2014 by Justin Scarpa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We are very proud of our location and it's proximity to so many exciting New York sights! I am glad that the rooms met your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay. If you are returning to the Manhattan area, I hope that you will stay with us again! Best Wishes, Justin Scarpa General Manager Justin.Scarpa@marriott.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Nice hotel, close to Times Square and Bryant Park.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: The amenities, but they are doing a renovation in the restaurant.
Location: Times Square, Bryant Park, 5th Avenue, Public Library, Macys, subway connection to everywhere.
Overall the experience was good, the hotel staff is very kind and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by Justin Scarpa, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a comment about your stay and our staff. I am glad that you had good interactions with them and will be sure to share your comment. We love being so close to Bryant Park, there is always something to do or see in the park, we love having it in the neighborhood! Safe Travels, Justin Scarpa, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando burb

Great Location for Midtown sights

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Without a bigger footprint, not much.
Location: See above
10 minute or so walk to Empire state bldg, Rockefeller center, Times Square / Broadway, Grand Central Station, etc. Very convenient location for what we wanted to do. Few amenities at property, small gym, 2 computers, 1 coffee machine for free coffee and that is about it. Our queen room was rather small but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room so it did not matter. Only about 5 rooms per floor so no long corridors. Not it the hustle and bustle of Times Square and real close to Bryant Park which is a real find (great place). Staff very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Plenty of restaurants and bars within a few blocks. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Justin Scarpa, Hotel Management
JB, Thank you for your review of your time at our hotel. We love our location and it sounds like you made yourself right at home in our neighborhood. Bryant Park is a favorite of mine as well! If you are returning to New York, I hope that you will be our guest again! Best Wishes, Justin Scarpa General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good location

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Attention to the air conditioner units. Not a lot can be done about roadworks however some warning would have encouraged us to seek a different room.
The Courtyard by Marriott is ideally situated on East 40th Street between Fifth and Madison. The hotel is close to Grand Central Station and Bryant Park. The staff are friendly and helpful. The major fault during our visit was the noisy roadworks undertaken at night and into the early hours of the morning right outside the hotel. Another issue that interrupted sleep was the extremely noisy air conditioner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall the hotel was great and the service was fantastic. We were really taken care of by the staff. Not a horrible deal for the hotel, but it still felt a little expensive for what we got.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eileen from Scotland

Good location , near central attractions and shops

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Tea in the room not just coffee.
Location: Whilst the location is good it is quite a quiet location.Bryant park, Times Square, grand central station all within a short walking distance
Stayed here for 6 nights. Hotel services were quite basic but hotel was very clean and rooms cleaned everyday. All staff were very helpful. Would stay here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Way overpriced

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here for 2 nights because it was the recommended hotel for a wedding that I attended. I would not recommend it for the price. The staff was nice, and the room was clean, but this is definitely a budget hotel for a non-budget price, considering the Kimpton around the corner was the same price. Room was very small and very basic, with an old extremely loud A/C unit that kept us up all night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com