Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good location

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Attention to the air conditioner units. Not a lot can be done about roadworks however some warning would have encouraged us to seek a different room.
The Courtyard by Marriott is ideally situated on East 40th Street between Fifth and Madison. The hotel is close to Grand Central Station and Bryant Park. The staff are friendly and helpful. The major fault during our visit was the noisy roadworks undertaken at night and into the early hours of the morning right outside the hotel. Another issue that interrupted sleep was the extremely noisy air conditioner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eileen from Scotland

Good location , near central attractions and shops

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Tea in the room not just coffee.
Location: Whilst the location is good it is quite a quiet location.Bryant park, Times Square, grand central station all within a short walking distance
Stayed here for 6 nights. Hotel services were quite basic but hotel was very clean and rooms cleaned everyday. All staff were very helpful. Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Helen from Pennsylvania

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice location , but the hotel was very expensive , compared to what it was offering..a really small room , a hotel that needs to be remodeled yesterday,no breakfast,I don't think I'm gonna choose it next time I stay in N.Y.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tracy M from Minneapolis, MN

Wonderful hotel in the middle of it all

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic location, very close to Bryant Park and Grand Central Terminal. Very friendly staff who gave great recommendations for local restaurants and things to do. My room on the 6th floor was recently remodeled and was spacious, comfortable, and extremely clean. I will definitely stay at this location again and will recommend it to all of my friends/colleagues who visit NYC!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and switch

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Nothing - "Courtyard by Marrriot" imples strongly that there is a courtyard. There was once but someone put an office building in it.
Cons: Wide ranging Rates 752 on Sunday. 569 on Monday.
Location: Fine
Arrived late on May 4th. Found room tiny beside the elevator and 25 feet above traffic and construction Asked to be moved - no joy, saying NO more rooms Moved to suitable room Sunday the 5th May 6 I was ill asked to remain another day Ok buy Massive bill of $733.86
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Richard Boyd from New Jersey

Disappointed business man

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
There was construction next door all night long, 1 am, 2 am, 4am!. I can't believe this is allowed! Loud banging metal sounds. Had to try to sleep with a pillow over my head. Had a meeting the next morning and I was tired from lack of sleep. Stayed in a different hotel the next night and then returned to stay there again the following night, but checked in late so they gave my room away (even though I prepaid). They found me a room at the Courtyard Marriott way down in the financial district. Had to take a cab that cost $20 and then another back up to midtown in the morning for my meeting, another $20. I was late to the meeting (across the street from the hotel I was supposed to be at!) because of traffic grid lock. Payed 675 per night (much higher then normal rate) so would think I would have been treated better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by KK from Toronto

Outstanding location

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would stay here again. The location can't be beat. Good-sized room, clean, contemporary, with free Wifi and coffe/tea. Amazing friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Judy from Glendale, CA

Downhill

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Chosen due to location and great reviews. Location is great for theater district. Service pretty good, but not enough staff to man front door. One elevator not operating most of the time, other extremely slow for so many people and floors. Restaurant not in service, using next door deli, with poor service and listed items not available. All 4 pillows same size and too soft. Had to purchase pillow to sleep. Bathroom door clicks to shut, kept waking up the sleeping person in the room. Can hear garbage trucks and street noise with windows closed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You can do better

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The concierge was very helpful and friendly. We were toward the inside, back of the top floor so it was quiet.
Cons: The toilet didn't flush very well because we were on the 28th floor. If you guarantee a room you should get it, no matter what.
Location: Great location, central to everything
I prepaid for a King with a rollaway in the Midtown Manhattan hotel. Prepaid from Expedia meant that it was guaranteed. I guess it is only guaranteed when March Madness isn't going on in the city. When we showed up on Saturday night to claim our room we found that they had given our room away. They offered us a small room with two double beds. Not comfortable for three adults, but it was cold and rainy so we took it anyway. The hotel desk clerk was not very helpful and the manager offered us a measly 10,000 extra points (equiv. to about $100) toward our reward points--not even close to covering one night in the hotel. They offered to switch us to another room for the next two nights, but by then we were all moved in and didn't want to repack. Won't be going back there
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by susan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com