Ratings based on 462 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delaware

Close to My Office

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: It was across the street from my office.
Cons: There was no restaurant. I had to go out for meals.
Location: There is a very nice 24-hour deli next door. It's close to the NY Public Library and Bryant Park and within walking distance of the theatre district.
The room was comfortable and clean but not very large. The bathroom had nice space for my toiletries but the marble floor was quite cold to my bare feet in the middle of the night. The thermostat in the room was easy to use, but the heater was quite loud and woke me up when it kicked on in the middle of the night. All of the staff members were very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom lyon

bonne situation

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: service de garde des bagages gratuit. chambre ok personnel ok
Cons: machine à chocolat chaud/café ne fonctionne pas toujours
Location: proche de tous !!!
bon séjour, pour noel 2014 chambre correcte très bonne situation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2015
no ventilator in the bathroom the light is a little bit dark
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Martos

Valoración de hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2015
La situación del hotel es fantástica el la misma esquina de la quinta avenida, a tres calles de time square , a dos calles del empíre state ,tiene un Deli justo al lado del hotel muy practico ,enfrente del hotel hay una tienda comestible y de mas cosas todo a 0,99 $ muy practica ,el personal del hotel fue atentos en todo momento ,la limpieza fenomenal y la habitación fantastica colchones muy bueno ,en general fantástico volveré a reservarlo ,garantizado.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greenville, SC

Great Staff and Location

Posted Jan 4, 2015
A great location from which to explore New York...and at an affordable price. I seldom have high expectations in New York for great service, but this hotel may have changed my mind. The bellman made us feel as if we had found a new best friend! My son stays here on business and, if you're not looking for a large array of amenities on site, this hotel is a great value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2015 by Darlene, Hotel Management
Hello Kirk, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Courtyard 5th Avenue. We look forward to seeing you the next time you stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great location

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Location, staff and the free coffee and hot chocolate!
Location: Many restaurants nearby and near the park and shopping malls.
I love the location of the hotel. It has so many restaurants around. The hotel itself has free coffee and hot chocolate. Great location indeed! My family would love to go back at this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Comfortable, good location, what's not to like?

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Arrived at about 1.30am but the concierge informed us about the 24 hour deli next door and offered to hold our bags if we wanted to get something to eat which was appreciated. Queen room was very comfortable (bed like a cloud), perhaps a bit small by US standards but perfectly fine for us. 17th floor over the hotel entrance on 40th street - traffic woke me up the first few mornings but then I used the regular hum of the air con to block it out. I think they had ear plugs on reception if you wanted them. Loved the complimentary Starbucks coffee and tea selection- we definitively made the most of this! I got bagels, tropicana juice and a chocolate treat from the deli each morning and took it up to our room with the free coffee (around $13 so not bad!). Hotel location was great! On check out they held our bags for the afternoon whilst we went shopping. Concierge arranged for a car to take us to JFK for $65 including tolls. A bit more than a cab but the car was very comfortable and it was so difficult to get a cab during our trip, we were happy! Plus the traffic was awful and our friend's who'd got a 'shuttle' said it turned up 50 minutes late.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Allentown PA

Great location - very comfie!

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Convenient location and very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada, Ontario

New York's best kept Secret!

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location. Central to all our excursions.
Cons: Lobby is limited in size, but Christmas Tree was decorated beautifully and was a show piece.
Location: Short walk to subway, Times Square and Rockefeller Center.
From the minute we arrived we were greeted and treated like we had visited before. We were quickly provided rooms and were assisted at the door with our baggage. Overall an outstanding stay with staff providing answers to all inquiries. We were assisted in transportation, places to visit and dinner suggestions. Fantastic stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Who's managing this place?

Posted Dec 7, 2014
The hotel has been refurbished, but beyond that, was a disappointment. As we went to check in, two people stood by and did nothing while a third spoke on her cell phone. There were no other customers there, so we just waited for . . . who knows why. Then one of the people behind the counter dropped something in his hand and began cursing in a loud voice -- a stark contrast to the Christmas tree ten feet away in the lobby. We got checked in and went to the room (2001), which was relatively new and in good condition. But here is where the lack of management and good old fashion common sense was apparent. The floor lamp would not stay on -- it appears someone must have damaged the mechanism -- which left the room rather dark because there is otherwise an insufficient number of lamps. The safe for valuables is literally bolted to the floor in the lowest level of the TV stand -- you have to get on your belly to see the keypad to enter the combination (which as we all know, is something we want to do right for fear of not being able to get at our valuables). A small inconvenience but telling: the bath towels are hung out by the sink and the hand towels are hung inside the bathtub. You just get the sense customer service is irrelevant. If they can get themselves sorted from a management standpoint, there is hope: the hotel is in a good location and is updated and seemed clean.