Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Terribly Rude Staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
I was only here for a day and night, and found the hotel to be very clean and generally welcoming on first arrival. I had a Chicken salad that was Huge from the snack shop and was charged $1.50 for Dressing which i thought was bizarre, i then went up to my room and was happy with its size and cleanliness. I went down stairs later for dinner and was greated by a short waiter who i thought must have been having a bad day so i was extra polite and curtious. Being in the hospitably industry myself i thought i'd cut him a break, throughout dinner he made a few mistakes but the cherry on the cake was when i tried to pay, having met friends there i was now a party of 6, 2 wished to pay by card (myself inc) qnd the rest by cash, he was Most awkward when he realised we were paying differently an it make the whole payment process a hassle! He wanted us all to pay by cash but the people with cards had left their cash in their rooms by mistake. He made us Go to our rooms to get cash so he didn't have to split the bill! I was rather annoyed by this. Then the sour faced bar maid made me the most disgusting Franch martini i've ever had!! It was a treat and cost $10 so i just drank it. I went up to the bar and asked for a much more simple drink an she left the bar and came back with my drink in her hand... I though that was very odd, i'd asked her where she'd gone and she asked me for ID (i'm 26) i said 'its in my room! (Rooky mistake i know) and she refused to serve me. So i just went to be
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington, MA

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location near Newark Airport fine.
Cons: Spice up your location by providing free continental breakfast or similar. The little café hole in the wall was lousy. They did not have a bagel!
Location: Near Jersey Gardens Outlet Mall down the road.
Hotel was not a 4 star hotel in my opinion. Room that I was in looked ragged and old. Shower curtain did not hold back water and I had to dry the tile floor with towels. Your café (a hole in the wall), did not have a bagel and I was told I had to wait 15 minutes so they could get one (maybe they had to run to the local Dunkin Donuts to get one). Parking should be free, as you folks had own parking lot. But not to take anything away from your facility, the personnel were very helpful, I was able to check in late with no problem, and location was ideal and quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
This was just an ok hotel. Shuttle to airport was good. Food was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice hotel with free shuttle to Newark airport

Posted Jul 27, 2014
I booked this hotel at the last minute as I had booked the wrong date for the Hyatt and the price was considerably higher. We just needed a room for the night near the airport.The photos of the Crown plaza looked nice and the price was great. We were very pleased .. Rooms were very nice and Beds were excellent! Staff was not overly friendly and seemed a bit disinterested but all in all a good experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Close to airport

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Only stayed for the night as we had a 7am flight and stayed for it's location to the airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok for a cheap stopover

Posted Jul 14, 2014
patchy staff, some are grumpy, some nice. No one stepping up to go the extra mile
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Highly reccomend

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Travelled to the states from the UK as a single traveler and wanted a nice hotel to relax. This was perfect, staff were brilliant, free airport shuttle was very handy. The room was excellent, with coffee machine and very large TV. Went to the onsite restaurant had a very large meal and beer and was only $20 which I thought was very reasonable. Highly reccomend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hotel not becoming of the Crowne Plaza

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Upon arrival the staff were not overly pleasant. When asked if the gift shop was open, it was as if I was asking about a store totally offsite - he didn't know anything about the operating hours. Also, the restaurant was dingy and the staff seemed unhappy to be there. I would certainly look for another hotel should I stay at Newark airport again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Won't return

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Roadways to arrive were a nitemare. Convoluted. Shower didnt have hot water.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Does what it says on the tin...

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Convenience.
Cons: Restaurant would be more appealing if the decor could be cheered up.
Location: Perfect for any necessary overnight at Newark pre-flight, but can't see any other reason to stay.
All very efficient. Quick to get to the airport from the hotel when the shuttle can drop you at the terminal, but much slower coming back. You have to take a Parking bus from in-between the two terminals (poorly signed) then from the parking area the shuttles take you to your hotel via some very bumpy side roads. A/c was suspiciously not working on either of the two buses we used (different vehicles). Restaurant was surprisingly good and the staff there very courteous, but surroundings a bit drab with no outside windows and brown decor. Room reasonable.