Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Friendly staff, close to the airport and a good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Staff were not helpful, bathroom stunk of smoke

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: comfortable bed, good amenities
Cons: Staff could be more helpful and friendly
Location: location is difficult, allow 30 minutes of waiting for the bus to get transferred to hotel.
I was disappointed with my stay at Crown Plaza. I stayed 2 nights on 2 different occasions. Both times the hotel staff were not helpful or friendly at all. ALl their responses were completely automated and it was like they werent even listening to what I was saying. They didn't know information about the airport or airtrain, at one point a lady told me the air train was out of service and likely to take hours to get fixed, this information was completely inaccurate and cost me time and money. When I rang for pick up at T4 at 1.30am, no one answered. I had to call three times before someone picked up. Eventually a bus came about 35 minutes later. The bed was very comfortable but the bathroom stunk of smoke. the hotel was frustrating to get to, I couldn't get a bus from the terminal and had to go to T4 so all of this cost precious time which meant less time in NYC. I would not go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Close to the airport

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean.
Cons: Free parking, better wireless.
Location: There's nothing to do nearby except go to the airport.
But hard to find. The streets right around Newark airport and this hotel are difficult to navigate, and the signs are hard to find. I drove around in circles for an additional 15 minutes to find the place, and that was after a five hour drive. When I checked in, they didn't tell me that I could get parking validated at the front desk, so I got charged extra for parking. The wireless is terrible - I couldn't get any work done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Convenient with airport pick up. Late arrivals guaranteed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Rude staff - difficult to get to

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Staff was non responsive and rude. My rental car was damaged in the parking lot and they could never locate a manager for me to talk to. Hotel is in a bad area, surrounded by a gate and difficult to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Terribly Rude Staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
I was only here for a day and night, and found the hotel to be very clean and generally welcoming on first arrival. I had a Chicken salad that was Huge from the snack shop and was charged $1.50 for Dressing which i thought was bizarre, i then went up to my room and was happy with its size and cleanliness. I went down stairs later for dinner and was greated by a short waiter who i thought must have been having a bad day so i was extra polite and curtious. Being in the hospitably industry myself i thought i'd cut him a break, throughout dinner he made a few mistakes but the cherry on the cake was when i tried to pay, having met friends there i was now a party of 6, 2 wished to pay by card (myself inc) qnd the rest by cash, he was Most awkward when he realised we were paying differently an it make the whole payment process a hassle! He wanted us all to pay by cash but the people with cards had left their cash in their rooms by mistake. He made us Go to our rooms to get cash so he didn't have to split the bill! I was rather annoyed by this. Then the sour faced bar maid made me the most disgusting Franch martini i've ever had!! It was a treat and cost $10 so i just drank it. I went up to the bar and asked for a much more simple drink an she left the bar and came back with my drink in her hand... I though that was very odd, i'd asked her where she'd gone and she asked me for ID (i'm 26) i said 'its in my room! (Rooky mistake i know) and she refused to serve me. So i just went to be
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington, MA

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location near Newark Airport fine.
Cons: Spice up your location by providing free continental breakfast or similar. The little café hole in the wall was lousy. They did not have a bagel!
Location: Near Jersey Gardens Outlet Mall down the road.
Hotel was not a 4 star hotel in my opinion. Room that I was in looked ragged and old. Shower curtain did not hold back water and I had to dry the tile floor with towels. Your café (a hole in the wall), did not have a bagel and I was told I had to wait 15 minutes so they could get one (maybe they had to run to the local Dunkin Donuts to get one). Parking should be free, as you folks had own parking lot. But not to take anything away from your facility, the personnel were very helpful, I was able to check in late with no problem, and location was ideal and quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
This was just an ok hotel. Shuttle to airport was good. Food was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice hotel with free shuttle to Newark airport

Posted Jul 27, 2014
I booked this hotel at the last minute as I had booked the wrong date for the Hyatt and the price was considerably higher. We just needed a room for the night near the airport.The photos of the Crown plaza looked nice and the price was great. We were very pleased .. Rooms were very nice and Beds were excellent! Staff was not overly friendly and seemed a bit disinterested but all in all a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Joan S from Elizabeth NJ

Walking access not great but all else OK

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff friendly and helpful with good shuttle service