Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Great staff, good for the price.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: staff, shuttle driver (all South American) most personnel from NJ are
Cons: The screen TV guide is old school but no big deal. Someone needs to tell citizens of NJ that black & dark gray aren't the only color of clothes.
Location: There was a bar (100 yards left) with pretty good food & liquor store within walking distance, I saw lots of gangster houses near by.
The desk people were the best, I watch a lot of TV and expected Tony Sopranos fat sister but the employees were great, especially a young man at the desk name Thiago and the shuttle driver. Thank You for the "extra mile" "exceeding expectations" etc etc, your staff did them all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Friendly staff, close to the airport and a good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by MonikaC, Hotel Management
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Staff were not helpful, bathroom stunk of smoke

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: comfortable bed, good amenities
Cons: Staff could be more helpful and friendly
Location: location is difficult, allow 30 minutes of waiting for the bus to get transferred to hotel.
I was disappointed with my stay at Crown Plaza. I stayed 2 nights on 2 different occasions. Both times the hotel staff were not helpful or friendly at all. ALl their responses were completely automated and it was like they werent even listening to what I was saying. They didn't know information about the airport or airtrain, at one point a lady told me the air train was out of service and likely to take hours to get fixed, this information was completely inaccurate and cost me time and money. When I rang for pick up at T4 at 1.30am, no one answered. I had to call three times before someone picked up. Eventually a bus came about 35 minutes later. The bed was very comfortable but the bathroom stunk of smoke. the hotel was frustrating to get to, I couldn't get a bus from the terminal and had to go to T4 so all of this cost precious time which meant less time in NYC. I would not go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by MonikaC, Hotel Management
Dear Anna, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will be using the feedback you give us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guest in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Close to the airport

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean.
Cons: Free parking, better wireless.
Location: There's nothing to do nearby except go to the airport.
But hard to find. The streets right around Newark airport and this hotel are difficult to navigate, and the signs are hard to find. I drove around in circles for an additional 15 minutes to find the place, and that was after a five hour drive. When I checked in, they didn't tell me that I could get parking validated at the front desk, so I got charged extra for parking. The wireless is terrible - I couldn't get any work done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Convenient with airport pick up. Late arrivals guaranteed.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom K

Rude staff - difficult to get to

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Staff was non responsive and rude. My rental car was damaged in the parking lot and they could never locate a manager for me to talk to. Hotel is in a bad area, surrounded by a gate and difficult to find.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by CAS Enterprisesfrom Elizabeth, NJ

Travel Business Owner

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is close to airport. Parking can be challenging. Front entrance before the lobby needs to be cleaned, and they need a hotel attendant outside for parking, when needed. Hotel stay was good, and checking out easy and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by LeeAnnefrom Newark,NJ

pleasant stay, convenience of shuttle

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed our stay, staff provided our requests with no hassle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Terribly Rude Staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
I was only here for a day and night, and found the hotel to be very clean and generally welcoming on first arrival. I had a Chicken salad that was Huge from the snack shop and was charged $1.50 for Dressing which i thought was bizarre, i then went up to my room and was happy with its size and cleanliness. I went down stairs later for dinner and was greated by a short waiter who i thought must have been having a bad day so i was extra polite and curtious. Being in the hospitably industry myself i thought i'd cut him a break, throughout dinner he made a few mistakes but the cherry on the cake was when i tried to pay, having met friends there i was now a party of 6, 2 wished to pay by card (myself inc) qnd the rest by cash, he was Most awkward when he realised we were paying differently an it make the whole payment process a hassle! He wanted us all to pay by cash but the people with cards had left their cash in their rooms by mistake. He made us Go to our rooms to get cash so he didn't have to split the bill! I was rather annoyed by this. Then the sour faced bar maid made me the most disgusting Franch martini i've ever had!! It was a treat and cost $10 so i just drank it. I went up to the bar and asked for a much more simple drink an she left the bar and came back with my drink in her hand... I though that was very odd, i'd asked her where she'd gone and she asked me for ID (i'm 26) i said 'its in my room! (Rooky mistake i know) and she refused to serve me. So i just went to be