Ratings based on 1,476 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Amazing hotel. Great location. Wonderful rooms that were clean and a good size. I will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin

Good but not as good as other posters say

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Location, rooms, value
Cons: Thicker windows, doors
Location: 200 feet from entrance to ACE lines so perfect access to UWS, Midtown east and JFK. Near TS but thankfully not in it.
I chose it because someone posted it was very quiet and for the average person it was fine. But if you are a quiet paranoid freak like me it was only average. Here's why: 1. The 6 rooms per floor all open onto the elevator waiting area and while the doors are reasonably thick you can still hear people's conversations while they wait for the elevator. Because there are only 2 elevators for 32 floors, people can be waiting a while. 2. Spring loaded hinges slam the doors so you can hear other doors on your floor slam shut. 3. The glass is double paned and pretty good but you can still hear sirens load and clear. 4. The HVAC has high, low, auto and off settings. So if you put it on "low" it should be a constant low. But it isn't. It still turns on and off as if on "auto". SO I just turned it off but then you don't have the white noise to block out street noise. For quiet the best rooms are between 15 and 28 facing the back (not 40th st. and the bus terminal). with these rooms you should be fine. Too high and you start to hear generator/HVAC noise from the roof. I just don't see why hotels can't use 1 inch thick glass and solve the noise problem once and for all. These properties are worth tens of millions and slightly thicker glass and doors is just thousands. All in the noise is probably better than average and the rooms are pretty good, clean and functional. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom East Lothian, Scotland

Brilliant!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: CONVENIANCE AND LITTLE TOUCHES LIKE FREE COFFEE! FREE WIFI ETC
Cons: Drop bar prices by a few dollars per drink and you shall get more customers. Bars nearby do drinks for 4dollars - why not do the same?
Location: Location is excellent
We have just returned from a 4 night stay at The Distrikt Hotel as a susprise 16th birthday present for our daughter and we are missing it and NYC already. Brilliant time had by all and totally agree with all reviews giving positive feedback. Well done to all, you are on to a real winner with this place and we thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Cant wait to come back. Only drawback was the price of drinks in the bar (6 dollars plus 1 dollar gratuity plus tax =8dollars for 1 bottle of beer is very expensive!!!- no matter here you are in the world) but apart from that,fantastic time had be all. Thank you Gordon, Jen and Jess Millar Scotland UK
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Superb hotel in a brilliant location

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Just spent 4 nights here returning today. Hotel was warm and staff very friendly. Everything we needed was catered for and staff were only too pleased to answer any questions we had. Centrally located with Times Square at the end of the road. Subway is at the crossroads and the bus station directly over the road. Trips to Woodbury Common run from the bus station. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the rooms to a very high standard. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Some reviews say the road isn't particularly nice but we found it absolutely fine and we're happy to walk down it at any time of the day or night. Hotel staff happily arranged return car service to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom lons-le-sr

hôtel bien placé

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: nous avons été surclasser (voyage de noce)
Cons: climatisation/chauffage bruyant
Location: times square, 8eme avenue, 42ème avenue, bryant park, madison square garden,
Dans une rue plutôt tranquille à proximité de time square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great hotel if you like quiet

Posted Feb 13, 2015
I'm really sensitive to noise, and found the Distrikt very quiet (only five rooms per floor, and no noise from above). It'll definitely be my new hotel of choice in NYC
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Burton on Trent, England

Excellent hotel for New York

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: It was friendly, clean and comfortable, the room was just how it should be in this day and age...excellent value for money.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Good pub - the Beer Authority. Excellent for Times Square, Empire State, Central Library and Grand Central Station. Short walk to the Rockefeller.
We loved this hotel, it was everything it said it was, ideal location - only 5-10 minutes stroll to Times Square, therefore a lot of attractions are within walking distance. Our room was on the 13th floor and was a good size, plenty big enough for a 3 night stay, it was spotlessly clean and was kept this way every day by the housekeeping staff. Chocolates and a turn down service were available every day as was a card detailing the weather report for the next day. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in - this is normally a problem for me but I never experienced any back pain. The Reception and Porter staff was all excellent, cheerful, chatty and couldn't do enough for you. Although the street is not the nicest in New York is was good to get away from the main streets and the traffic and was ideal for a nice pub nearby! All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to New York - and with a lot of years experience in the hotel trade I am fussy believe me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

NY観光の拠点に便利なホテル

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: ロケーションとスタッフのフレンドリーな対応
8泊しました。タイムズスクエア近くに位置し、ロケーションとしては抜群です。 宿泊前にチェックするためグーグルのストリートビューで前の通りの様子を見た際は殺風景で夜は不安に感じましたが、ホテルの前の建物は巨大なバスターミナルで、終日人の往来がありそれほど治安はさほど心配することはありませんでした。隣3軒もホテルが集まるところで、ホテル前でタバコを吸う人も多いところです。 バスターミナル内の飲食店だけでなく、ホテル周辺はおしゃれなカフェからラーメンや中華、ゴーゴーカレーなどバラエティに食べることができます。またバスターミナル内には大きなドラックストア兼コンビニみたいな店もあり、ミネラルウォーターなどの買い出しも便利なところでした。スタッフもフレンドリーで、とても快適でした。 強いて言うと、バスタブがなく、日本人の私にはちょっと風呂につかりたいという欲求は満たせませんでした。あと、部屋はほぼ快適ですが、入った瞬間だけ少し臭いました。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Very good location. close to the most important sites.Walking distance to the Broadway
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Fairly central hotel, not far from Times square. Handy for the many restaurants and bars on 9th avenue. Exceptionally comfy beds, very clean room, very helpful and pleasant staff. Would definitely stay again.