Ratings based on 837 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely small hotel close to Times Square

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Small but very welcoming
Cons: A 3rd lift would greatly improve access to rooms, as 2 lifts for 160 rooms is not enough
Location: Just by Times Square, central location, eay access to all forms of transport.
This hotel was recommended to us by our daughter who spent her honeymoon there two years earlier. On arrival we were greeted warmly and despite arriving slightly before the check-in time of 3pm, we were told our room was ready for us. The room was very comfortable (especially the bed) and was cleaned each day to a high standard. Whilst we only ate once at the hotel, the breakfast menu was varied and of excellent quality. Location was excellent being a short distance from Times Square and bus/subway stops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Jackhammers at dawn

Posted Sep 25, 2014
I love this hotel- it's affordable, friendly, cosmopolitan and fun. But there is a skyscraper going up next to the hotel now, and it's loud! The staff is lovely, and it's not their fault. Just be forewarned. Pamela at the front desk actually remembered me from my stay six months ago and was unbelievably nice- above and beyond- during my short recent stay. The noise didn't start until 7am, so it was bearable, but the street was dusty and it was more chaotic in the vicinity than last time. All of Hell's Kitchen is being gentrified, so from 9th @40th to the High Line @ 11th & 34th, It's one big construction site. Few restaurants nearby, and the buffet breakfast is like a motel six. But it's still a lovely place with great staff and reasonable rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Clean, comfy and great location

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Great spot, easy to get to all the main tourist spots and right by the bus station. Room was clean and really comfy. Only downside was the building works right next door, these didn't start until about 10 but no chance of a recovery lie in as it feels like the entire hotel is shaking with their drilling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a very happy experience.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Close to attractions, clean, quiet rooms.
Cons: More wardrobe space would be helpful.
Location: WE acme with a wish list and saw all that we wanted to see.
Staff could not have been more helpful. Not only on day to day matters but on other matters they went out of their way to help us. Especially Pamela and Adrian.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to action

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Staff made effort to be nice and welcoming.
Cons: 18% auto tip in your breakfast restaurant?? Come on, for that service?
Location: Excellent location
Stayed for 7 nights in September. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Fab hotel - excellent staff

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: The staff - so helpful. Modern clean hotel.
Cons: Empty the mini bars and let guests use them as a simple fridge to keep their own bottled water in. Hence 4 stars -mini bars always a rip off!
Location: Bit of a scruffy street opposite the bus terminal with a sex shop down the road but away from Times Square noise and still just around the corner.
The hotel was great - clean, modern and the breakfast was handy for lazy people who wanted to get up, eat and get out there. The location is on quite a scruffy street but very central and convenient. The staff were friendly helpful polite and upbeat - can not fault them. I would recommend it without hesitation. Cost 50$ in a yellow cab at 2100 from JFK but we took hotel booked car back at rush hour for 70$ which was worth the extra as it took just over 1.5 hours! Suppose public transport would be much cheaper but traffic always mad so allow lots of time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Great location, comfy bed

Posted Sep 17, 2014
All you need for a good hotel in NY is a clean room with a comfy bed and decent shower-all of which are present at the Distrikt. In addition the room was spacious and staff really friendly. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice boutique hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Nice and clean.
Cons: Communication regarding parking policies.
Location: Safe area. Bars galore. Food is easily found. It is the city!!!
Our stay at this hotel was rather pleasant. The checkin was quick and the hotel was very clean. The little things such as a welcome letter, chocolates and brownie were a cute touch. It was in a safe neighborhood and only a block from many restaurants and bars. My only issue is the fact that there was no information regarding the validated parking at the garage nearby and we parked at another which caused us to pay an additional $55... It would have been nice to have this information available so we didn't incur the extra charges. Although I mentioned this at checkin, nothing was done to adjust the bill other than "you could move your car"... That would have only made it worse as I still would have paid and then wasted about 45 minutes or more...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice Hotel close Times Square

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Good location.
Cons: N/A
Location: Near to Times Square, Theatres etc.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is close to Times Square with easy access to Subway. Very comfortable and quiet. Clean and modern. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hustralia

Six nights in New York

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Location: It is in middle Manhattan, Time Square, The Hop on Hop off Water Taxi and the Metro
We wanted to be close to Time Square and this was Four blocks away. It borders on Hells Kitchen which is a little sleezy. The hotel has complimentary snacks at their happy hour. The Staff couldn't have been more helpful.