Ratings based on 802 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Excellent location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Just returned from our honeymoon in NYC. The hotel was in the perfect place, close enough to get to places, with Times Square a 5 minute walk away. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough to help. Definitely worth a stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great location

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Easy to get to Times Square, Central Park, subways and bars and restaurants.
Loved access to Times Square, subway, restaurants and bars. Easy to get to from Newark airport on the Newark express bus. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Excellent Hotel, great location.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and the room was always cleaned, bed and towels changed. The staff would always be there to answer any questions or just to welcome you back. Location was amazing, within walking distance of Empire State Building, Rockefeller, Central Park, time square, etc. also very close to subway stops
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Had very loud and obnoxious people across the hall from us. Hotel staff moved us and upgraded our room for the inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Distrikt

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: It is central to most tourist sites in Manhattan. Public transit is very convenient. Staff is friendly.
Cons: I only wish for a full service restaurant.
Location: Next to Port Authority Bus terminal. Everything is within walking distance.
Pleasant stay. No complaints. There is construction next door, but noise is minimal during the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice botique hotel in a disappointing location

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The room and its excellent furnishings
Cons: Better trained staff (except in the little restaurant, she was fine)
Location: NYC Hells Kitchen area across from side of the Bus Terminal, noisy, sidewalks in terrible shape, some neighboring construction & low-end businesses.
The Distrikt hotel was, once inside, very high class & the room was extremely well appointed. The huge walk-in shower and almost instant hot water was a boon. The provision in the lobby of cold water/tea/lemonade was classy and the 3 computers there were a boon to travelers with just smartphones. The staff, however, was not what I expected. At check-in, our 3 small pieces of luggage were stored until the room was ready. On returning a couple of hours later, the luggage was not in the room, and when requested, the guy initially could not find the items. I had to go down 25 floors and find them in the too-small room, and wound up movng them myself to our room. This was a grandparents-grandchildren trip to NYC, and the kids were impressed with the "nice-ness" of the hotel. So were we, except for the broken sidewalk and the congested entrances next to other similar small hotels and Hells Kitchen projects..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel!

Posted Aug 1, 2014
This hotel has a wonderful staff and made us feel very safe and welcome. Location is excellent close to all you need to see in Manhatten. The only thing I did not appreciate is the automatic addition of gratuity when purchasing drinks in the lounge. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Awesome hotel in the heart of Manhattan

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Can't say enough good things about the Distrikt, their entire staff, the location, and personal touch on making our stay a great one! My wife and I were celebrating our 20 year wedding anniversary and the thoughtful staff left a personalized card and dessert on the bed upon check-in. Classy touch! Room was exceptionally clean and comfortable...even the pillows were perfect and my wife and I are 'picky' when it comes to pillow comfort. Plenty of food, coffee shops, grocery markets, and mass transit access within a minute walk from the hotel. They don't have a gym on-site, but they'll give you a complimentary pass to the Mid-town gym which is exactly a 3 minute walk (by my watch) away. The entire staff was very friendly and accommodating...again, an A hotel. We'll definitely be back when in NYC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Walking Distant to Javits

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: very close to javits, many food choices, close to tourist spots.
Cons: make sure there's no hair on the bed and stains on the pillow.
Location: Time Sq. 42nd Street, walking distant to 34th Street shopping area, many different restaurants to try.
Booked this hotel since it was close to Javits and the price was reasonable. Check-In was easy and quick. I requested for a quiet room. A hotel card key is required in order to ride the elevator to your floor but not needed when going back down to the lobby, it was tricky at first, but then you get the hang out it. The receptionists are very nice and professional. The hotel room is not that big, there was a closet with hangers and 2 drawers. There was a free brownie and chocolates on the bed. The table was pretty small not enough room for a laptop and files. The alarm clock was easy to use. There is a keurig coffee machine, if you do decide to use it, i recommend to first just brew plain water to clean out the residue that was inside. Wish the pillows were cleaner, saw watermarks (most likely saliva) and red marks. Found a curly hair on the bed, hoping it wasn't what I thought it was. No free breakfast, their breakfast potatoes taste pretty good. They offer free horderves during happy hour from 5pm-7pm, which consist of crackers, cube cheddar cheese, cube cold cuts, fried fish, corn with mayo and cheese. Didn't like the free body wash (Lather), didn't smell great and felt very itchy/dry afterward. Even though the hotel is across from Port Authority, it was pretty quiet, very close to time square, 15 min walk to 34th street, many restaurants around and a lot of homeless people. The bathroom is very nice and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel to see NYC from all angles.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The water in the lobby was a really nice touch. Chilled flavoured water when you come in from the city was very welcome.
Cons: The lobby area is small, meaning if you want to sit outside your room but not in the city, there isn't really anywhere to go.
Location: There is a subway station nearby and lots of local shops along the street gives you a real taste of New York, contrasting with Time Square.
Distrikt Hotel immediately made us feel welcome. The reception staff were helpful and informative regarding the location and different parts of New York, and to 4 very British tourists, this was extremely useful. It was a shame to be told our room was ready, then to go up and find the cleaner in our room, but all staff were lovely and apologetic for the mix up. When sitting in the lobby waiting for a cab, I occasionally saw tension between the staff over small matters, but when talking to customers they were pleasant and friendly. Overall, it was a great stay. It served its purpose as a resting stop between seeing the sights of New York.