Ratings based on 811 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second time just as good....

Posted Aug 24, 2014
We returned to New York for another trip and of course had to stay at the Distrikt! There is a building site next door,, but we only heard the usual New York traffic noise (they do like to use their horns!), but it was minimal and didn't disturb us at all. Room was spacious enough, spotless and the staff extremely friendly and helpful and wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Thanks for another great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 24, 2014
40th Street in between 9th and 8th avenue is a great location for times square, highline, empire state and metro to uptown/downtown
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and amazing staff

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Stayed there for 8 nights and really loved it. The staff was amazing and the room was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Doncaster, UK

Staff very good

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Great location. Excellent staff.
Cons: Nothing as far as we can see
Location: Excellent location for mid-town (Times Square, Empire State, Broadway shows etc.) and everywhere from Grand Central Station to the East River
We were well looked after from start to finish, esp. when I wasn't feeling well. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. Right next to the Port Authority Bus Station, our coach from Newark Airport was very accessible, as were blue line (ACE) Subways trains. Our room was clean, spacious and well maintained and the hotel has a few nice touches, chocolates on your pillow and a weather forecast for the next day each night. Each floor has a themed area of NY and ours was Chelsea. Slept well, nice big bed, 17th floor so no traffic noise. The Air Con worked quickly to cool the room, then wasn't needed once cooled. We didn't book breakfast in the hotel, as there's so much choice on the doorstep and wanted to get something on the way to somewhere each morning, but we're sure it would be good. We had no issues leaving luggage on our last day as we went out and about then called back in for our cases and the short walk to the coach pick-up on 41st street (under the bus station). We'd definitely consider staying here again if we (when?) we come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Excellent location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Just returned from our honeymoon in NYC. The hotel was in the perfect place, close enough to get to places, with Times Square a 5 minute walk away. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough to help. Definitely worth a stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great location

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Easy to get to Times Square, Central Park, subways and bars and restaurants.
Loved access to Times Square, subway, restaurants and bars. Easy to get to from Newark airport on the Newark express bus. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Excellent Hotel, great location.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and the room was always cleaned, bed and towels changed. The staff would always be there to answer any questions or just to welcome you back. Location was amazing, within walking distance of Empire State Building, Rockefeller, Central Park, time square, etc. also very close to subway stops
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Had very loud and obnoxious people across the hall from us. Hotel staff moved us and upgraded our room for the inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Distrikt

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: It is central to most tourist sites in Manhattan. Public transit is very convenient. Staff is friendly.
Cons: I only wish for a full service restaurant.
Location: Next to Port Authority Bus terminal. Everything is within walking distance.
Pleasant stay. No complaints. There is construction next door, but noise is minimal during the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice botique hotel in a disappointing location

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The room and its excellent furnishings
Cons: Better trained staff (except in the little restaurant, she was fine)
Location: NYC Hells Kitchen area across from side of the Bus Terminal, noisy, sidewalks in terrible shape, some neighboring construction & low-end businesses.
The Distrikt hotel was, once inside, very high class & the room was extremely well appointed. The huge walk-in shower and almost instant hot water was a boon. The provision in the lobby of cold water/tea/lemonade was classy and the 3 computers there were a boon to travelers with just smartphones. The staff, however, was not what I expected. At check-in, our 3 small pieces of luggage were stored until the room was ready. On returning a couple of hours later, the luggage was not in the room, and when requested, the guy initially could not find the items. I had to go down 25 floors and find them in the too-small room, and wound up movng them myself to our room. This was a grandparents-grandchildren trip to NYC, and the kids were impressed with the "nice-ness" of the hotel. So were we, except for the broken sidewalk and the congested entrances next to other similar small hotels and Hells Kitchen projects..