Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Second World Splendor

Posted Jul 23, 2014
This place is run-down and dated. The staff is very friendly and there are glimpses of luxury (fluffy pillows and down comforters), but the hotel's best years are far in the past. It reminded me of a mid-level hotel in China—worn carpeting everywhere, a rickety room door that needed to be lifted to close, stray hairs from previous guests on the beds, and non-operable windows. It was comfortable enough for an overnight stay before an early flight. The location is classic New Jersey. It sits right off the highway (next to a prison) on a dead-end frontage road that is reached by following a long series of on-ramps, off-ramps, and u-turns. You pass within 100 yds of the place, then drive a few more miles to actually reach it. Nothing worthwhile close by, though there are many grocery stores and restaurants within 15 minutes by car.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

appreciate the hotel shuttle

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: proximity to the airport.
Cons: a bigger bathroom
courteous hotel staff. good food. wish they have a small fridge in the room and a bigger bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynchburg, VA

Good Hotel Stay

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff, the hotel service in general was very good.
Cons: The Charge for internet access was ~$13 per room per device and that was ridiculous. Internet access should be free.
The hotel has great staff. The service was good and they were willing to accommodate us nicely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Service at the restaurant was excellent, although a bit pricey - but that may be normal for the area.
I would not want to be here for more than a layover - lobby and pool area is nice for kids. But the hotel really needs a refresh especially new carpet - makes me cringe to look at all the stains...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

My fourth hotel in a week

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Nice employees
Cons: Bed linens may have been just extremely old but they were far from feeling crisp and clean. Also, please include a shower cap!
Location: It is decent enough around Newark airport although there is nowhere to eat except the hotel facilities. But a short ways away are some unsafe areas.
This was my 4 th hotel stay in one week and it was the least appealing...the only hotel without complimentary breakfast or free wi-fi, although it was the second most expensive. The rooms just didn't quite feel fresh and clean. There was not a shower cap although the other tolietries were nice. Also, if you are driving, the directions are a little tricky and you may find yourself in a rough part of Newark, as we did, if you make a wrong turn. But the employees were super nice. I would not stay here again if I could avoid it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and convenient ...

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Airport
I traveled in frm utah...long flight and after flying that many hrs. It was a relief to be welcomed with great attitudes and friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the airport and comfy

Posted Jun 26, 2014
The shuttle didn't run every 20 minutes like they said it would, but overall the hotel was very comfortable, with a pool and comfy bed. It was a great place to rest after traveling for over 30 hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just A Airport Hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2014
No complaints, spent a total of 9 hours there. It did the trick. Best thing I can say is it was fine and the Expedia price was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrew from Devon UK

Comfortable Hotel close to Newark Airport

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Good facilities, good shuttle service to EWR, polite helpful staff.
Cons: Someone handy to the pool to explain access and how and where guests were supposed to change.
Location: Handy for airport but not much else
This Hotel has all the facilities you would expect from this group and was excellent for a one-night stopover going to or from the airport. Rooms comfortable and well fitted, Staff polite and friendly. Large indoor pool. The Bar and Bistro restaurant were fine with good service and reasonable value for money although I think the latter would be a bit boring for a longer stay. Newark Airport is currently operating in a state of chaos due to the Monorail it was built round being out of service. To use a shuttle bus to a hotel involves a bus ride round each terminal to P4 then getting the relevant Hotel bus onward so can take up to 50min to reach hotel from terminal. However unlike the Hotel I stayed at on landing the Hilton bus took me straight to my terminal in the morning saving valuable time and also runs at 20min interval where most are 30min. I cannot comment on general cost but I booked it via an Expedia secret saver and it was excellent value for money.
2 out of 5
by Mrs Jackson from Glasgow

Newark Airport Doubletree Hilton Hotel May 2014

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The location and the helpful Staff
Cons: This hotel needs a refurbishment.
Location: Free shuttle in 10 minutes to Newark Airport
This hotel may be accessed via a free shuttle service from Newark airport in less than 10 minutes. The upmarket Doubletree brand in the UK is not replicated in this hotel although there is a good attempt at service levels. This hotel is simply in need of a refurbishment. (The musty atmosphere when entering my hotel room and the mouldy smelling shower curtain) I have stayed previously in a slightly better room in this hotel but after this trip I will not stay here again. The staff were highly accommodating with my late check out and check in and all staff I engaged with were courtious and helpful.