Ratings based on 437 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2014
So so experience at check in. Disappointed with lack of free wifi. Cookie no substitute for that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pittsburgh pa

Excellent hotel with great service

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Hotel staff was wonderful bur food service is slow and quite limited. No food available after 10 pm. Service should be extended given that this is a airport ho where travelers can arrive late due to delayed flights and there are no eating establishments within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicagoland

Not the normal DoubleTree quality I usually see

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to the airport was definitely a plus. Hotel staff was very friendly and courteous. The room was comfortable.
Cons: The bathroom needed updating and a thorough cleaning; dirt and grime on the vent, hair in different places, loose tile on the floor, etc.
Location: Within just a couple minutes from Newark Airport. Pleasantly surprised I didn't hear planes all night long like I do with many near-airport hotels.
In quite a few stays at different DoubleTree hotels in the past, my expectation has been raised for stays during my frequent travels. This DoubleTree did not match the quality or cleanliness I have become accustomed to from the DoubleTree/Hilton brand. Hotel staff was extremely friendly and inviting, very accommodating. The room and bed were comfortable, though the bathroom was in need of some serious TLC; dust and grime on the vent above the shower, hair (that didn't belong to me) around the sink and in the shower, loose tile on the floor, shower head with build-up so water pressure couldn't be adjusted, faucet in shower in disrepair, etc. Internet speed was just as good as other hotels I have stayed at, though not free. If not for the DoubleTree/Hilton name, I don't think I would have been as disappointed. Great proximity to the airport and much quieter than other airport hotels I have stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MD

Average Hotel Near Airport

Posted Nov 21, 2014
The room was clean but the bathroom as well as the furnishings were quite dated and used. Otherwise, no real complaints or concerns. The bathroom sink ' s faucets leaked somewhat but again nothing too major. The room served it's purpose.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newark

Day at the pool.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
My stay would have been better had it not been 90 degrees in my room. The pool is near the hotel entrance which had the pool area freezing cold.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 16, 2014
If you're basically just staying close to the airport, pick another hotel. For the condition of this old Sheraton property, it's not worth the money. Find a cheaper brand / newer facility. Hilton/DoubleTree should have dumped more money into rehabing this place before putting their name on the building.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom uk

close to airport for ease

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: refurbishment
no problems but very tired and needs a facelift. no drinks on the lobby area for when had meeting with client
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ny

Old

Posted Oct 13, 2014
No ice for 2 days because machine was broken on 4th floor. Bathroom far below standards for a 150 a night hotel. Punch stains and gum on carpet. Staff good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to airport

Posted Oct 6, 2014
One of the shuttle to and from the airport is in very bad condition. One of the seat is almost detach off the floor (especially when turning). The roof looks like almost collapse, I can see the water retention from the rain. I sat on one of the soaking chair from the leak.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the airport and that is what we wanted.

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Hotel was OK. We wanted to be close to the airport for an early international flight and this hotel was fine for that.