Ratings based on 4,724 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

nice hotel in great location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
This hotel was in a great location. Subway right out the door, within walking distance to Grand Central, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, shopping , eating. The rooms were fairly large considering New York. We even had a roll-a-way bed in the room and could still walk around. Lots of little delis and places to get breakfast in the morning other than the hotel right down the street. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Hotel was close by to everything.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was nice, very busy area, plenty of things to see must travel by taxi
It was a good experience, can't complain love the greeting with the warm cookie!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Providence, RI

Great business hotel in Midtown

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location is great and there are many nice restaurants and shops around.
Cons: Staff could us a little more positive outlook, they aren't as friendly as other competitors.
Location: At 51st and Lexington, this hotel is right next to the action in mid-town. The Smith Restaurant is right behind it, which is a great spot for a meal.
The hotel is right near my office and the subway, so it is a perfect place for me to crash when I come to NYC. The rooms are not small and are always clean and appealing to the eye. I have yet to spend any real time in the lobby bar, but it often looks full and fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Awesome!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
This is one of the hotels that every traveler should stay while visiting New York. Firstly, they welcome you with a big warm cookie when you are checking in and checking out. Secondly, there is a gift shop and a restaurant within close distance of each other in the lobby. Thirdly, the room and the bathroom were so clean, spacious and comfortable. The room was preset at the perfect temperature when I walked in and the lights were dimmed. I truly appreciate that because if one is carrying lots of luggage, it would be an inconvenience to walk into a dark room and have to search for a light switch. Fourthly, the location itself is near the subway and there are several restaurants nearby. You can even walk to Time Square from there; that will allow you to see all of the restaurants and shops in the area. Lastly, I sincerely enjoyed my stay and have absolutely no complaints. Everyone was pleasant, thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great location for the price

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Location is across street from subway entrance. Room is a very good size. Shower pressure was excellent. Shower walls were a little slimy and not emaculately clean, but clean enough. Slamming doors in the morning woke us up, but I guess that's common. Overall fantastic value! We would've stayed another night, but in doing so the rate for the one night would've increased by $90 and didn't make any sense at all. Too bad!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel and Close to the Subway

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We went for just a few day trip to see the Yankees play. When we got there we were surprised to be able to check in early. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The subway was two doors down from the hotel so it was extremely easy to get everywhere. Rockafella Center was within walking distance (5-6 blocks), Madison and 5th Ave with a lot of the stores were also within walking distance. On game day we were able to check out at 10 am but check our bags to the hotel and after the 1 o'clock game come back and retrieve them from the hotel as well as the car. Hotel was clean and the rooms were very nice- especially for the price. When I go back to NY this is exactly where I will be staying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ga

Great midtown location!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2014. Originally, I booked a Queen room and was upgraded at check-in to a King room. The room was normal sized, clean and just right for two. The only complaint was that our A/C never completely cooled the room down. The thermostat was on 50 degrees the whole time, but it never got below 74. The staff were nice and very helpful. Best of all, the hotel was located next to the 51 Street Metro Station (6 line) and 2 blocks away from the Lexington-53 Station (E-M lines). This made it fairly easy to move about the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Nadria, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you for staying with us on your most recent visit to NYC. We aim to make all our valued guest feel comfortable with us during their stay and apologize for the inconvenience tat you experienced with the HVAC unit in your room. We will certainly share your comments with my facilities team. We hope to see you the next time you are in town. Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North America

Clean and nice hotel with very good location!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Love love love the location for its reasonable price for a hotel along Lex Av. If you are traveling on a budget but still get the comfort of a good hotel, DoubleTree Hilton is perfect for you. Friendly staff. The 51st and 53rd Street NYC Subway (E and 7 train!!!) is just around the corner of the hotel. Practically accessible going uptown, downtown, to Queens, to Flushing, and even to the airport where E train takes you to Jamaica Center connecting to the AirTrain. If you love shopping it's the best hotel to stay where everything you need in 3rd, 5th, and Park Avenue is just a walking distance. Rooms can be quite small and non-sound proof, can hear people talking in adjacent rooms. BUT for the value and comfort, for my overall stay, I give it a 4 out of 5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Nadria, Hotel Management
Dear Kunio Netty, Thank you for the candid review! I am very excited to hear that you were happy with the accommodations provided and the proximity of our hotel. We will be humbled if you decide to stay with us again. Thank you for staying with us. Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Would stay again.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The location and cleanliness
Location: Excellent
This hotel was within a good location, not too far to walk to any of the tourist attractions and a few doors away from the Subway that takes you to the Airtrain for JFK airport. Would definately stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Nadria, Hotel Management
Dear Kelly, Thank you for the feedback. I am very pleased to know that our location was convenient to your trip . We will certainly look forward to many more visits when you are in the city. Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Staff were great and very helpful
Cons: Hot water in one of the rooms
Location: Location was okay although a little far from Times Square. Subway next door was great!
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Not bad location. Liked the comedy club tickets that they gave us, but there was a 2 drink minimum so it wasn't exactly free as it looked like it was from the original ad. Room was nice and they were able to accommodate our teens across the hall. Only issue was that one of the rooms did not have hot water in the morning for the shower. Did not get to talk to hotel staff about it due to time issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by Nadria, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback. We look forward to many more visits. Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager