Ratings based on 3,414 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location...but construction zone

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Love that all the rooms are suites, perfect for traveling with young children. Beds are very comfortable.
Location: Located in the heart of Times Square, need I say more? Close to restaurants, shopping, and the theater district.
This was our second time staying at the Doubletree. Rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. It should be noted that the hotel is undergoing a major renovation so there is scaffolding at the entrance of the hotel, the lobby is a construction zone with just a small walkway from the elevators to the check in desk and then to the elevators up to the rooms. With that said if you are like us and really just use the hotel to sleep then it shouldn't be that bad. Ate breakfast at the hotel a couple of mornings and it was fine, but expensive. A better option is the Evergreen Diner literally steps away from the hotel where you get a delicious, large breakfast for a fraction of the cost. Locals and tourists frequent the diner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Wonderful staff. Loved the room and location. Would love to see the results after the construction is complete.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and space!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
The room exceeded my expectations. The location was fantastic! The room was large enough for my family (6 of us) and we were very comfortable. We will definitely stay here on our next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel in the Centre of New York

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Suites were clean spacious and well equiped. Our two rooms had an internal door which was very useful. Staff were all helpful and friendly.
Cons: Free wifi in rooms not just in the reception area.
Location: Excellent central location. On top of a subway station so handy for all attractions.
Excellent stay. The only downside was the bar and lobby area was being refurbished.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staying at the New York doubletree hilton hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Even though the hotel,lobby is getting a refit the experience was excellent. Great central location, attentive staff. Perfect base for seeing New York .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judith from Musselburgh

Right in the Heart of It !!!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Polite friendly staff ,felt safe and secure in the hotel ,cleanliness good ,refurb was well organised to minimise disruption to guests.
Cons: If I'm looking to find something ,internet goes off a bit but apparently the higher the floor it goes out of range a bit in a lot of the hotels .
Location: Couldn't get more central in NYC ,would recommend Mamma Mia ,brilliant you just can't singing along ,open topped bus tours of the city .
Stayed here for 8 nights ,5 of us ,two grandparents ,myself and my two children aged 16 and 13 yrs .my son was celebrating his 13th birthday while we were here and the birthday cake on arrival was a lovely gesture. The hotel lobby is under refurb at the moment but disruption minimal ,certainly didn't bother us in any way . We stayed on the 40th floor ,was very handy having the interconnecting rooms together .housekeeping staff were very efficient and rooms were cleaned every day ,she even made a point of asking who had had the birthday when she had seen the banner on the hotel room door . All staff we came across were pleasant and welcoming but to be honest we didn't come across any issues during our stay so we didn't have to consult the staff regarding any issues.the hall porters on the last day really helped us as we had a night flight so they kept our luggage and then even helped us into the mini van right at peak time mayhem in the heart of Times Square ,brave men !! Security is very good especially right in the middle of times square ,always a door man on duty ,sometimes more ,always said good evening good morning etc ,checked your key . I love the upper west side as it's a bit quieter but wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patty from WI

Great location

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Well, it's currently under construction. Should be awesome when finished.
Besides being in the middle of the Times Square action, we were within walking distance to Central Park, Carnegie Hall, Empire State Bldg, Rockefeller Center, and Late Night with Letterman. Very convenient! Subway was easy to take to Wall Street, 9/11 Memorial, and Staten Island Ferry. The location of Double Tree allowed us to take in all the best sights of NYC in 3 days. We especially loved starting and ending our days with people watching in Times Square. What an adventure!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annmarie from scotland

Noisy but nice hotel in the middle of Times Square

Posted Apr 16, 2014
If you like to be in the middle of the hustle and bustle that is Times Square then this is the hotel for you. We did found it noisy at night as the city never sleeps but we would have liked too! We wouldn't stay here again because of that. Construction work was going on in the hotel which was a bit of a letdown. Other than that the hotel was clean and the majority of staff were friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Apr 16, 2014
In the heart of Time Square. Great staff and security.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

family

Posted Apr 15, 2014
we took our granddaughter to New York for her 12th birthday. We decided to stay in Times Square for convenience. The hotel was great. We had a two room suite; really large for New York . Everyone we talked with in the hotel was great (even our maid). I'll stay there again.