Ratings based on 3,410 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staying at the New York doubletree hilton hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Even though the hotel,lobby is getting a refit the experience was excellent. Great central location, attentive staff. Perfect base for seeing New York .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judith from Musselburgh

Right in the Heart of It !!!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Polite friendly staff ,felt safe and secure in the hotel ,cleanliness good ,refurb was well organised to minimise disruption to guests.
Cons: If I'm looking to find something ,internet goes off a bit but apparently the higher the floor it goes out of range a bit in a lot of the hotels .
Location: Couldn't get more central in NYC ,would recommend Mamma Mia ,brilliant you just can't singing along ,open topped bus tours of the city .
Stayed here for 8 nights ,5 of us ,two grandparents ,myself and my two children aged 16 and 13 yrs .my son was celebrating his 13th birthday while we were here and the birthday cake on arrival was a lovely gesture. The hotel lobby is under refurb at the moment but disruption minimal ,certainly didn't bother us in any way . We stayed on the 40th floor ,was very handy having the interconnecting rooms together .housekeeping staff were very efficient and rooms were cleaned every day ,she even made a point of asking who had had the birthday when she had seen the banner on the hotel room door . All staff we came across were pleasant and welcoming but to be honest we didn't come across any issues during our stay so we didn't have to consult the staff regarding any issues.the hall porters on the last day really helped us as we had a night flight so they kept our luggage and then even helped us into the mini van right at peak time mayhem in the heart of Times Square ,brave men !! Security is very good especially right in the middle of times square ,always a door man on duty ,sometimes more ,always said good evening good morning etc ,checked your key . I love the upper west side as it's a bit quieter but wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patty from WI

Great location

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Well, it's currently under construction. Should be awesome when finished.
Besides being in the middle of the Times Square action, we were within walking distance to Central Park, Carnegie Hall, Empire State Bldg, Rockefeller Center, and Late Night with Letterman. Very convenient! Subway was easy to take to Wall Street, 9/11 Memorial, and Staten Island Ferry. The location of Double Tree allowed us to take in all the best sights of NYC in 3 days. We especially loved starting and ending our days with people watching in Times Square. What an adventure!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annmarie from scotland

Noisy but nice hotel in the middle of Times Square

Posted Apr 16, 2014
If you like to be in the middle of the hustle and bustle that is Times Square then this is the hotel for you. We did found it noisy at night as the city never sleeps but we would have liked too! We wouldn't stay here again because of that. Construction work was going on in the hotel which was a bit of a letdown. Other than that the hotel was clean and the majority of staff were friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Apr 16, 2014
In the heart of Time Square. Great staff and security.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

family

Posted Apr 15, 2014
we took our granddaughter to New York for her 12th birthday. We decided to stay in Times Square for convenience. The hotel was great. We had a two room suite; really large for New York . Everyone we talked with in the hotel was great (even our maid). I'll stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gez from West Yorkshire U K

Excellent in every way !

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Everything, Location,Cleanliness,Staff,Coffee Machine in the room, Concierge etc etc !
Cons: I can't think of anything !
Location: The hotel is in a brilliant location, so many sights within walking distance. Very busy in the Square but we enjoyed the buzz.
I had read some quite negative reviews on Travel Advisor mainly concerning the noise from Times Square and the building work. We experienced none of this, everything from checking in to checking out was handled with utmost efficiency. We were on the 10th floor and we're not disturbed at all,the building work was of minimal concern to us. I can only congratulate all at this hotel for their attention to detail. We had a fabulous stay at your hotel I should have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and have already done so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, England

Can't get more central than this hotel.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: Room decor, give guests free wifi
Location: Hard Rock cafe, Madame Tussauds, Ripleys Believe it or not, Times Square museum all on the doorstep, short walk to Rockefeller Plaza.
Staff excellent, very accommodating. Location was spot on in the heart of Times Square. There were renovating works ongoing which resulted in the bar being moved to a conference room and reception space limited but having said that we never heard any noise from the work whatsoever. Always plenty of towels etc in he room. Rooms a little dated and downside is that they charge extra for wifi and although we never ate in the hotel the food seemed a little on the pricey side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good hotel in centre of Times Square.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Cons: Hotel was undergoing work when we were there. More info at check in on what facilities are available in the hotel.
Location: Very central, easy access to everything!!
Good hotel if you want to be in middle of Times Square, easy access to all visitor attractions. Nice, clean rooms, quiet considering location. Within easy reach of bars, restaurants, shops and broadway shows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Location: Central, Times square, everything nearby
Hotel in process of refurbishment, but didn't cause us a problem Helpful, friendly staff, hotel in ideal position for tourists Large suite type rooms, plenty of tea and coffee, replenished if requested Ask for higher rooms for less traffic noise!