Ratings based on 610 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Nice hotel, good area

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Cons: In the bathroom, they could use some shelves for storage.
Very pleasant and responsive staff. The only negative is that the lounges are very popular. Therefore, there tends to be a lot of people in the lobby at any one time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but constant party atmosphere!

Posted Nov 22, 2014
DJ blasting club music in main lobby while as I was checking in should have been my first clue it was going to be a sleepless night. clearly not a hotel designed for an executive. 1 a.m. 2 a.m. 3 a.m. 4 a.m. Loud party goers yelling while cruisinf up and down the hallways made it impossible to sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

To cool for school

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Tiny closet and bathroom. Saggy mattress and window line a portal in steerage on a ship
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated mediocre meatpacking district hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Rooms. Ventilation.
Very disappointing hotel which I will never stay in again. The room is cramped and poorly ventilated and you can hear everything going on next door because the walls are tissue thin. This place is too expensive and too full of itself for the value. It pales in comparison to the Standard or Gansevoort.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Noisy hotel for hipsters

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: location, fun design
Cons: better beds, more insulation to cut down on noise, more hooks in bathroom, more clothes storage
Location: Chelsea Market, High Line, scads of restaurants and shopping
The location is great and the decor is fun if you just can't get enough of circles, but this hotel is definitely for a young demographic. The one request I made when confirming my room was that it be quiet, but I'm not sure that is even a possibility for The Dream. There is a club in the hotel and on Saturday night, noise and music is to be expected, but we were also awakened at 3am Monday morning by aggressively loud house music. The bed was on the squishy side, there was about 18 inches of closet space (including drawers) for a double, and everything in the bathroom was made for people well over 6 ft tall -- I had to use full extension reach to hang anything on the hooks, and only my toes hit the ground when on the toilet. The bathroom walls were made of frosted glass, so anyone using the bathroom early in the morning would wake up the whole room when the lights went on. Fun for a younger crowd, but just not right for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Megan, Hotel Management
We welcome your comments about your recent stay at Dream Downtown and take your feedback very seriously. We are working diligently on ensuring all of guests have a quiet stay regardless of where their room is located in the hotel. We do hope that you are willing to give us another try as I am sure we can turn your experience around. We cater to all crowds and we truly want to make sure your vacation is as comfortable as can be!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fl

A night club or a hotel?

Posted Oct 21, 2014
To start, just after checking-in, up on the 10th floor the keys would not function. We went to the front desk and went back to the 10th floor just to find that the new keys with the new programming would not work. My wife and I ckecked-in on a Thursday to find that a loud dj music from the PHD ( Pent House at the Dream) could be felt on our floor just after leaving the elevator. The music was loud and clear in our room since 10 pm thru 2:00 am. The noise was so loud that it made our bed vibrate. So, if you love theme parks, there you could find hell of a ride but no dreaming at all. The staff is very courteous. The manager on duty could see all of this by himself. On Saturday we were moved to a room on the 9th floor and got a wine bottle with a nice apology card....but after that the terror story was repeated! So if you love loud dj music in your $450 a night room and vibrating beds...you will love this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Megan, Hotel Management
I am truly sad that you have experienced such a headache on your most recent stay at Dream Downtown. I assure you that we take this feedback seriously and will use it to only get better. You should not have been able to hear any music on the 9th floor so we will investigate and can make sure that this does not repeat itself. We work hard to ensure our guests have a good time and can enjoy a restful vacation. We hope that you come back so we can prove to you that this is the hotel for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Funky Chelsea Hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2014
We stayed for 4 nights in this very cool hotel and enjoyed all the facilities including the outdoor pool and rooftop night club. The staff were always very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Great location, highly recommended (warning- the lobby is always filled with beautiful hip kids, but don't let that put you off!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Had an amazing experience & will definitely refer to all my family, clients & friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They sell atmosphere not a hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2014
It is a very trendy hotel and very expensive. The staff is nice, the restaurants are good and the location is good. BUT, the rooms are tiny, beds are terrible. The big problem is that all the atmosphere there is for the young generation with unbelievable loud music in the lobby but the prices are suitable for business men and women, not for the youth
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom LONDON

Great hotel for partying

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff Lovely decor Perfect location for the Chelsea Market & other numerous great restaurants
Cons: Access to rooftop bar for residents to be a bit more exclusive and relaxed Noise control from the bar at 3am & partygoers at 5am in the corridors!
Location: Chelsea Market is a fabulous array of great food stores On the doorstep of the Highline Lots of great places to eat in The Meatpacking District
Dream Downtown is an amazing hotel space, in a perfect location for great restaurants and with lovely decor & excellent staff, and perfect if you are in town to party. However, I wouldn't recommend it for a business trip. The glorious rooftop bar, which we wanted to relax and unwind in after a hard days work, was not a chilled affair at all. To go there, after a certain time, you had to be quite dressy and stand in a queue out on the street until the bouncers waved you through to the lift. Such a shame that, as residents, we couldn't enjoy the magnificent views of the ESB & the NY skyline in a much more laidback way. When I am back to NYC for partying, I will be sure to book in here!