Ratings based on 812 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom singapore

Good location but otherwise disappointing

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Great location
Cons: Friendlier staff, better value for money, thicker walls to keep out the noise.
Location: Chelsea and gansevoort village with restaurants and shopping are very close.
Staff at reception were not helpful and have attitude, the rooms are very small and walls are very thin. I didn't sleep most of the first night due to noise from guests in other rooms and in the corridor. This is a party hotel, its funky but not welcoming or comfortable and it's not worth what you pay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better reputation then reality

Posted Dec 15, 2014
I booked this hotel for a girls weekend. We choose Dream because of the central access to so many night life spots, and understood that because of the holiday's and famous people who attend the various clubs associated with the hotel, we may not have access into all of them. However.... upon checking into the hotel and trying to enter ANY of the associated clubs, my friends and I were treated by the security staff as though we were not welcome in any area of the hotel, outside of our room. At one point, one of the security guards made a comment that 'maybe we are not getting in because of her' and pointed me, as though my appearance was the reason we were not getting admitted. I have to say in the 10 years that I have come to NY to party, I have never been treated this way. We let the front desk know the next day and they were very apologetic, identifying that the clubs and security staff are not affiliated with the hotel. They even sent an apology note and a bottle of wine to the room. While they did their best to remedy this, the damage was done. Regarding the room itself, the bed was very comfortable and certainly looked sheik, for the price we paid ($500/night), we were in a tiny room. In addition, they cut many corners on details, to include... one ply toilet paper, cheap bath products and crappy robes. I would have really liked to come home and rate this hotel highly because I was really excited about this place, I have to say, I would not recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for 1 Night

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Location: Great location, plenty of options for eating, drinking and shopping.
Staff are fantastic, party atmosphere from first minute. Rooms really small, no room to store or hang clothes for more than couple of nights at best. Not for a week long stay, but overall a good experience to have had, but not one to go back to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New York trip

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Hotel is very fun - the only complaint would be the room - no space for clothes - we had to leave in suit case pretty much - one little closet and one small drawer - also didn't like the hole in bathroom door - no privacy -
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Bodega Negra restaurant in the hotel did excellent food, the PHD nightclub upstairs is great, always packed and great music, excellent staff.
Cons: New wallpaper, flooring in room as was scuffed in a few places.
Location: Chelsea Market and the Highline both great and so close, Bare Burger nearby does excellent burgers.
The décor and atmosphere of this hotel is amazing, the staff couldn't be more polite and helpful. The room we had was very comfortable with an excellent view of the Empire State Building and the location was great, we were able to walk to wherever we were going. The room itself had a few scuff marks on the wallpaper and floor which spoiled the look of the room but only very slightly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2014 by Megan, Hotel Management
I couldn't agree more with you! We are so pleased that you had such an amazing time while you stayed with us. I am incredibly sorry there were a few scuffs in your room- we would have loved to fix that for you! Sounds like you were in one of our premier rooms with a full skyline view- what an incredible veiw. We hope to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience with us. Regards, Megan- Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Fab hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Stayed at the Dream over thanksgiving and had a great time. Great location, very close to the Chelsea Markets and lots of cool bars and cafés nearby! Hotel is great - lively rooftop and vibey lounge area! Highly recommend and will definetely be retraining during the summer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2014 by Megan, Hotel Management
What a wonderful review, Thank you kindly for taking the time to tell us how your stay went! We are glad to find out that you spent some of your holidays with us . Our rooftop does have one of the best crowds around- wait until you see it in the summer when you return! The lounges become even more lively in the warm weather! We will see you in 2015! Regards, Megan Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Mostly a terrific experience

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Beds, location, decor.
Cons: Lighting, service.
Room was large and comfortable - beds were extremely comfortable. Bathroom was well-appointed except no tub, but that seems to be the trend. The lighting fixtures were better-looking than they worked, however, It took several tries each night to turn off the overhead light and the individual reading lights stopped working midway through our stay. Service was generally good, though had to call a couple of times to get ice one time. Location is terrific. More of an adult-only vibe than family-friendly if you're looking for the latter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2014 by Megan, Hotel Management
As much as I am happy to hear that you had a great time, I am also sad to hear that our service lacked in some areas. We try and ensure efficient service at all times and I am positive the next time you stay with us we will make sure that this happens. Some of our premier rooms have tubs and you may always place a request for a tub, we will try our hardest to grant each request. We hope to welcome you back soon! Regards, Megan Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Decor
Central location, close to everything you need. Service excellent, bar and restaurant overpriced with no coffee top ups.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom R

Great location!

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Nice hotel, good area

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Cons: In the bathroom, they could use some shelves for storage.
Very pleasant and responsive staff. The only negative is that the lounges are very popular. Therefore, there tends to be a lot of people in the lobby at any one time.