Ratings based on 833 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Small hotel in great location

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: location
Location: Right by Bryant Park, the subway& so close to Port Authority....but a safe street
Fun to be in the old Chemists Club my husband used to come to.....and a cute reminder were the beakers they gave us for water glasses!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good quality hotel in excellent location

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Dylan hotel is located one block from Grand central, but on a relatively quiet street. Quaint old building that once was the "chemists club". Beakers for water glasses in room were cute touch. Check in was fast. We were able to check in at noon if we were willing to take 2 bed room that was ready instead of king. Room was not large but big enough. Furnishings not new but in good repair. This hotel reminds me of places we have stayed in Europe, and it seemed as though almost everyone in lobby was speaking language other than English. Only stayed one night for get away weekend to NYC. Very reasonable price for NYC. Will be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Hotel's Staff
It was a good location for the purpose of our trip.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Convenient and Affordable

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Convenient and price.
Cons: Staff training.
Location: Close to Grand Central, the public library, and walking distance (if the weather is nice) to Broadway. Close to public transportation.
I stay here because the price is right and its convenient to my office. The staff is largely untrained and sometimes oblivious. The restaurant downstairs is great and, although not inexpensive, the quality is always good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place to stay in NYC at a great rate

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Amazing friendly and very helpful stuff. Specious clean rooms. Nice breakfast . Beautiful super clean bathrooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

great location. very inexpensive for New York.,

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: the location!!
Cons: neaten it up. Maybe put some fresh flowers at the desk.
Location: Great location to some meetings that I had to go to.
Stayed at this hotel because of the close proximity to a meeting and the weather was freezing. It really needs to be madeover, but there were details that could have been improved upon. For instance, the lobby had old junky folding chairs lining the entrance way with stuff piled on them. Also, there was a ladder just left in the foyer leaning against the wall. Not a great atmosphere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is nothing more than a 3 star hotel.

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Plenty
Location: Great location
Like the title says, 3 stars, at best. I'd give it 2.5 if I could. Phone in the room did not work - while not a big deal in this day and age - it made trying to order dinner at 10pm from room service after a long day at the office a chore. Also, the room was unbearably warm - the heating/AC system, as stated on the instructions "Only the AC works in the summer and only the heat works in the winter" - had to open windows in the middle of a blizzard to keep the room temperature down. It's a great location for many that work or have business in Midtown East. The room was clean, though a bit dated and it was a decent size for Manhattan. I tried to book a rate of $125 on Expedia, but that changed to $220 including taxes once I tried to book on Expedia. There are better options nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, pa

Great location!

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Better shelving in bathroom for personal items
Location: Grand Central Station, Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, Bloomingdale's
Hotel is in a great location - 1 block from Grand Central Station plus you can walk to Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, etc.. Hotel has a boutique feel and is nicely appointed. Steakhouse on the property. Friendly staff at front desk. Room is a decent size with a small refrigerator. Bathroom was modern with a big shower, but not a lot of counter space or shelving for personal items. A vessel sink on a single vanity was impractical. I would definitely stay at this hotel again based on location & price. The only negative thing I can say is that on Saturday I left the room at 9:30 am and when I returned at 3:00 pm, housekeeping had not come to the room yet. When I called, however, they immediate came up with clean towels, more coffee packs, etc....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom long island, ny

Good value for the price

Posted Jan 24, 2015
This hotel has a pretty good location. About a three block walk to the subway. Starbucks next to the hotel. The room was clean and a good size. My main complaint is that bed was very hard. My boyfriend and I stayed here on night after going out in the city and this hotel was perfect for that. I'd probably recommend a different hotel if you are a tourist. There is a separate secured storage room to leave your bags when you check out and are still spending the day in the city which is a nice perk because not all boutique hotels in nyc offer that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Broken heater and no water

Posted Jan 23, 2015
The heater in the bathroom was broken and they refused to help us move to another room. They also cut off water from 10-6 and they blamed it on the city. It's clearly a water management issue but it's not a good hotel because the bathroom is cold and lacked water, two things you need when renting a hotel room.