Ratings based on 634 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

Didn't stay

Posted Oct 17, 2014
When I arrived at the hotel I was told that there's no room for me, even though I have already paid for it in Expedia. They have transferred my stay to their sister hotel in downtown, the Hotel Wallstreet. They claim the hotel is the same although the latter is only a 3 star hotel. When I was about to leave another guest tried to check in, the guest was given a room without any issue. I asked the front desk, the guy says that I wasnt given a room because I reserved it too late.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: see above
No lights on entry. Had to search for lamp in dark. Furniture and light fixtures looked ike Salvation Army discards. Hotel clerk truied to copy my license and credit card due to some device failure. I refused to permit it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

It's all about convenience

Posted Sep 29, 2014
We chose the hotel because it is one block from grand central and the JFK airport express drops off almost directly in front of the hotel so no hauling luggage through the city. the Newark airporter also picks up 1 block away on same street which made our one night layover in the city most convient. It was a good rate and advertised including 2 breakfasts so we booked. We had some trouble with the staff over our breakfast vouchers. they claimed it wasn't included and rather than nicely rectifying the problem for us and dealing with Expedia on their time they initially wanted to argue with me and make me stand in the lobby while the called to argue it out with expedia. It took me throwing a fit before they decided to issue the breakfast th expedia. It wouldn't have been such a big deal but the hotel was marketed to us as including a breakfast that the hotel was not going to allow. The breakfast would have cost an additional $20 each and just would not have been worth the $. It is a European style breakfast. Aside from the customer service issues this was a good hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Very central and close to a lot of activit

Posted Sep 25, 2014
I found the location to be super convenient close enough to times square without the hassle of inconvenience that accompanies staying in times square ie when streets are closed on weekends for parades and hordes of people to move about . The rooms could do with a little upgrade but all in all generally very comfortable
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great location and room, in need of a renovation

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Room size and shower were great.
Cons: Renovate and maybe I'll be back.
Location: Location is excellent.
Not impressed with this over priced and over rated hotel in a great location. It could use a renovation. Very large room and bath but bathroom could do with a counter to place toiletries. Mattress needs to be replaced but sheets were great, blanket; not so great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Clean hotel, good location

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: It was clean.
But the hotel itself should not be 4 stars and is NOT worth the price, even in NYC. The staff was not very helpful, the room was ok, and the amenities were bare. 1. Toilet screeched like a banshee on every flush 2. "Front Desk" button on the phone did not ring through to front desk, but did ring (and apparently we were supposed to magically know to dial 0 instead; front desk clerk insisted it was "in the booklet" but could not find it noted anywhere when I brought the book to him)--subsequently dialing-0 also did not result in a front-desk attendant picking up 3. Requested extra towels, that were then TAKEN by housekeeping when they cleaned the room (even though they weren't on the floor) 4. No one offered to take up bags on check-in 5. I think we were actually overcharged for parking but didn't even bother to bring it up because I was tired of dealing with the staff 6. Linens were stiff and uncomfortable, bed was cheap, and pillows barely there
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Entire hotel smelled of stale smoke, hotel wasn't able to give me the non-smoking room requested. Overall hotel is rundown looking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Close to Times Square and subway

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Poorly cleaned. No door on showers resulting in slippery bathroom floor. No bathroom mat either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Very nice hotel within and easy walk to the theatres. We enjoyed the experience. It is a little hard to locate as the sign is small. Also the lighting in the room is a bit dark. Overall we would recommend this boutique hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Boutique hotel across from NY office

Posted Aug 14, 2014
All in all pleasant stay. Perfect hotel to stay if your work venue is by the Grand Central terminal. Just the first night, I had to call front desk to have them clear a couple of vacuum cleaners and a bag of soiled towels left messily in front the fire exit door on the luxury floor.