Ratings based on 1,980 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annie from Bath UK

Girls Birthday Trip

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: its location , friendly staff ,comfort and room with everything you would need
Cons: The reception area, The lifts which are very small, the dinning room is far to small as people were taking their meals into reception to eat.
Location: minutes from time square and theatres near to jettys for boat trips and just up to road for connections to tour buses
the first thing to mention was the very helpful staff from checking in to asking directions nothing was too much trouble. we did go economy with four of us sharing room with two double beds but there was plenty of room with a large bathroom and a large fridge for our chocs, nibbles and birthday champagne which had been preordered by my husband with the hotel and was there on arrival beautifully packaged including flutes. we enjoyed the evening free drink and food but were disappointed that it was not on offer at weekends. I would advise getting to breakfast early to obtain a seat and to obtain the best of the large selection on offer and take your belongings with you to leave for your day straight after so as not to queue for the lift which can take quite a while at peak times. the hotel is centrally situated. take time to find the small but perfect roof terrace which offers amazing views and an excellent place to wind down after your hectic days. I would certainly use this hotel again and recommend to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good, busy location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Stayed here one night with two small children. Great kitchenette in room with microwave, large fridge, stove and dishwasher. Two blocks from Port Authority. Very busy location. Hotel elevators are very slow. If you are on a high floor, limit trips up and down especially in the morning. I forgot something in the room in the morning and probably spent a good 20 minutes waiting to go back up and then come down. Parking across street was $40 for 24 hours with hotel validation. They offer a free 2 hour grace period on the 24 hours, so actually 26 hours for $40. Room was clean and modern. Free breakfast was decent. Just beware of the elevator wait!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ming from Malaysia, KL

5 days in Manhattan, New York

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Comes with small kitchenette and complete kitchen facilities
Location: Near to 42nd Street Port Authority Bus Terminals. Bus service to Woodbury Premium Outlet, walking distance to Times Square and Hells Kitchen
Besides the cold weather, hotel is strategically located near to the heart of New York City.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is good. Happy hour is great.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: First time in NY, first time with you, everything within my expectation.
Cons: Shower fountain; I moved from level 40th to level 11th, both room have the same problem with cold/hot water adjustment.
Location: Need to add another sign "Element Hotel" facing other direction in order to help customer see you from far away distance.
The shower cold/hot needs to be replaced. It was 1/2 hour playing with the knob to have right water temperature for shower !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Melbourne Australia

Great Location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Guest Laundry in Basement $2 washer and $2 dryer. Kitchen is great. Breakfast was fine.
Location: Times Square, Subway, Broadway
We spent four nights here and was close to the subway and bus centre. We had 2 adults and a teenager, 2 x Double beds which was fine but a little squeezed, Great size for a King room. Kitchen was great if you wanted to cook or reheat takeaway. Breakfast is adequate, bagels, egg muffins, toast, fruit and coffee / tea. Easy walk to broad way shows and times square. However anywhere in NY is accessible from the subway system. Cab rank with attendant outside the Port Authority Building at 8th Ave and 42nd St where the buses go from if you need to go out of NY. Only 3 lifts but are fast, at busy times may need to wait an extra minute or two was not an issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Bristol, UK

Good Location in Midtown

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The roof terrace is great for evening photos of manhattan.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very close to Times square. Good location for the many restaurants found on 9th Avenue in Hells kitchen.
Being between 8th and 9th Avenue, and also on the outskirts of Hells kitchen, made this hotel very convienient for pootling around manhattan island, as well as being in the midst of things. The lifts other people mentioned weren't a problem for us, at the end of the day they are serving 40 Floors of rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Francesca from Dunfermline, Scotland

Excellent location and well equipped rooms

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Can't fault hotel and staff. However the hot breakfast wasn't up much and we ended up going out to eat. As a result of breakfast being busy the 3 lifts were exceedingly busy and we had to wait about 10-15mins to get downstairs. We understand the lifts are being upgraded. Overall excellent otherwise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Warwickshire

Great hotel for sightseeing

Posted Apr 11, 2014
We have just returned from a 5 day sight seeing break in New York. This Hotel was perfect for our needs. Had read the reviews and expected a nightmare with the lifts. Yes we did have to wait but not long. Room was very clean an comfortable. Clean sheets an towels every day. Staff were helpful an couldn't do enough to make stay a superb experience. Would recommend to friends and family as it was ideal for our needs,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Louisa from Toronto

Nice hotel near subway and times square

Posted Apr 8, 2014
This hotel was great! Spent three nights in this hotel and absolutely loved it! From the minute we walked in the staff was friendly. We would call down for towels and literally 5 minutes later they were in our room. On the night we arrived, they served appetizers from 5 to 7 along with beer and wine. The staff was helpful in making reservations and directing us to where we needed to be. Hotel is two blocks away of times square and one block from the subway. Would highly recommend this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Element Experience

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to Times Square; comfy beds, free breakfasts and happy hours; friendly staff.
Location: Fairly easy walking distance to Times Square, Broadway and downtown Manhattan.
The Element is a pleasant hotel, not great but not substandard. Since the hotel is in a converted building, there a few issues like too few and elevators for a 40 story hotel and thus it can be a very long wait at peak times and the hot water runs low in the morning. The free breakfasts are good but after 8 a.m. it's a crowded place to say the least. The free drinks and snacks each weekday at 5:30 p.m. are a great feature though !!