Ratings based on 2,246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just ok

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Room was small and awkward - could not get into bed without hitting my knees, poor lighting and even though I supposedly paid for room with a "view" I looked onto a parking lot and dumpster. The morning breakfast was a zoo and they were out of coffee cups and creamers but the time we got down there. On the other hand, the room was clean, modern and had a nice kitchenette stocked with glasses cookware. The location was convenient to port authority and Times square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to Timew Square

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Small kitchen area in the room. Comfortable bed and good shower
Cons: Lifts are slow to arrive and a lot seem to pass your floor when you are waiting
Location: Great for restaurants in Hells Kitchen ( hotel is between 8th and 9th avenues). 20 blocks from Central Park, 5 blocks from Penn Station
From the good sized rooms to the complimentary breakfasts this is a great hotel to stay at. The lobby isn't large or opulent but it is welcoming as are the staff. Rooms are well cleaned and there is a gym and roof terrace
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Big rooms, fab views and great location

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Great location close to port authority bus station, subway stops and times square. Had read reviews complaining about the lifts although we had no issues, only a few minutes on occasion. View of the Empire State Building from our room was amazing especially at night. Nice and quiet on the 28th floor. Only issue we had was with the breakfast, not much choice and limited seating area meant that we chose to eat out instead. The happy hour meals/drinks on the other hand was much better and was a nice surprise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, England

Everything you need in central NYC

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Staff first second and third! Rooms were small but comfortable containing all you would need, including fridge, microwave, sink and hob.
Cons: Lifts. Seemed to be the only source of complaints.
Location: Not far from Times Square in Central Manhattan. So within walking distance of most things via Subway or taxi etc.
OK I know generally you get better customer service in NYC, however these guys take customer service to a new level. They are at the top of their game! From front of house to domestic staff, all were genuinely warm, friendly, courteous and efficient. The hotel is conveniently located and has all you need. Breakfast supplied in very busy room with adequate food and stocks frequently replenished. Rooms small but well equipped. Gym and coin operated washing machine / dryer. Free snack and drinks Monday to Thursday afternoon 5.30 - 7.00 a real bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Handy for all things New York!

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Great location and facilities - to have brekkie included was a bonus and set us up for the day. Only down side was the lifts at peak times during the day (very busy /long waits) but I would still rate this hotel highly and would visit again :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Average hotel for high price.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Gym was very stocked. Plus the small full Kitchen was a plus.
Cons: Bathroom.
Location: The wonderful smells of New York! Only a short walk to everything. What's to say.
Room in general was OK however, my wife said the bathroom smelled of mold. I really couldn't see it however, I don't doubt her abilities to smell mold :) The hotel was in the middle of everything making walking anywhere very convenient. Staff was excellent and the over all hotel was a 3 / OK nothing to go "wow" about but comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dundee

Nice hotel, good location. Busy at breakfast times

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Comfy beds and excellent maid service
Cons: Slow elevators. Not enough seating at breakfast.
Location: Central location for all tourist sites, close to subway, bus depot and main attractions.
New York amazing. Disappointed with general friendliness of staff at restaurants and shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: As above. The most I liked is the rain shower head!
Cons: More space is always appreciated like for the breakfast lounge area/s. Cookies or fingerfoods with the coffee & water in the lobby
Location: Starbucks around the block, as well as Subway station and Duane Reed. Penn Station not too far. Several Catholic churches in the area.
My husband and I were both very pleased with our stay. Lynne (front desk) has been very helpful, accommodating and very pleasant yet professional to work with. We were able to check in several hours early especially after a long and tiring bus ride. She even offered us bottled water/s to drink, approached us to where we were resting/sitting in the lobby to give us our key cards instead of just calling us from the desk. The room may have a slightly limited space (between bed and window) but my husband and I are both 'kinda' small in frame as well as this room size is expected from NYC hotels. The room has a modern feel of comfort to it. It even has a small kitchen (stove sink microwave toaster full fridge dishwasher utensils etc...)!!! The best room feature of course is the rain shower head! If only I could take it home with me :). As it is not common to any NYC hotels, Element Hotel includes a free buffet breakfast daily! This is very convenient especially if you have along day ahead of you. The hotel price may be "expensive" but this is the rate for NYC hotels; one can even get a better deal because of the amenities (including free WiFi everywhere, kitchen), it's location, free breakfast, new furnitures/paint/bathroom, and hospitable staff. Some people complained of the elevator traffic, that didn't seem to be a problem for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2014
very nice and clean hotel with modern design. our room had a full kitchen with pots and pans and silverware. the room is good size and doesn't feel cramped. very clean. the staff was nice. just a really good place and the price was very reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Pleasant stay, great amenities!

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The staff was good, very professional. Location, breakfast and guest laundry were fabulous. Lots of great restaurants nearby down 9th Avenue.
Cons: Don't know if you can do anything about the lifts!
Location: Times Square, Broadway theatres, subways, restaurants, all nearby.
We stayed here for 10 nights in August 2014. We had a room on the 36th floor (3605) with a side on view of the Empire State building (to the left) which was beautiful at night. In daylight we could see the Hudson on the right. The only criticism we have would be of the wait for the lifts, but really only a nuisance when there were large groups checking in or out. Three lifts for a 40 storey building are not enough, but you soon learn to leave a bit earlier to allow for the wait time. We found the breakfast to be very good, and yes, it was busy at peak times, but you could always just put it on a tray and take it upstairs. It was also great to have a guest laundry, especially with our stay of 10 nights. Just make sure you have a heap of quarters for the $2 wash or dryer. The location is very handy, close to the convenience store Duane and Reade and of course access to the subways. Our first night was on the 15th floor, which was a bit noisy for a light sleeper. On the 36th floor, it was oh so quiet! Make sure you have dinner at the Irish pub next door at least once. Their roast chicken is the best!