Ratings based on 3,238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa, canada

Close to everything we needed

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, friendly staff
Cons: Fitness facility - add a pull up bar, weight rack, rowing machine, and don't just stash it in the basement
When in NYC, it is highly likely you will not spend tons of time in your hotel room. We were within walking distance to shopping, excellent restaurants, entertainment. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable . The "renovated fitness facility" though, is little more than 4 pieces of cardio equipment and 1 rack of free weights. The carpet seems to have been stripped from a former smoking room given the musty smell. Plan for a walk/run in Central Park instead.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Wknd. in NYC

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Location! The front desk staff, door man and housekeeping staff were very nice and helpful.
Location: See above. Also, it's NY, one never runs out of things to do!!
The hotel is very well located: 2 blks. to Central Park, Columbus Circle, shops, restaurants and across the street from Lincoln Center.....however, we had a standard queen room which was the size of a postage stamp! If you have more than one suitcase, good luck. Also, the night we arr. there was no hot water, the boiler was being fixed (met other guests who said that hot water was unavailable for 4 days). We were fortunate , the hot water was flowing the next afternoon and the hotel did reduce the room rate for the first night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hoosiergirl

Great location but needs improvement

Posted Oct 27, 2014
We loved the location of this hotel and the lobby and general areas. The room was small, as we expected, but workable for the city. Beds were comfortable and linens clean. The room was in desperate need of repair and attention. Paint was chipped off in bathroom and all around window. HVAC was dirty and door yo control broken and rusty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Staff was great rooms need renovation

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Cant fit your hands in the sonks and water damage in bathrooms due to bad design of shower
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Bad Hotel in every way

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Nearly everything
No hot water, said you had to let water run for 10 - 15 minutes. 1 very small (1.5 x 1.5 inches) piece of soap for the 2 of us. TV remote did not work. It took a visit from the "engineer" and a second visit from the "electrician" who did not speak English to determine it needed batteries. Shower head was 8 feet up in the ceiling in the center of the shower. You had to put your arm through cold water to turn on the shower. My wife is very short and did not want to get her hair wet. She decided to use the "wand". It was broken and it sprayed water all over the miniscule size bathroom. There was zero cell reception in our room. I used the password given to me by the hotel, it did not work. It said call this number if password did not work. I called and a barely English speaking man said no problem "WE WOULD JUST HAVE TO CHANGE SOME SETTINGS IN MY COMPUTER". You had to push 2 different elevator buttons simultaneously to call for an elevator. My bill on checkout was $403. I left the hotel and immediately got a push notice from AMERICAN EXPRESS that the hotel had charged my account $503. I went back to the hotel to ask about the discrepancy and they explained that the charged an extra $100 for "security" and it would be removed within 24 hours, I am still waiting for it to be removed. While riding down on the elevator to check out 2 older women got on and as the doors were closing they asked how was our stay and I said miserable, they emotionally concurred.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Checked us in knowing there was no hot water

Posted Oct 25, 2014
We stayed here 3 nights and never had a hot shower. The suggested remedy was a free breakfast and a $15 voucher to shower at the gym around the corner. I finally threw a fit to the point they have me a 50% discount but with a room rate close to $500 a night it just wasn't good enough. They finally claimed to resolve the hot water and basically called me a liar when I told them upon check out that our water was a best Luke warm post fix. I went so far as to ask the manager to come to the room to review the situation herself and decide if I was lying or not but she rudely refused. The hotel itself was fine but if you have a problem I would not expect much from the staff. They clearly do not care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Very pleasing but they ran on some bad luck.

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Stayed 10/22-10/24: The Empire Hotel was charming, a gorgeous lobby, nice bar, nice restaurant. The room was nice, the mini bar well stocked. The bathroom could have done well with a different sink. If you are a woman trying to get ready you will have to use the toilet as your counter space. The bad luck came when their boiler blew. 1.5 days without hot water. They were polite and made arrangements with an adjacent fitness club where we could use their facilities. Its more a shout out to the aging infrastructure that is NYC. I will stay at Empire Hotel again for the people and location, I'll just call about the plumbing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dark and no hot water

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: hot water and lighted lobby and lounge
Location: Lincoln Center across the street. Morning TV shows within 4 blocks.
The Empire was located perfectly for our planned activity. No hot water for the two days we were there was terrible. Being able to go to a health club for a shower is unacceptable for the price you pay for this facility. The lobby, lounge and bar areas are VERY dark. I know this is old world, but it is really dark. On the other hand, the staff tried their best, and that goes a long way.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta,

Good location

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Lighting everywhere , bathroom mirror, hooks,position of shower head, etc positioned where it can be reached by average height person
Location: Lincoln Center, good restaurants in the area
Not enough light. Everything was dark. Bathroom designed by a 6 foot tall man who did not use makeup. One night and a day there was no hot water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. Old hotel. Need urgent refurbishing

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Excellent staff. Old hotel. Bad elevators. Rooms decor from sixties.