Ratings based on 4,507 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B.

Great location but amenities not the greatest

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Hotel lobby and location were great. Room was very small and had some moldy spots on roof. It was quiet which was great but room was very dark as It was facing a building. It was an ok place to crash each night after a busy day in the city. Pool was comically small.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015
There was no pool for the first day. i have to request for extra shampoo and conditioner all days. No internet last day for a couple of hours
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bj

Fint hotell dårlig tilgang til poolen.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Mye privat arranger tilstelling ved poolen då den var stengt for
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa City

Perfect location for proximity to Lincoln Center.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Friendly staff, nice location with restaurant in the building and Starbucks next door. Room size was good for Manhattan, but bathroom was small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Bra hotel nära centrum.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Jätte fin lobby. Restaurang👍- lite dyrare men middag värd alla pengar. Tyvärr frukost kan jag inte rekommendera - dyrt och inland måste man betala fullt pris bara för bred med smör ( ingen pålägg utan marmelad )
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Roach Hotel!

Posted Jul 18, 2015
I understand hotel being noisy for the location but was very surprised to find Cockroaches in my bathroom. When I pointed it out was told to complain to Expedia because I had not booked directly with Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!!!

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Everything!!!!
I was so happy with everything about The Empire. I had read previous reviews, so I was a little pprehensive. But, I loved this choice. We attended a play at Lincoln Center and walked right to our hotel. The Lobby Bar welcomed us. Yes, you paid for water in the room, but this is NYC afterall. My room (a junior suite) was spacious by NY standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Wrong type of hotel for me

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: The area was great
Cons: The staff could be more cooperative. The frig was too full of "purchase" items for us to use. Don't charge for a cup of coffee you make yourself.
I have never stayed in New York. This was the wrong hotel for me. Did not like the shower setup. The room was cramped. They charge for Everything- $ 3.50 for a coffee in your room. Pool was a meat market- did not like that for my 16 year old daughter. BUT- we decided to leave early and the manager did refund our money (he did not have to), so that was a positive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Can't wait to come back!!

Posted Jul 15, 2015
My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay so much we're already planning for next years trip!! And the rate was great considering how close this hotel is to Central Park!! I wish I could have stayed!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good value!

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Location, price
We needed to be close to Lincoln Center and this hotel was just the perfect location. The lobby was warm and inviting, the staff was friendly and offered me an upgraded room to boot--so that made me really happy. Rooms are small and a little bit old, but nicely appointed and the king size bed was very comfortable. We did not use any of the incidentals in the room, as everything came with a price tag, including the $8 bottle of water. But CVS, wine shop and Starbucks were both very nearby. Parking deck was right nearby too--we prepaid online. All in all, very satisfying stay! I would definitely stay again.