Ratings based on 3,148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gisborne New Zealand

Great Location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Refit the entire place and some professional development around service.
Location: Uptown and downtown NY on your doorstep with restaurants and Broadway shows within walking distance. Bike around Central Park hop on hop off bus stop
I wore jandals the carpet felt so filthy, the hotel was very tired and shabby, the hygiene regime needs serious review. The concierge was fabulous all other staff seemed bored and disinterested.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Good location. Overpriced for its condition.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Everything in this hotel is looks 20-30 years old. For the same price I can stay in Park lane hotel. Rooms are small. Conditioner works laud. I have been here 5 times, and no upgrades, no free internet. Even I am gold expedia member.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated and overpriced

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The hotel reception and bar were beautiful.
Cons: Staff attitudes, high prices compared to other hotels and a bit of room maintenance.
I was very disappointed with the quality of the hotel and the attitude of some of the staff, who appeared very arrogant and aloof at times. The reception and bar are beautiful, but the rooms were not up to scratch with sockets hanging out of the walls and the TV not working properly, etc. We paid for WiFi, however it did not work half the time, or we received a very poor signal at best. We were directed to the wrong room for breakfast and the staff were very unwelcoming and unhelpful. Furthermore, there is no mention of the fact that people under 21 are not allowed to attend the rofftop bar at night and my 20 year old daughter was refused entry despite being accompanied by me and my reassurances to the staff member that she would not be consuming any alcohol. Don't be fooled just because this hotel appears in the TV show "Gossip Girl" and looks fantastic in the photos, it is ridiculously overpriced and very disappointing. I will certainly not be recommending this hotel to any friends or family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, but bad bathroom.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Proximity to Central Park, Shopping and Restaurants.
Cons: The bathroom is too small and does not have adequate ventilation. There is no sink lip on which to put down a brush, make-up bag, etc. Slow elevator.
Location: The location is great. It is located in the Upper West Side across from Lincoln Center. The hotel is a short walk to Central Park.
The hotel is in a fabulous location, but the bathrooms and elevator need to be updated. The rest of the hotel is great. Comfortable bed in a small room. Great lobby and rooftop bar. Generally a hip location that would draw a young crowd. Also, the hotel is very convenient to Lincoln Center and the greater Upper West Side.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas, Tx

Good location, comfortable beds

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Overall good hotel , could use better room lighting. If you are over 35 stay away from the rooftop bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Cons: Needs to be updated.
I was very disappointed with the Empire. My room was small and in shabby condition. Great location but I still would not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night in NYC

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: should be more silent in the lobby since there is the top floor as a disco
Location: good location
Pleasant experience. We arrived late at midnight and stayed only for one night. We found the hotel convenient as location and also clean
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Stay away

Posted Aug 17, 2014
They provide ear plugs to try to muffle the excruciating hum from the air conditioner. Tiny room. Internet impossible to get on shower head broken and half clogged sprayer head. The worst I've experienced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsfield MA

Across from Lincoln Center

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: Location is great: Lincoln Center across the street. Central Park one block away. Broadway 15 blocks away. All walking distance.
The Empire Hotel was close to Lincoln Center and Central Park and greatly convenient. Hotel does not have restaurant or cafe so one had to go out for breakfast. In addition the charge for in room coffee or tea was $2.50. The Fiji water cost $7.50 (outrageous). Wi Fi was $13.95 per day. All in all the hotel did everything possible to get money out of you. So despite the convenience of location I would not likely stay in this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: location
room had mold in the bathroom (no exhaust fan) said free wifi but you had to go to the lobby or pay extra to get it in your room said free continental breakfast you had to got to the top of the building (climb stairs) and then the limited you to everything and charged you elevators sucked refrigerator was full of alcohol couldn't put anything in it and they charged you for the coffee in your room room was not clean