Ratings based on 1,721 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by louisa from M

Close to Central Park, subways etc

Posted Apr 14, 2014
A great place to stay - close to subway and lots of restaurants etc. The hotel was nice and clean, my only complaint is that the bathroom was quite dated but it was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excelsior hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, location
Cons: heating in the room - too hot even with heating turned off
Location: central park , natural history museum, metropolitan museum of art
lovely hotel in a great location - easy to walk to central park and two metro stations. very helpful and friendly staff. The only problem was that the room was very hot (on a cold day in April) even with the window open and the heating turned off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel in the city

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Nice hotel, quiet street. Close to Central Park, subway. We stayed for a weekend on college visits. Hotel staff friendly. Other guests friendly. Didn't try the restaurant, lots of other places around to try. Would stay again on the next trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M. from Miami, FL.

Very nice location adjacent to Central Park

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Wi-fi free in the rooms, minibar to keep cold drinks and baby food.
Location: Many good places along columbus ave. Additionally walk in Central Park is always nice.
Nice location, very calm and quiet one block to Central Park. Hotel lacks of minibar, free wifi on rooms and restrooms in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bernd from Switzerland

simple, expansive … but ok

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The personnel, the simplicity … 
Cons: … the simplicity is sometimes too simple: no fridges in the room, the tresor in a niche on the floor – hope you have a good back? … and: WLAN
Location: GREAT place to see the great museums around or take an walk (or run) through Central Park. Close to the Metro = everything's easy to reach.
I chose this hotel because it is very central and is with its 3.5 stars one of the best deals if you don't want a "shared bathroom" as it seems to be standard in New York / Manhattan nowadays for 3 stars. Strange … The air continioning = heating is loud, so you may want to turn if off at night not to wake up. There are no refrigeators in the rooms, which I also find strange, just a few bottles of (usually/typically) very expansiv water. The breakfast costs 17 $, which is ok if you follow your doctor and "eat breakfast like a king" ;-). Incredible is that they still charge extra for WLAN/Internet … when a room is already around 200$. The personnel is very friendly and helpful. – One strange thing (that also friends of mine realized): If you're wearing shoes in your room (with carpet) you get hefty electrical shocks when touching the door or something alike. Maybe they could use this to be the first energetically independent and self-sustaining hotel in Manhattan? ;-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Koxville TN

Class and Character, but No Wi-Fi

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Classy atmosphere, professional staff. Quiet, sedate neighborhood, and a good location.
Cons: Make Wi-Fi available in guest rooms.
Excelsior is located in a sedate, relaxing upper west side neighborhood, facing the park that surrounds the Museum of Natural History, and it's close to transportation linkages (crosstown and downtown buses, IRT subway). It's an older, art deco building, beautifully maintained, with lots of marble, brass and wood paneling. The room was good sized by NY standards, and was recently remodeled. Staff were polite, efficient and very professional without being overbearing, i.e., one does not have to endure repeated cheerful shouts of "Good morning, sir!" at 6 a.m. My only complaint: No Wi-Fi in the room, only in the business center, where I found the charges to be exorbitant. This puts Excelsior significantly behind most hotels, even inexpensive ones. Fixing this would be a real plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce

Good location, decent rooms

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Stayed here many times, but not for a few years. Great location across from the Museum/Planetarium, one block from part and 81st street subway station. Door between bedroom and sitting room is a nice feature. Downside - Interior is getting a bit dated, and some of the staff were less than friendly. Safe wasn't working (was fixed quickly) and two elevators are very slow. Also many rooms with great views, but I did not get one.
2 out of 5
by Lily from Washington DC

Great NYC location-but not very comfortable

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Location, mostly friendly staff, terrific doorman - would go to the ends of the earth to get you a cab, very clean, excellent Breakfast Bar
Cons: Heat and cooling: the building is ridiculously hot in some rooms, and in others, too cold. The heating implements in the room clatter clang and scrape
Location: Wonderful location. Jerry Seinfeld's TV neighborhood. Great restaurants and delis. Next to Central Park. Across from Museum of Natural History.
This was my second stay a the Excelsior Hotel on New York's Upper West Side. It is a wonderful neighborhood but the building is not up to the task of housing clients comfortably. My first room, with two twins, faced the Museum of Natural History. Excellent view. But the room was broiling. Keep in mind in was 20 degrees outside. I did open one of the 2 (unscreened) windows in the room. No relief. The second window did not open. When I told the front desk about the heat in the room, I was told that I could open the window (which, by the way, because I had, I woke up with a sore throat.) I was then moved to a very nice room where, however, the toilet kept running, and every time the heat switched on in this - now cold! - room, no extra blanket, there was a disturbing clattering and scraping. This went on all night, as it was bitterly cold outside, Also, I passed on a shower the next morning, as the water from both controls was cold. It's all too bad, really, because if this property did not have all of these glitches, it would be excellent. They have a breakfast offering that is very very nice in a lovely little wood-paneled room. The restaurant downstairs was okay, not great. Most of the staff was very very nice and the house-keeping staff clearly works very hard to keep the rooms clean. Still, over the course of two nights, with, first, the heat and then the clanging, I got maybe two hours of sleep, if that. As I was in NYC on business, I started each day at an energy deficit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent, clean, well-run in my opinion

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: The location.
The location is very good, across from the Museum of Natural History, in a pleasant neighborhood. The room was clean, the bathroom was new-ish and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diego

exellent

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Good location, comfort, good staff, beautiful hotel.