Ratings based on 2,388 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Quiet location but needs TLC

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: The location - good to get away from the centre & in a more residential area.
Cons: The hotel needs updating..obviously the work has begun...I pulled the blinds on our last morning to find a workman staring back!
Location: Close to Natural History Museum & Central Park
We stayed in December 2014 and arrived to see scaffolding up at the entrance. Size of room was ok, bathroom needed some attention, toilet seat was 'peeling' in places, and we had only 2 small hand towels ( they did send more when we complained). The windows were the original ones so quite draughty. The air con / heating worked sporadically. On the plus side, bed was comfy & the hotel location is in a quiet area close to Central Park & Natural History Museum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, Upper West Side

Nice hotel, Location

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: location, Subway end of the street, next to Central Park, local coffee shops/restaurants, pleasant area, very clean hotel, comfortable.
Cons: Coffee/Tea making facilities in room and approachable reception staff.
Location: Location is good, pleasant area, great coffee shops, restaurants, shops, subway at the end of the street. Also next to Central Park & History Museum
We stayed for 6 nights and loved the hotel, great location, Subway at the end of the street, next to Central Park, nice local coffee shops and restaurants, pleasant area, very clean hotel, nice lobby, clean room, comfortable, great view (could see upper manhattan and empie state from bedroom window). It was just the reception staff are a bit abrupt, not nasty just abrupt and not very approachable. Fortunately had little reason to ask them anything, but when we did felt like we were in the way. I would stay again no problem, just be prepared. The one other thing was the lack of any coffee/Tea making facilities in the room, which is unusual. There is a coffee machine in the lobby area, which actually made nice coffee and only $2, but bit of pain each morning having to go get it (everybody seemed to be doing the same and moaning, but nice way to meet people). You can get a kettle from reception, but have to sort the coffee etc yourself. Anyway apart from that (minor things I guess) we enjoyed our stay and would go again (mainly because of cleanliness and location).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Good hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Nice Size Room Workout facilities
Cons: The front desk staff.
This hotel is in an excellent location; 3/4 of a block from a subway stop, across the street from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. We could not have asked for a better location for our 5 day vacation in Manhattan. The room was nice and spacious for Manhattan; we had a sitting area and a bedroom, which I never expected. The room was worn but clean. The heat would sometimes stop working but eventually would come back on. The workout room is small, but the best equipped I have ever seen; TRX, foam rollers, kettle bells, etc. The biggest complaint I had about this hotel was the front desk staff. The front desk staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. They never smiled, never gave complete answers and were downright surly at times. Since just about every New Yorker we encountered were friendly, open and helpful and the hotel maids and doormen were professional and friendly; the front desk staff at the Excelsior stood out as the exception to an otherwise great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Ruhiges Hotel in noch zentraler Lage.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Größe des Zimmers, Ausstattung.
Cons: Keine Kritik
Location: Hotel in noch zentraler Lage (Upper West Side), gute Anbindung zur Subway, Lokale in direkter Umgebung, direkt am Museum of Nat. History, Central Park
Für New Yorker Verhältnisse großes Zimmer. Ruhige Lage. Weiterempfehlung zu 100%
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for our purposes.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
We chose the Excelsior because the reason for our trip was the Museum of Natural History. This hotel is directly across the street and half a block from Central Park. The lobby is beautiful, especially all decked out for Christmas. Our room was ready and they graciously let us check in early. The room was nice and immaculately clean. It was hot and stuffy though and you cannot control the heat (so we just cracked windows). There is a breakfast buffet on the second floor. We went to a little cafe around the corner instead, but the buffet looked good too. We just wanted local flavor. There is no coffee pot in the room but there's a Starbucks and a good coffee shop (World Coffee?) within a block. Not a problem for us, but maybe for others. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Five Days in the BIG APPLE

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Location. Not to big. Nice rooms. Family feel about it.
Hotel great for Central Park. Subways. Quiet area for New York. Would use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Great location, excellent facilities and bar. Had a great trip and would definately stay again and recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location by the park and subway

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Uncomfortable pillows and out of date bathroom with chipped bath but wonderful for everything else. Nice room decor, good size rooms, helpful and friendly staff, lovely views from the window, able to check in online and print boarding cards complimentary and 30m away from the park and subway which takes you straight downtown. Added a lovely experience to our holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice access to museum mile, Central Park, subway.

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Stayed here while attending conference at St Luke's hospital. Easy location. Staff was helpful. I do wish they had refrigerators in the room, but overall good experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

El hotel es bonito, habitaciones amplias, pero....

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: la amplitud de la habituación
Cons: el sistema de aire acondicionado y calefacción.
Location: está pegado al Museo de Historia Natural y Central Park, y relativamente cerca del centro Lincoln
el hotel está un poco anticuado, el sistema de calefacción (al menos en nuestra habitación) es insuficiente, los aparatos de aire acondicionado están obsoletos y aunque estén desenchufados entra aire frío de la calle por ellos!! Nuestra habitación al estar en la segunda planta tenia ruidos de un almacén que hay en el patio y del restaurante calle ocho. y para rematar la faena, el "botones" al meter mi maleta en el taxi la ha golpeado con la cerradura del maletero y la ha roto.....