Ratings based on 1,882 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

weekend in New York

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: location,comfortable
Location: near Natural History and Met art Museum and Central park
Stayed there before and love the location on the Upper West side and close to Central Park for my morning run Clean, helpful staff, very comfortable, wifi in the lobby free. good resturants close by on Amsterdam and Colombus Close to subway Will stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pompano Beach, FL

nice place: location, comfort, pleasant staff

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: room accommodations: fridge, coffeemaker needed
Location: Central park , Roosevelt park and Museum ; Natural history and Metropolitan Museums , small cafe's , Shake Shack (to eat in )
we arrived to the hotel mid-week, easy to find location, Manhattan, close to Museum of Natural History : it was not busy , check in staff was nice, accommodating , our bags went in to the room right away ,.. no trouble , no worries for us ... ; Room was nice, had a little "living room" sitting area with sofa, desk and coffee table, closet and then our bedroom was in the next room : had 2 chairs , small table, plenty of room for our 5 y/o to play around ; 2 TV's, on e in each room , enough room for clothes, other items, the only one thing I missed it was a fridge, there wasn't one in our room; Overall rooms were nice, clean , enough for family of 3; Bathroom was also clean , everything we needed was there (just need tooth brush and paste);; Hotel is close to Subway and Roosevelt park , also to Museum of Natural History and Metropolitan Museum , Central park west, Shake Shack , etc ..;; I loved everything about the Hotel itself and area around it .. will plan to go there again soon ....and price was also right , great place to stay whether its 1 night or 6
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Nice hotel with lots to do

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: It was very clean and well decorated. The staff was helpful and the price was fair.
Cons: Nothing
The Columbus Ave corridor is a great place to visit. Although we did spend time in lower Manhattan there was plenty to do walking distance from the Excelsior--great restaurants, a park, flee market and outdoor market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Fun location, great size (deluxe double )

Posted Aug 17, 2014
We had a great experience in a Dlx double- like a two room suite- very clean, windows open!, comfortable beds. Walking around area is so fun, Central Park right there, subway, perfect! A few small complaints - no down pillows; no coffee maker (but a great lobby vending machine for hot drinks) but over all very nice - and thanks to the doorman who found me a free street parking spot!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Location: Great location next to the history museum
Staffs are not very friendly. No room services provided. Limited food choices at the hotel restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Arab Emirates

Rooms were not as booked.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Cons: Hotel should improve on front desk customer service.
I have booked a room for 2 adults and 2 children for 3 days through Expedia, and what I have been given is a room that can barely fit two adults. So we had to struggle to fit in. The hotel looks like it has been refurbished and personally did not like my staying there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice location in NYC

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Just had a problem with hotel front customers service. ..White guy btw... who seems to be bother and not friendly/or customer service skilled and he works day shift
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland maine

This was the best hotel stay we have had in years.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
One of the few NYC hotels with space for 3 without an exorbitant price (suite with sofa bed) clean, great staff, parking voucher for 1/2 price at museum , will stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Quiet hotel in great location to subway.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Great location and quiet.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Across from Central Park, close to subway and lots of good restaurants.
We only had 4 days in New York, but saw lots! Hotel is nice and quiet and staff was very helpful. Right across from Central Park and good restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Good location

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Nice,good location,cozy, ecxellent I come back again . I like the hotel