Ratings based on 1,979 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing

Posted Nov 23, 2014
This hotel provides travelers with a very relaxing experience in an extremely busy city. Being located near Central Park and world class museums wasn't too bad either.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pretoria, South Africa

Wifi policy needs review

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Business centre overpriced and no free wifi in the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Nice hotel, conveniently located to Lincoln Center

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Good restaurant just off the lobby serving fusion Latin cuisine.
Cons: Breakfast menu is overpriced. OK for people who like a big breakfast buffet. For those who don't, there's a Starbucks just around the corner.
Location: Museum of Natural History Metropolitan Museum of Art - Short walk across Central Park. Lincoln Center - 20 blocks to the south
The Excelsior is our favorite New York hotel. It's a good value for the money. Terrific nearby shops and restaurants. Convenient to two bus lines. The subway is only a block away. It's also only a block from Central Park. The hotel caters to a European clientele and is away from the hustle and bustle of Broadway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

My third great stay at the excelsior

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Excellent location, amazing and helpful and friendly staff. I wouldn't hesitate to return for another stay. Rooms are dated but spacious and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ny

nice

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: nice room comfy bed
Cons: no
Location: nice location but just a bit to far out
nice hotel but i though it was just a bit to far out but it is next to the subway if you prefer that .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco Ca

I definitely will stay at this hotel again.

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Everything, I have nothing to complain about.
Cons: An special access to the roof because 16th floor had an awesome view to downtown but not all the guest can stay at 16th floor, would be great.
Location: A lot of bars, restaurants, small markets, Central Park, subway station, good very good location.
1. The subway station it's pretty close and for close I meant 3 minutes walking just in the corner. 2. A lot of bars close to the hotel 3. Very safe zone 4. Small markets very close just cross the street 5. Central Park at just 5 minutes walking 6. Awesome view to Downtown 7. The staff was awesome 8. My room was very very clean, comfortable, 9. The room includes safe-deposit box For my next time in New York City I definitely will stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to the park and museum.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Clean and comfortable room. Opted for the room with a all living room attached...both were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mississippi

Convenient location

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Across street from Natural Museum of History. Convenient to lots of nice restaurants in the Upper West Side. Half block from subway. Quiet neighborhood compared toost other areas of Manhattan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leicestershire, UK

Very handy location, close to Subway and C Park

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Free wireless. Tea and coffee making facilities in rooms, plus daily complimentary bottled water.
Location: Natural history museum, Metropolitan museum of art, Guggenheim museum, Central Park, 2 subway lines, the best cinema seats ever at 84th and Broadway!
If you want a cutting edge, contemporary high class hotel, this isn't the place to stay. However, if you want somewhere reasonably modern, clean and comfortable in a pleasant location within easy reach of subways and buses that can get you to the main tourist attractions in 15-20 mins, then consider the Excelsior. Very handy for Central Park and a number of museums, as well as numerous restaurants on Columbus, Amsterdam and Broadway - all within easy walking distance. The breakfast isn't gourmet, but is convenient. The attached restaurant was very good and worth a visit. It is a shame you have to pay for wifi, but we paid for a 7 day package which worked out more reasonable than the daily rate - we were on the 10th floor and had no problems with signal strength. The bathrooms are dated, but clean and functional. We had a spacious double room, with a separate sitting room - it felt very roomy. We didn't have a room with a view, but it was quiet with no road noise. We would stay there again if in New York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Lovely location.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Tea & coffee facilities in the room.
Location: Central park is a 1min walk. The supermarket is good & starbucks is almost next door!
I have just returned from this hotel & I would defiantly return. The walk to the city centre is quite a way however the time difference gets you up & out for an early start. The rooms are comfortable however the rooms facing the park can be noisy due to the traffic etc. There are many nice restaurants to the right of the hotel & the main bar seems to be busy at the weekends.