Ratings based on 2,452 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

Could have been really good.............

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Location, price, room size, cleanliness, proximity of subway
Cons: Heating of room.
Location: Near 2 museums and Central Park, together with good crosssection of local shops, restaurants, delis, fast food outlets. Subway or walk for the rest.
A week in NY when they had virtually constant record low temperatures! Unfortunately, therefore, the fact that the air conditioning/heating in our room was totally unreliable was a major issue. I imagine it works well at keeping room cool in the Summer but when it is blowing out an icy blast at 4AM and the outside temperature is -15C didn't always give a happy start to a day. Apart from this though really couldn't fault it other than take your own travel kettle as we did. Not overpriced, good-size, clean room and bathroom that was well serviced by staff, and 4 minutes walk to subway. Free, small gym which was underused and generally empty. Free WiFi in lobby and on second floor but not in rooms. Staff were functional but not enthusiastic but certainly didn't experience any of the negativity expressed by others. Location is where it is; i.e. not central but quieter; therefore no disturbances by outside sound at night other by the ridiculous air conditioning unit. Being there for a week we had bought a week's subway pass and whilst had gone from JFK to hotel by Yellow Cab used the subway to return; which was covered by subway ticket other than right at the end when you need $5 pp for the air train; fairly easy to do only one change at 59th street but allow plenty of time. Didn't try hotel food or restaurant; although it looked fine seemed over priced and plenty of local alternatives.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

ニューヨーク観光

Posted Feb 24, 2015
ニューヨーク観光で主に博物館や美術館を回りたかったのでこのホテルを選びました。家族4人で宿泊したので、ツインの部屋では少し手狭でしたが、スタッフの方はとても親切で、空港までのタクシーを手配してくれたりいろんな相談に乗って頂いて大満足です。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Queens, NY

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Bigger rooms. Better bathroom heating.
From queens, but the guy I am seeing is from Jersey so figured to stay the night in the city on the night of a party we were attending. Found this place since it was just 3 blocks from the bar we would be at. Great location - ended up burning a huge hole in my shirt while ironing and was able to just walk to a store less than a block away to find something suitable and inexpensive. The room was clean - a tad small - but for NYC standards it was a decent size. Bathroom was incredibly cold oddly. The room's heat was like a sauna so we kept it very low and it was good. Did have a hotel staff member knock on our door at about 7am which I thought was incredibly early for housekeeping when check out is at 12pm. Lots of good restaurants nearby - we ate at a Thai place that was amazing - and a starbucks right on Columbus which was also handy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great old hotel close to the park

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: close to the Park
Cons: The breakfast was just OK.... could use a few more items for the price
The A/C heating unit was a mess... Our unit would not heat and we were there during the very cold week in Feb. and when my daughter's room would not heat , they made her move with all her stuff in the middle of the night... After fixing our unit, it would heat but only after blowing cold air for 2-3 minutes before-hand...Have always loved the Excelsior but the rooms desperately need up-grading.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Nice hotel, close to Central Park

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Hotel was a good price, and so we booked . One minute walk to subway , natural history museum and park. Nice breakfast place one block away - Lalo - it's opposite children's museum. Don't bother with hotel breakfast - it's not worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Japan

交通至便、落ち着いた街並みの中のホテル

Posted Feb 12, 2015
快適でした。複数ラインのバス停や地下鉄が近く、極寒のNYで助かりました。 受付も的確に質問に答えアドバイスをくれたし、WiFiはロビーで無料、ソファーでくつろぎながらゆったりできました。 ここのレビューをみていて、ポットがないのがわかっていたので湯沸かしポットを持っていき温かい飲み物も部屋で頂きました。冬場に行く方には持参をおすすめします。パック珈琲やお茶も持っていくとよいですね。部屋に置いてあるミネラルウォーターは3.5ドルとお高め。Bwayを少し下ったところにお安いスーパーのFairwayがあるのでそこで買ってました(笑) 古いですが部屋は綺麗、バスタブもあり、NYのホテルとしては本当にコストパフォーマンスが高いと思いました。 また泊まりたいです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel Excelsior

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: The hotel is beautifully appointed.
Cons: A more friendly attitude among some of the staff would help.
Location: The location is perfect, not noisy, not crowded yet near the subway and bus lines.
We had a positive overall experience while staying at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location very close to Central Park, Subway

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Room size Bathroom
Cons: Staff at front reception uncooperative but just avoid them.
Location: Great variety of restaurants and bars in close proximity
Room very comfortable. Great bar and restaurant on site.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Good location by Central Park

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Place was good with great staff and good service . Hotel is very good kept with a lot of privacy .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Great hotel in the Upper West Side.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: I arrived 7 hours prior to check in and the hotel was able to accommodate me immediately. Great location.
Cons: Plumming - it needs to be updated.
Location: Natural History Museum, Central Park, subways.
The location of this hotel is perfect for sight seeing and relaxing. Close by subways, museums, and Central Park. The hotel also has a wonderful restaurant - Calle Ocho. Fantastic food! This is my third visit to NYC and I have stayed at this hotel all three times. I will stay here again.