Ratings based on 2,501 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Great location for the Upper West Side. Convenient to Central Park and ammenities of the Upper West Side.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom T

So disappointed

Posted Apr 20, 2015
First, I request a queen size bed and they gave me full size, do when I called the front desk they trying to tell that s a queen size. Also I couldn't sleep all night because they been working on the room next door ( all night long ). For the amount that I paid for 2 nights in this hotel they should refund me back because I did not rest at all. No happy at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Ok but rooms are a bit dated. Old windows let all the noise in from the street. Plumbing had some problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edinburgh

Family visit to New York from Scotland

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Location. Helpful and pleasant staff.
Cons: the Air conditioning
Location: The natural history museum Central Park and its convenience to Time Square etc. The Metropolitan Museum of art is one of the best visits.
We stayed on the 14th floor and had a good sized mini suite. It is an excellent hotel close . to Central park and within walking distance to a lot of interesting places and very good eateries. My only complaint was the air conditioning was very noisy and since we had a 10month baby we needed it to cool the room all the time. Staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Would stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

STAFF VAN T EXCELSIOR HOTEL W 81ST STREET

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Candice [zie boven] en ligging.
Cons: ATTITUDE OF FRONTDESK STAFF IS UNFRIENDLY [EXCEPT FOR CANDICE].
Conciërge staf allen vriendelijk en opmerkzaam. Kamer meisjes zeer vriendelijk en goed. Balie staf: kan geen lach van af, behalve Candice en zij is een topper. De anderen ALLEMAAL zeg je goedendag en nooit een vriendelijke reactie. Een reden om er niet meer naar toe te gaan [al maakt Candice veel goed].
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hingham, MA

Good old-school value

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: The location less than a block from the subway and Central Park, on a crosstown bus line, and across the street from the Museum of Natural History.
Cons: In the morning the hot water was tepid; the elevators are on the small and slow side; and the breakfast-room hostess could use some PR coaching
Location: See what we liked, above.
The Excelsior is a nicely refurbished hotel dating, I'd guess, from the 1930s. The lobby is comfortable and finished in warm, dark wood. The brass elevator doors are decoratively chased. The staff are efficient and generally friendly. Our room was a small suite with a sofa that could have provided an extra bed and a sparkling bathroom that could have been finished a lot more cheaply than it was, including charming floral tiling. We were comfortable and contented.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Catskills, New York

Convenient to the Museum of Natural history

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The convenience.
Cons: A coffe pot in the room.
Location: So close to Central Park and the museums and great restaurants!!!!
They were great. Upgraded our room from two doubles to two queens. The room was clean and only a few buildings down from the 81st entrance of the Museum of Natural history. There are a bunch of restaurants on Columbus and Amsterdam ave. They have a buffet in the morning I think it was $17 a person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2015
great location, friendly "new yorker " attitude staff, fantastic room if larger than standard queen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicely appointed room; convenient to subway.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Location. Affordability
Took my son to New York for spring break. Cold in mid-March but we had a great time. Very nice hotel in a convenient location in upper west side. Short walk to museums, shopping, restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Tx

Great Location!

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Location!
Cons: Coffee Pots are needed for the rooms. A small refrigerator and microwave would be nice, but a Coffee Pot is a must!
Location: Central Park steps away along with quaint restaurants and shops...love this area!!
This was my second time to stay at The Excelsior and we LOVE the location and will stay there again!! Hotel was clean, staff was very nice! A few things are needed....more than anything, a Coffee Pot!!! It was disappointing that my mom couldn't make her first cup of coffee in the morning. A small refrigerator and/or microwave would have been nice so we could have at least made our own coffee.