Ratings based on 359 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Nice enough hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2015
I needed a room to stay in with my new dog when driving her home from South Carolina, and the Extended Stay America in Elizabeth was one of the few hotels I found that would accept a dog. We only stayed for a short overnight, but the staff was friendly and efficient and the room was everything we needed. Nothing fancy but clean enough and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great hotel, not so great location

Posted Apr 17, 2015
I chose this hotel because due to dietary requirements I needed a hotel with a kitchenette so I could prepare my own meals. Unfortunately there's no where close buy tobactuslly buy food. There's a IHOP and a ruby Tuesdays directly opposite the hotel and a plethora of fast foot outlets in the mall also opposite the hotel but no nearby grocery store or supermarket. If like me your not driving then you may find it challenging. Apart from that aspect I was very pleased with the hotel overall and would definetly use the chain again (though a different location). The staff were friendly and helpful. The free shuttle bus too and from the airport was also very useful. The room is cleaned once throughout your stay ( I stayed a week) and towels replaced etc. after reading other people's reviews I was apprehensive about booking but I would definitely recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

SMOKEY...Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Breakfast Smoke Free replace missing buttons on the elevator power wash the sidewalks to the entrance ( dirty) fix the parking lot card access
Location: Ihop-did not visit Ruby Tuesday - 45min wait for a burger to go, really!!
Friday, April 10th, 2015 after a long day and drive I arrived at Extended Stay in Newark,NJ. The hotel or should I say smokey-tel is just that! This hotel has probably seen better days. The hallways smell like smoke and stale food. 3.5 it is NOT! The staff was friendly enough. However you get the feeling your checking into NJ State prison when asked for your credit card just incase anything is STOLEN!! what a welcoming message. Dishes, pots, utensils,etc are upon request due to previous guest stealling them. The furniture is the room is suitable for a childs room. The bed was somewhat comfortable surprise! Breakfast - I would not say a small muffin in plastic wrap and cup of coffee is FREE breakfast, really! This hotel is a 2 at the most. NOT worth it. Disappointed traveler...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cary, NC

Not like the pictures

Posted Mar 30, 2015
I was upset that these wasn't a separate lounging area. There was a small privacy wall in the picture, but when we got to the room it wasn't. You have to request for the kitchen items.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stefanfrom Sollentuna

Basic, funkar för en natt

Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
Basic hotell, men förhållandevis dyrt för vad man fick för pengarna. Läget bra, mittemot Jersey Gardens shoppingcenter. Minus för att den gratis transfer-bussen till Newark inte började gå förrän kl 7 på morgonen - funkar inte om man har en morgonflight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Myers, FL

Nice Hotel close to shopping and mayor highways

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: the kitchen and full size refrigerator
Cons: breakfast more time more coffee
Location: shopping and eat
Vacation from florida nice studio apt with full kitchen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marcos

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Clean, friendly, easy access to all amenities

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: The proximity suited us
Cons: Increasing cleaning to at least 3 times a week with no additional charge
Location: Shopping, Jersey Gardens Outlet Mall,bus route 30 minutes from New York, close to all main routes out,
Wanted a hotel within easy reach of all amenities, airport, shopping, restaurants, access to New York and main routes to visit other areas. It met all my expectations, rooms were clean and tidy, cleaners only cleaned twice a week, you could increase this for a further fee Basic continental breakfast provided, coffee, porridge, muffins, if nit sufficient IHOP across the road Staff were always friendly and very helpful Transport to and from the hotel was available, please remember to take the free phone number with you, they only go to the airport if called, I was not aware of this, needed up paying for a taxi You basically get what you pay for, overall very happy with hotel and service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to mall.

Posted Dec 25, 2014
The stay was nice, staff was nice but I didn't like the smell of other people cooking their meals.