Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Excellent choice around La Guardia airport

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Close to La Guardia airport, excellent room, personnel was great ; but wifi was weak and breakfast isn't a real option
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you had a great stay with us. I was pleased to know that the area was convenient for you and that you enjoyed your room. Still, I truly apologize you were not satisfied with our grab-and-go breakfast or our free Wi-Fi. Your comments on these issues will be useful to us as we continually work to improve our hotel. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom P.R.

VERY GOOD

Posted Nov 23, 2014
IM WAS STAYING THERE 2 NIGHTS AND ALL WAS awesome definitely I come back , thanx
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I'm so pleased to hear that you an awesome stay with us. It is so great to read that you will definitely stay with us again. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Nice hotel. Close to major highways. Don't know why there is a $10 parking fee though. Room needs more lighting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that the location work for your needs. Still, I am sorry that our parking fee was an inconvenience for you, and that you felt your room needed more lighting. Your feedback on this issue will be useful to us as we continually work to improve our hotel. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Marc

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mattfrom DC

It Got the Job Done

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
For what we needed it worked and I'm not unhappy with it. The staff was friendly and breakfast bars and coffee were appreciated in the morning for our road trip back to DC. I will say the room could have been cleaner, as I found a piece of hair and a small puddle of water (like a glass had been sitting there and created condensation) on the the side table. That didn't make me feel awesome about the room, but all in all I'd stay again if I had to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Matt - Thank you for telling us about your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our friendly staff and grab-and-go breakfast; however, we are disappointed that your side table was not cleaned properly. We will review your comments with our housekeeping staff and make sure that all areas of our rooms are being cleaned to the same standard. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again in the future.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DAfrom IN

Too much for so little

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I realize this is NYC but wow. Not clean. No towels. Never going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ljfrom Ca

Basic

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, functional room. No frills but comfortable. $11.00 charge for parking in the lot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I'm a bit annoyed that they charge for parking. They couldn't spread out that cost over the entire cost for a room?
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We are glad that you had a clean and comfortable stay; however, we are sorry that you had an issue with the parking charges. We apologize that you were not informed of this during the reservation process. We will coach our staff to make sure we are fully informing our guests of our policies. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Jul 7, 2014
We would like the rooms to be clean Dailey fresh towels maybe a little more breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Yvonne - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations and that our grab-and-go breakfast did not leave you satisfied. We offer coffee, muffins, granola bars, oatmeal, and fresh fruit for our guests that do not have the time to prepare a meal in their fully equipped kitchens. We will be reviewing your feedback with our housekeeping staff to ensure that our rooms are cleaned and stocked to our standards. Thank you again for your feedback, it will help us to continue to grow. We hope to provide you with a better experience the next time you are in the area.