Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Blew away my expectations.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Were able to give me a refund when my flights were delayed by a day. Great room with city view of Empire State Building!!! Clean, comfortable. Free wi-fi (the fast kind!!). Breakfast included and not cheap coffee and old Danishes - starbucks brew, eggs, sausage, bagels, cereal, toast, etc. Super friendly staff!! Awesome!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom NW Arkansas

Quiet hotel in Manhattan.

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Bed and quiet room
Cons: cleanliness and at least offer glass drinkware and ceramic mugs for the coffee
Location: Very close to 5th avenue and good shopping
The bed was very comfortable, and the room is very quiet for Manhattan, and I was only on the 4th floor. For that reason alone, the hotel is worth staying at. The one draw back is the room is very small, and the amenities are very "no frills". Hotel staff was a pleasure to deal with. Overall, this is a good hotel to stay at. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the hotel for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Coast

Nice hotel, very clean and modern

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: It is a SUPER location to get lots of Christmas shopping done. I think the money we saved paid for the cost of the room and then some!
Cons: They forgot to dust under the TV, which we had to move to get to the outlet. Oops! No biggie.
Location: Great location, worth the price of the room. Tons of shopping, great bargains as well as swank shops nearby.
We booked a standard room, king bed, paid extra for a view of the city. Our 9th floor room did have a good view of the Empire State Building... and the charming flats across the street, the water towers and oddities of NYC's roofs. ;-) The one-way street is narrow. On arrival at 3:00, it was one lane barely moving, no valet parking because all spaces were full. Well, it's NYC traffic! If you drive, plan to park yourself in the garages on the next block if you arrive during peak hours. The room was super clean and smelled fine, no perfume or weird odors. Linens were clean and in good order, everything worked, small room but that's routine in all the world's big cities. Tiny very clean and modern bathroom with awkward door, big shower. No bugs in room, no spiders, no fleas, not bit by anything at all, YAY! Staff was very kind, courteous, and helpful. When I discovered I'd left my comb at home, they brought us one as soon as I'd called the front desk. There was NO delay -- they were shockingly speedy at 7pm on a Saturday, allowing us to be on time to our dinner reservation. If you eat nearby, try Niles on 7th. (see Yelp reviews) Interesting neighborhood. In December, the flower shops around the hotel sell mostly greenery. Macy's is walking distance. Or, walk east on 28th to find lots of odd little retail/wholesale shops for trinkets to bring home. I paid a pittance for sacks of fancy rhinestone jewels for the girls, hats and pullovers for the boys.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Just what we wanted in Chelsea

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness, breakfast.
Cons: Bathroom door, clarification of parking rate.
Location: Walk to Penn Station. Easy access to several subway lines and bus lines. Walk to everything in Chelsea and Greenwich Village.
Very clean, nicely decorated, comfortable although small room (typical for New York). Great location -- walk to Penn Station, one block to #1 subway line, 2 blocks to other subway lines. We had a view of the Empire State Bldg. which was lit in holiday colors at night. I will try to upload a photo here. Hot breakfast served in attractive breakfast room. Very friendly staff. Negatives: 1. We were quoted $30 per 24 hours for parking at the garage a block away, but when we claimed our car, the garage said the rate was $35 even with the hotel's stamp on our receipt. We called the hotel and they talked the garage into reducing the rate to $30. Hotel and garage need to be on the same page. 2. The huge bathroom door makes it very difficult to find a place to stand in the bathroom while opening and closing the door. The hotel needs to replace these huge doors with sliding ("pocket") doors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tel Aviv

We had a great stay

Posted Dec 1, 2014
The hotel is great located, near the 5th avenue and union square. the staff is very nice. Especially A recapionist name Brittany, she is super helpful and always with a smile. The breakfast is good- begals and eggs. Overalls, we will come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Clean, modern, comfortable

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Hotel was excellent value and was comfortable and clean. In a good area, felt safe and pretty quiet at night. Close to subways and walkable to most attractions. Good views of the Empire State building from the roof terrace. Large comfortable bed, good shower, rooms were quite small with not much storage but bigger than i expected in a city like NY. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful; offering city maps and organising Taxis etc. Good bonus was free breakfast; eggs, sausage, bagels, muffins etc. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is busy and noisy

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff
Cons: Window should insulation
Location: Shopping in garment district
I know we are in Manhattan and don't expect quiet neighborhood, but the hotel is located on a street where all the flower vendors are located. There was also construction going on across the street causing traffic jam pretty much all day. Even though we are located on the 15th floor, we can still hear the traffic and garbage trucks during the early morning hours. The hotel staff, however, was very friendly and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Damascus, MD

Wonderful Weekend Experience!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff, good breakfast, private bathroom, affordable.
Cons: Nothing I can think of honestly. It was the best hotel I've stayed in downtown NYC so far.
Location: Times Square, Union Square, Madison Square Garden, Broadway.
My friend and I stayed here for a weekend to go the Anthony Kiedis (pause for heart explosion) book signing at Barnes & Noble Union Square. We arrived from DC by bus and were dropped near Madison Square Garden. The hotel was a 10 minute walk. Upon arrival, we were greeted in a friendly manner. We went up to our room and were surprised at how clean, modern and spacious it was. The shower in the bathroom was really nice, and the water can get very hot. After noticing a floor button labeled PH, I joked with a staff member in the elevator asking which celebrity was staying in the penthouse. He told me it was a rooftop lounge and was open to all guests. It was worth checking out for the view (empire state building is right there), and it would be cute to go if it wasn't so freezing, and sit around with friends and enjoy a few drinks. Staff was very friendly when we requested wake up calls, which were made at the requested times. The book store was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel, and the one time we opted for a cab it was $7 for 2 people, and only a couple of minutes. Times Square was about a 20-25 minute walk from the hotel, and had we used a cab, would have cost a bit more I'm sure, because of the time we would have sat in traffic. Breakfast at the hotel was more than we expected: bagels, cereal, eggs, OJ, starbucks coffee, muffins, fruit. But they will come lock every thing up the minute they say it ends. They let us extend the noon checkout to 1pm, which was appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great hotel in the heart of NYC

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: The staff were excellent, the facilities were great, room was comfortable.
Cons: The en-suite bathroom was snug, but that's probably the only thing I can think of. And it certainly wasn't a problem.
Location: Excellent location. Easy to walk to places like Times Square (15 mins), Grand Central, the NY Public Library and so forth. Subway very close.
We had a week in the hotel, in October 2014, and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel was clean, smart and well maintained. The staff were excellent - friendly, polite, helpful and always happy to chat if we had a question or just wanted a bit of advice. We had a comfortable, spacious room and a great bed. Breakfast was included in the price, and there was a great choice of cereals, toast, bagels, egg, sausage, juice, tea, coffee etc. The hotel were also ok if we wanted to pick up food in the evening and bring it back. We paid extra for a city view, and to our mind, it was definitely worth it, as to be able to see the Empire State Building from our room was quite something. Also, having a subway station at the end of the street was very useful. A point to note : the hotel is located in the Flower district. Directly opposite, and alongside the hotel, are a number of floral wholesalers, and their business starts up at about 4.30am. With the windows closed, the noise wasn't bad - you probably wouldn't notice it if you were on a higher floor, and for us, on the 4th floor, it was barely noticeable. As it was, that was one of the things that made the holiday for us - we made a point of getting up early most mornings to watch the whole scene unfold in the street below, and we got to recognise the characters that turned up every morning. Would we stay there again? Absolutely. Probably the best all-round hotel I've ever stayed in. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Nice room, attentive staff, great breakfast