Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Clean, modern, comfortable

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Hotel was excellent value and was comfortable and clean. In a good area, felt safe and pretty quiet at night. Close to subways and walkable to most attractions. Good views of the Empire State building from the roof terrace. Large comfortable bed, good shower, rooms were quite small with not much storage but bigger than i expected in a city like NY. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful; offering city maps and organising Taxis etc. Good bonus was free breakfast; eggs, sausage, bagels, muffins etc. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is busy and noisy

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff
Cons: Window should insulation
Location: Shopping in garment district
I know we are in Manhattan and don't expect quiet neighborhood, but the hotel is located on a street where all the flower vendors are located. There was also construction going on across the street causing traffic jam pretty much all day. Even though we are located on the 15th floor, we can still hear the traffic and garbage trucks during the early morning hours. The hotel staff, however, was very friendly and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Damascus, MD

Wonderful Weekend Experience!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff, good breakfast, private bathroom, affordable.
Cons: Nothing I can think of honestly. It was the best hotel I've stayed in downtown NYC so far.
Location: Times Square, Union Square, Madison Square Garden, Broadway.
My friend and I stayed here for a weekend to go the Anthony Kiedis (pause for heart explosion) book signing at Barnes & Noble Union Square. We arrived from DC by bus and were dropped near Madison Square Garden. The hotel was a 10 minute walk. Upon arrival, we were greeted in a friendly manner. We went up to our room and were surprised at how clean, modern and spacious it was. The shower in the bathroom was really nice, and the water can get very hot. After noticing a floor button labeled PH, I joked with a staff member in the elevator asking which celebrity was staying in the penthouse. He told me it was a rooftop lounge and was open to all guests. It was worth checking out for the view (empire state building is right there), and it would be cute to go if it wasn't so freezing, and sit around with friends and enjoy a few drinks. Staff was very friendly when we requested wake up calls, which were made at the requested times. The book store was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel, and the one time we opted for a cab it was $7 for 2 people, and only a couple of minutes. Times Square was about a 20-25 minute walk from the hotel, and had we used a cab, would have cost a bit more I'm sure, because of the time we would have sat in traffic. Breakfast at the hotel was more than we expected: bagels, cereal, eggs, OJ, starbucks coffee, muffins, fruit. But they will come lock every thing up the minute they say it ends. They let us extend the noon checkout to 1pm, which was appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great hotel in the heart of NYC

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: The staff were excellent, the facilities were great, room was comfortable.
Cons: The en-suite bathroom was snug, but that's probably the only thing I can think of. And it certainly wasn't a problem.
Location: Excellent location. Easy to walk to places like Times Square (15 mins), Grand Central, the NY Public Library and so forth. Subway very close.
We had a week in the hotel, in October 2014, and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel was clean, smart and well maintained. The staff were excellent - friendly, polite, helpful and always happy to chat if we had a question or just wanted a bit of advice. We had a comfortable, spacious room and a great bed. Breakfast was included in the price, and there was a great choice of cereals, toast, bagels, egg, sausage, juice, tea, coffee etc. The hotel were also ok if we wanted to pick up food in the evening and bring it back. We paid extra for a city view, and to our mind, it was definitely worth it, as to be able to see the Empire State Building from our room was quite something. Also, having a subway station at the end of the street was very useful. A point to note : the hotel is located in the Flower district. Directly opposite, and alongside the hotel, are a number of floral wholesalers, and their business starts up at about 4.30am. With the windows closed, the noise wasn't bad - you probably wouldn't notice it if you were on a higher floor, and for us, on the 4th floor, it was barely noticeable. As it was, that was one of the things that made the holiday for us - we made a point of getting up early most mornings to watch the whole scene unfold in the street below, and we got to recognise the characters that turned up every morning. Would we stay there again? Absolutely. Probably the best all-round hotel I've ever stayed in. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Nice room, attentive staff, great breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, Quiet at night

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Location: Centrally located far enough from craziness of Times Square. Easy access to subway for museums uptown and downtown destinations as well.
Great view of the Empire State Building. Rooftop area was a nice bonus. Within walking distance of major subway routes leading all over town. Felt safe walking in this neighbourhood day and evening. The staff was very friendly and answered all of my questions about transportation. Breakfast was complete, although the fruit was not so fresh and would have been nice to non-dairy alternatives for milk for cereal. Also, there was no on-site dining options or bar. The room was comfortable and the cleaning staff did a great job. Was able to open the window for fresh air (15th floor) which is important for me. (Did not have to rely on piped-in hotel air.) Overall, a good place to stay for a decent price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bogota, Colombia

Very well located

Posted Oct 19, 2014
The hotel is very well located. Close to subway stations, time square, shops and restaurants. A little bit expensive, but is NY. The breaksfast is complete.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom elmer NJ

Excellent staff. Very helpful warm courteous.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Cons: Breakfast was good more fruit and fresh items would be nice
Location: Walking distance of train station
Hotel is very clean comfortable. But what made this stay so positive is the exceptional staff. Very eager to make your stay a pleasant exsperience
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Centrally located

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very convenient to subway, Penn Station, Empire State Building. Clean except for some mildew in the shower. Coffee bar was continually running out, but never was too long before being filled up again. Florists and garden shops abound on this street - the smell of orchids and citrus trees was amazing! Our room was on the front of the building; could look out the window and see the Empire State Building lit up at night.