Ratings based on 958 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia/DC

Nice hotel/comfortable beds/good restaurant/patio

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Jennifer Hooker, Accounts Coordinator, was first hotel contact and was most responsive. She offered a personal touch. Thank you, Jennifer.
Cons: Room reserved had slow drain after a shower. Beds were very comfortable.
Location: Rockefeller Center, Saint Patrick's Cathedral, Chrysler Bldg., MoMa, Skyline Tours Orange Bus stop #14. Enjoy the hotel's restaurant.
The bell man, Gabriel, was lovely. Friendly restaurant staff. Front desk were accommodating. After getting into the hotel late, wanted to sleep in the next day...was awaken by cleaning staff at nine a.m. Couldn't get back to sleep! Put a sign on the door! Hotel was close to the Skyline Tour bus stop (orange bus) stop #14...nice! Also, couple of blocks to Grand Central and one short shuttle ride to Times Square! We enjoyed the Fitzpatrick. On this trip, I was traveling with 11 year old niece and hotel was fine for this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

First Choice for first visit

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Beautiful, clean hotel. Top class service from all staff members who were all super friendly and helpful. Great location, walking distance from central station and times square. Food was excellent although drinks in the bar were a bit expensive usually around $30 for 4 drinks. But it is New York! This hotel would be my first Choice for any future visits to the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great location for business and comfortable.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Hotel is located ideally for meetings in midtown. Comfortable and staff is very friendless and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Check-in was unwelcoming, but check out experience was great. Room was smaller than expected, but it's NYC. Front desk called, we asked for extra towels. They never showed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great Location

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Great location and staff. The bed was extremely comfortable.
Cons: I felt that the room itself was kind of small for the cost, but I guess you are paying for the location.
Location: Grand Central is nearly directly across the street and is within walking distance of Times Square, Empire State Building, etc.
I was visiting New York and it was my first time getting a hotel myself, since I had just turned 21. I didn't know that they hold an extra $50 per night for damages so I actually didn't have enough to cover the cost. However, the staff worked with me and only held the amount for the room which I had enough to cover. However, because they swiped my card so much it was declined as a case of fraud. So as I was waiting on my bank to get back with me, they did allow me to go to my room instead of sitting in the lobby. This made the experience a lot less embarrassing because I didn't know that this would happen. Overall, everything worked out and it was a fun vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NYC trip

Posted Jul 2, 2014
The Fitzpatrick was a great property. very well situated in the city for our purposes. The Hotel was very clean and the staff was very pleasant. The room was a little small for my taste, but not atypical of older NYC properties. What it lacked in size it well made up for in bed comfort. The bathroom was a good size with the only complaint being the substandard shower head (I always look forward to the rooms with great showers). All in all my girlfriend and I enjoyed the property. my only regret was not trying the pub downstairs. PS- a huge THANK YOU to the wonderful housekeeper that helped my sick girlfriend while i was out on business. she was extremely kind and helpful and we appreciate that more than you know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Our room was quiet, the bed comfortable and the service at the front desk was efficient. The location made getting back and forth to Grand Central a snap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely warm welcome from awesome staff

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Staff, comfort, cleanliness, decor, location, reasonable cost for midtown NYC.
Cons: Carpets had some stains but patterns made it unobtrusive and did not detract from our stay given overall cleanliness. No complaints. Will stay again
Location: Great for subway with easy access to Times Square/Museum Mile and points south-back entrance to Grand Central block away. Cabs generally easy to get.
Service was top notch--warm, unobtrusive but always helpful. Were able to check in on our arrival even though over 2 hours before official time. We were given good advice on our room options and able to choose what best suited us (there is a back bar that can be loudish til moderately late on weekends--a problem for early morning business meetings but not for our late nights out and weekend stay. We could hear it a bit in the bathroom in room 519 but were not bothered and I understand 44th Street is quiet so a front room is best if you need an early night on a weekday. Bellman went to extremes to get us a taxi (cabs were looking for Friday evening fares to airport and wouldn't stop) to Lincoln Center for pre-ballet dinner. Our bags were safely stored post-checkout on our final day and the lobby bathroom was convenient for a change to travel clothes. Not ostentatiously grand just lovely and in excellent taste. Cozy lobby was quietly gracious with reading room to one side. Room was remarkably quiet for NYC with plenty of space, comfortable bed, traditional upscale decor, plenty of space, safe, iron/full size ironing board, coffee/teamaker and supplies. Bath was not cramped, clean, attractive and in good condition. Maid service was excellent--everything clean. Everything worked. Sufficient outlets. Lots of mirrors for getting dressed. Usual noise from the a/c but nothing disturbing to sleep. Hope to return and the Fitzpatrick Grand Central will be our first choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from upstate NY

Great Boutique Hotel Away from the Frenzy!

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location! If you are taking the train in, Grand Central Station is an immediate neighbor!
We have often stayed at the Fitzpatrick Grand central...and have loved it every time! The rooms are very clean, comfortable, beautiful marble and glass bathrooms/showers, safes for valuables. The rooms themselves are not huge, but certainly spacious enough for a couple...and considering that most times you are not spending a great deal of time in the room, they are perfect! The neighborhood has a lot of food venues within a short walk, and there is a good restaurant that is part of the property. We especially like it as it is easily accessible to Times Square and the theater district but away from the typical frenzy that characterizes that neighborhood at most times of the day and night! Reasonable prices and friendly staff---it doesn't get much better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Hotel was beautiful, and the staff was excellent. The beds were so comfortable and the rooms were very clean. Very happy with our stay!!