Ratings based on 1,054 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lots of street noise.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, nice atmosphere.
Cons: The internet login could be more explicit about internet charges. I am used to many hotels offering free internet. Not here.
Location: Nice location near Grand Central Station. Nice Italian restaurant Picolo Fiori down the street.
Nice hotel. My second floor room facing the front had lots of street noise. Woke up quite a few times during the night. I think I look for a quieter spot next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dublin

Nice hotel centrally located near transport etc

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: FRIENDLY AND RELAXING ATTITUDE
Cons: A better way of getting taxis
Location: You have everthing nearby Bus Trains Shops and Sight seeing
I found staff pleasant helpful It is well located near transport shops and for sighting I would go there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ireland

Well located hotel, handy to all attractions

Posted Nov 14, 2014
We had a lovely 4 night stay at fitzpatricks in November 2014. The room was clean and spacious for New York. I read reviews saying that you should stay on higher floors but we found the noise both from the bar downstairs and the street outside to be minimal, (we were on the third floor). The staff were very friendly and helpful. One waitress at dinner even explained that we had added a tip onto the bill which already had a tip included, it would've been easy to say nothing and myself and my wife admired her honesty. The barman was very good. Particularly helpful was the two concierges (is that the plural of concierge?) Garfield checked us in online before we left for our flight and was very friendly. Michael went above and beyond in that he booked trips for us, shopped for the best rates for shows and even went as far as locating a frozen snowglo doll which we wanted for our daughter for christmas ( there was only one left in New York and Michael located it, reserved it and texted us directions on how to get there) All in all, we loved our trip and this was due in large part to the pleasant, helpful and unobtrusive staff of fitzpatricks grand central.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in New York

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: The outside patio area is a great space to relax and the location is excellent for a visit to New York.
All the staff were friendly and welcoming and always willing to help. The location in New York is close to Grand Central and within easy reach of everything you might want to see. The wheeltapper bar can get very busy at times but makes for a great atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Extremely friendly hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: We loved the genuine irish feel to this hotel. The bar staff are friendly and cheerful. The bed was extremely comfortable.
Cons: Maybe windows could be changed as you could hear the next building AC unit all night.
Location: A great location, Grand Central Terminus was just across the street. A10-15 minute walk to Times Square, Empire State Building.
An extremely friendly quaint irish hotel. The staff ate all very welcoming and friendly. Being a small hotel the staff take time to talk to all guests which gives it a more personal feel. Any queries the staff are always happy to help. Facilities are good. Our room was spacious and comfortable and well equipped. The food in the restaurant was good. A good variety of food, reasonably priced. Service was good and fairly quick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

You get exactly what you pay for

Posted Nov 7, 2014
This is as good as it gets for the money...very clean rooms, hospitable and friendly staff, close to GCT, awesome Wheeltapper bar below - I've stayed here two times now and wouldn't consider any other hotel. It feels more like a home than a hotel. You won't regret it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Blue Point NY

Small hotel close to amenities Grand Central.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Nothing to dislike. A small intimate hotel with personality
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Times Square is just one stop away. Grand Central Station is a must. Loads of great eateries nearby.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Room spotless. Although we could hear the bar noise early in the afternoon, by bedtime it was quiet. We celebrated my wife's birthday, and were given complimentary strawberries dipped in chocolate and champagne. Front of house staff are all Irish and easy to understand. We will definitely be staying here again when we have a trip into the city. Great place to stay for going to a show. Just one stop on the 'S' and you're in Times Square. Alternatively you can walk there in 10 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 20, 2014
No place to put suitcases down in the room, bed was so bouncy we kept waking each other up if we even moved a liittle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The staff is extremely friendly and most helpful. I love the location to Grand Central.
Cons: Our mattress was a little too soft. I prefer a harder firm mattress.
Location: The location is close to everything. Centrally located in the city and easy to walk or take the subway.
We have stayed there twice before. I like the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dundee

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: can't think of anything
Location: location fairly close to Times Square, but far enough away from the noise to be peaceful; we chose to walk everywhere, so some sites were quite far
could find no fault at all with this hotel; staff friendly, helpful and efficient; checkin procedure after a long flight and delays at customs was extremely quick; champagne and strawberries in room on arrival was such a lovely touch and also received free wifi for our stay, as well as a free drink in the bar and a free breakfast (I had mentioned that it would soon be our 30th wedding anniversary); bed was massive and sooooo comfortable; coffee and tea in room, with some lovely filter coffees; we had a couple of meals in the hotel which were excellent; we spent some time in the bar, again with excellent service and lovely cosy atmosphere; checkout extremely fast and efficient; my one and only downside was the noise from the bin lorries in the middle of the night, but hey, it's New York, it's a noisy city, so we got used to it!