Ratings based on 1,189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Special Weekend in NYC

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Location: Directly east of Grand Central Station - easy to get anywhere!
My wife and I recently celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. We went int the city for the weekend, and I wanted everything to be perfect. The Fitzpatrick was amazing! They really rolled out the red carpet (thank you, Megan!). You have earned guests for life.We both agreed that the Fitzpatrick would be our first choice in NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Used for midtown business trip

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Been to the Wheel Tapper several times before noticing it's part of a handily located small hotel. Thought I would try a stay. Will do so again, no issues at all though the fact there is no internal gym (an arrangement with a close by one instead) nearly put me off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Great location and great stay

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Very charming atmosphere and pub with a patio in the lobby.
Cons: Bathrooms and the rooms are small of course.
Location: Great location in NYC
I chose this location for a business trip mixed with a little pleasure in NYC. I loved the charming atmosphere and pub in the lobby. The rooms were small of course but this is NYC. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and almost all we encountered were from Ireland. The staff were very accommodating, the only staff member we weren't truly charmed by was the man who parked our car and took our bags. He seemed as though we were inconveniencing him (and the only American we came across). After the first night I would have complained about the noise level of the room as I had to get up early for a meeting and I woke up around 3 am I believe to the sound of garbage trucks but later discovered this was due to the window having been cracked open. After the window was properly closed there were no further noise disturbances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and great location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Very nice hotel with staff that is incredibly helpful. Room size is nice for a smaller boutique hotel. The location is terrific for either business or pleasure. Have stayed several times and always a nice stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Want to like this hotel, but.....

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Bigger TVs.
Location: Grand Central station, Broadway, Central Park
This was my second stay, and it was not as enjoyable as the first time. On Day 1, I complained that the air conditioning unit was not working, and they promised to fix. I didn't believe them, as I complained again on Day 2, and they promised to resolve the issue. However, on the 3rd night, after a wonderful night out in the City and another complaint, maintenance came to fix it in my presence, and we heard the sound of an operating A/c unit for the first time since checking in. In their defense, maintenance did suggest we take another room that the hotel offered as my a/c unit was old. By this time, it was after 10:30pm, my husband was deeply engrossed in the basketball game, and we were checking out the following morning. Needless to say, he was not willing to pack up and move rooms as the unit was working. By midnight, the a/c unit konked out AGAIN. 3 nights in the city with no a/c did take away from me having a wonderful experience at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mililani, Hawaii

Convenient location

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Minutes from subway & trains, abundance of eateries, shopping on 5th Ave and more.
Location: Grand Central Station is right across the street so you can pretty much catch the subway/train to anywhere it'll take you.
Pros: Close to Grand Central Station, shopping & restaurants. Friendly staff. Shower had strong water pressure so made it quick to rinse off. Cons: Small room, no view, but that's expected in New York where buildings are sandwiched together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Providence, RI

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Its location and price point. Clean and comfortable rooms. Nice people behind the desk.
Cons: Some, but not all, of the staff at breakfast could be more helpful.
Location: Right near Grand Central, a twenty minute walk to the MET, MoMA, theater district...
We came to the city for a three day weekend. We weren't in the room very often, but when we were it was very clean and comfortable, the bathroom was great, and the people behind the desk were friendly and helpful. Also, I appreciated that you could basically get breakfast all day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AWESOME HOTEL

Posted Mar 26, 2015
What a wonderful surprise! Beautiful hotel, and close by to everything. When we arrived, there was sparkling wine on ice and chocolate dipped strawberries awaiting us. The room was impeccable and beautifully appointed. Staff were so helpful too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Mar 25, 2015
This is right next to my work so I like to stay here when I can. Overall I like it but I have noticed the last few times that the shower temp was a bit uneven, i feel like the boiler is old and gets stressed when there is too much demand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia,PA

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We enjoyed our weekend stay at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central. The staff was friendly, accommodating and helpful with directions. The room was clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again on our next visit to New York City.