Ratings based on 1,204 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
Good location near by grand central station. Staffs helped to print out boarding pass and theater ticket from iPhone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The Place To Stay In New York City.

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: The bar/restaurant is very atmospheric and the food is more than value for the price great selection of beers.
Cons: Nothing I can think of, great value for money for the cost.
Location: The hotel is situated 500 metres from Grand central Station the hub of the NY transport system so you can basically get to anywhere you need to visit.
If you are planning a trip to NY this is the ideal spot to base yourself. The hotel is warm friendly and the staff are more than willing to help with the finest of detail, a special mention to Mike and Francis who are based in the reception area. To all the staff thank you very much you made our holiday, I cant give a higher recommendation than that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 28374

close to times sq and the theater district

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: location and condition of the hotel
Cons: not much really, it could use an update in flooring and carpets, but that is pretty picky, the place is just fine like it is.
Location: you are smack dab in the middle of NYC close to Grand Central Station, NY is at your feet, enjoy!
the area around the hotel it is New York at its finest, lots of hustle and bustle, but not the crazy crazy stuff you get in Times Square. It is on a semi quiet street, but easy walk to theaters and the tourist restaurants in the Times Square area and 1.5 blocks from Grand Central station. Carmines, a block from TS, a family style Italian was great, entrees serve two or more and you feel like you are in NY when in the restaurant. Stay a few blocks off TS to get a better restaurant experience and pricing. The hotel room was simple for a 4star, but very clean and large for a nyc hotel room. It was quiet too, we never heard any commotion or noise when we were in our room. Do not expect a big Marriott type experience, this is a boutique hotel. We did not like the pub attached to the restaurant, seems like a million other Irish pubs only with NY prices. Our overall stay was good and a great place to explore NYC from. PS........don't take the pedicabs from Times Square, they rip you off at $5 per minute of travel and they have no pre trip pricing stated anywhere on the pedicab. One night coming back late from the theater I decided to take one, 12 min and he demanded $60 for the trip and we had a long discussion about the pricing, I ended up giving him $40, which was to much, but he was belligerent and aggressive. I am 6'4" 245lbs so he did not mess with me, but I thought it might happen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G

Great hotel. Close to everything

Posted May 12, 2015
Hotel was close to central terminal. The staff was great. I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Close to GCT
Cons: Staff was kind of blah. Seemed like no was there first responce to most requests
Location: Location was great.
Old hotel, small rooms, very cramped. Gym is off-site. The price was right so I guess you get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Special Weekend in NYC

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Location: Directly east of Grand Central Station - easy to get anywhere!
My wife and I recently celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. We went int the city for the weekend, and I wanted everything to be perfect. The Fitzpatrick was amazing! They really rolled out the red carpet (thank you, Megan!). You have earned guests for life.We both agreed that the Fitzpatrick would be our first choice in NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Used for midtown business trip

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Been to the Wheel Tapper several times before noticing it's part of a handily located small hotel. Thought I would try a stay. Will do so again, no issues at all though the fact there is no internal gym (an arrangement with a close by one instead) nearly put me off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Great location and great stay

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Very charming atmosphere and pub with a patio in the lobby.
Cons: Bathrooms and the rooms are small of course.
Location: Great location in NYC
I chose this location for a business trip mixed with a little pleasure in NYC. I loved the charming atmosphere and pub in the lobby. The rooms were small of course but this is NYC. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and almost all we encountered were from Ireland. The staff were very accommodating, the only staff member we weren't truly charmed by was the man who parked our car and took our bags. He seemed as though we were inconveniencing him (and the only American we came across). After the first night I would have complained about the noise level of the room as I had to get up early for a meeting and I woke up around 3 am I believe to the sound of garbage trucks but later discovered this was due to the window having been cracked open. After the window was properly closed there were no further noise disturbances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and great location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Very nice hotel with staff that is incredibly helpful. Room size is nice for a smaller boutique hotel. The location is terrific for either business or pleasure. Have stayed several times and always a nice stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Want to like this hotel, but.....

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Bigger TVs.
Location: Grand Central station, Broadway, Central Park
This was my second stay, and it was not as enjoyable as the first time. On Day 1, I complained that the air conditioning unit was not working, and they promised to fix. I didn't believe them, as I complained again on Day 2, and they promised to resolve the issue. However, on the 3rd night, after a wonderful night out in the City and another complaint, maintenance came to fix it in my presence, and we heard the sound of an operating A/c unit for the first time since checking in. In their defense, maintenance did suggest we take another room that the hotel offered as my a/c unit was old. By this time, it was after 10:30pm, my husband was deeply engrossed in the basketball game, and we were checking out the following morning. Needless to say, he was not willing to pack up and move rooms as the unit was working. By midnight, the a/c unit konked out AGAIN. 3 nights in the city with no a/c did take away from me having a wonderful experience at this hotel.