Ratings based on 931 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy. Bell captain had me find my own taxi

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The bed was good and bedding nice. It was nearby to Davios. Next time I will have dinner there.
Cons: Bellman can be more helpful. They must limit the noise at the restaurant to end at a reasonable hour...9 pm.
Location: Grand Central Station has great places to get a quick bite to eat and is right across the street.
The first room I was sent to had no bath when I specifically asked for a room with a bath. The desk attendant found me another room which was satisfactory. I had a nice onion soup at the restaurant adjacent to the hotel. The room was noisy until 11 pm - the bar music thump, thump, thump and chatter carries through the center of the building. I don't think any of the rooms were any better. So, if you are up and out on the town until 11pm,no worries, but if you want to get to bed sooner or have to get up early, forget it! When I asked for help with a taxi, the bellman or concierge or whoever he was, basically told me to walk around the corner and I could get one. As a lady in New York, I would have expected him to say, no problem, let me get one for you. Sorry guys, but this hotel gets a 2 rating from me. I am used to much better for $300/night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pam from chicago

Love this hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2014
I have stayed here many times but my last trip was disappointing. The water pressure in the bath/shower was terrible. I couldn't get the heat going until the engineer came twice. The plug in the tub wouldn't close so a bath was nearly impossible. On the other hand, I love the location because it's near transportation. The staff are always polite and helpful. The restaurant is a great place to relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tracey from East Hampton, NY

Best of NY

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Always love this hotel. Staff above and beyond helpful. Rooms very comfortable and always clean. Housekeeping staff obviously take great pride in their work. Great location. Irish breakfast is always a favorite! Will be back, again and again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zokson from Toronto

Convenient location, small rooms, street noise

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Stayed March 26-28, excellent service, very friendly staff, great bar & lounge downstairs. My room was on the the third floor and combined with the poor sound isolation, it was quite noisy throughout the night, with refrigerated trucks keeping me awake. The rooms are very small and somewhat dated in terms of interior, but they do have charm. The week before I had stayed at a Hyatt in the area, at only 20% more, but it was really two classes above Fitzgerald.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie from Washington, DC

Clean safe comfy hotel near Grand Central Station

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Clean, bright, nice furniture, safe
Cons: No real recommendations
Location: Heart of NYC
The hotel front desk was incredibly friendly and polite. The hotel had a polished appearance. The room was quiet at night, clean, and felt safe. I had no problems during my stay and would certainly stay at the Fitzpatrick again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, excellent location

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Gracious staff, lovely surroundings, great bedding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location, great sleep!

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Location, bed comfort, staff, restaurant
So close to Grand Central Station! Loved the bed and the staff was fantastic. Homey and sweet -quiet too. Very nice breakfast - quick and on point! Next door is Macchiato Espresso Bar with delicious coffee! Definitely would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jay

Nice quick stay

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Shower experience.
Location: Great shops near by for walking. Good location.
Very friendly staff. Only problem was water pressure and shower head. Water got cold quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Great location! Close to shops' restaurants and Grand Central Station. Central location perfect for walking to business meetings. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Cozy lobby with plenty of room to log onto free Internet to finish up business for the day. Only drawback was hearing noise from the hallway and sometimes long waits for the elevator. Will probably consider staying again ona future trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from New York

NYC Hotel of Choice for us

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Great feel to it in a center location. Rooms are lovely. Rates are reasonable for the City.
Location: Excellent location. lose to a lot that New York City has to offer. Easy in and out. Great for museum visits.
This was our second stay at the Fitzpatrick and we plan to return there again. Excellent location in the city. Staff professional and courteous. East check in. Rooms clean and comfortable. Great feel to the hotel.