Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Vic, Australia

Large room in a lovely old house

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Place with character, large space and light breakfast with fresh fruit provided.
Cons: A sign
Location: Explore Manhattan and Brooklyn easily.
House has a lot of character and the owner was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Very convenient to the free Staten Island ferry, so an easy alternative to staying in Manhattan.
2 out of 5
by SNAPPERfrom Manchester, England

Expensive for what it is.

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Proximity to free ferry. Continental breakfast. Good host.
Cons: Exterior, interior, cleanliness.
Location: Tired neighbourhood, but great for Staten Island Ferry across to Manhattan.
Disappointed with the cleanliness of the facilities. Our bedroom fireplace was covered in cobwebs, and all the furniture was covered in dust. The bathroom was the same. On the plus side, we had the whole B&B to ourselves, and a good continental breakfast was provided each morning. Paul, the host was very helpful, and the property is only a 10 minute walk from the free Staten Island Ferry. The neighbourhood looks a bit tired, but was surprisingly quiet at night, so had good night's sleep. There's a Deli opposite. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place, if it was given a bit of TLC, as it has many quaint features.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Average accommodation for budget travellers

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Relative cheap compared to hotels located in downtown provided you willing to "trade in" half an hour ferry ride each way (Free of charge) to the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keithfrom San Antonio

Excellent place to stay

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: I liked the cost, comfort, owner and free access by ferry 24 hours to Manhattan.
Cons: A little variety at breakfast such as cereal and hard boiled eggs.
Room was very nice and clean. The bed was comfortable. Paul, the owner, was very friendly. The neighborhood seemed a little sketchy but was actually pretty safe. Police station is nearby as is the courthouse, Staten Island ferry, minor league baseball stadium, public library and many cafes and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kerryfrom NYC

Wonderful accommodation in old worlde charm.

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: Space, privacy and character.
Location: Perfect for those wishing to stay out of NYC but still in comfortable commuting distance on the wonderful Staten Island ferry.
Fort Place is just the sort of accommodation we like - olde worlde building with quaint old furniture and a sense of home about it. Owner was very accommodating - storing our excess luggage whilst we travelled about. Breakfast was adequate, location on Staten Island perfect for the ferry. Possibly many would find the ambience not up to their standards of modernity but we found it perfectly suitable for our requirements - full of character, spacious and "quirky". Fantastic - in fact we will be staying again at the end of our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Amber D.from Flint, MI

Best place to stay in NYC on a budget

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fort Place is a lovely place - it's very real. It's a big house with character in a residential neighborhood. It's across the street from a little deli/convenience store and a quick walk to a few other shops and restaurants. It is a brief, easy walk to the ferry station - although, as other reviews have mentioned, the walk back after a long day of walking is made rough by a steep hill. There are three stories; my friend and I were in one of two rooms on the second floor. The bathroom and "kitchen" (microwave, fridge, toaster) would have been shared, but there was no one in the other room. The only issue I had with my visit was the parking situation. "Onsite parking is complimentary" is somewhat misleading. There is no parking lot; there is a 2-car driveway, and the owner of the B&B has a car. After parking down the street, we tried to call the B&B but couldn't get an answer. Eventually, we did get to park in the driveway, but I'm unsure of how the parking would work if there were more guests - it's not enough to knock the review down to 4 stars, but it is something consider. PS, if you stay here, the quick, free trip to Manhattan is fantastic - but don't overlook all that Staten Island has to offer as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Odd but nice

Posted Apr 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not your typical B&B! Differrent but not unpleasant. The bederoom was very large and comfortable. It's right on a busy street but after 10 pm, it was no louder than neighborhood noises. There was a full kitchen included which was nice. But that was also where the shower stall was. The bathroom was very small; I'm sure was considered a powder room when the house was just a house. Little disconcerting but not real bad. Breakfast is brought to the kitchen at 7:30. 'That's the time I bring breakfast' I was told. Doesn't matter if that's not the time you eat. Breakfast was fresh fruit and bread with cream cheese, butter and jam. More than enough for us but not so for other people so if you're looking for a full cooked breakfast, this isn't the place. Like I said, odd but not unpleasant. It is a 5 minute walk to the ferry. Beware! The house is on a hill. If you're playing tourist and have been on your feet all day, it's uphill on the way back and it's a decent hill to walk. Oh. And if you're looking for the toilet paper, press the button on the brass box on the wall next to the toilet and voila! Toilet paper!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jonasfrom Sweden

Beautiful

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The interior of this house was very beautiful, with old real furniture, paintings and decorations, like a home that been in a family for generations. Yet not too much, me and my girlfriend felt very comfortable. We stayed two nights downstairs in what is more like a whole apartment/flat. The third night we moved upstairs to a smaller room, but yet very beautiful. The only thing that keeping this from being a five star review is that the room upstairs had a shared bathroom, indeed shared with another group. This was fine for us one night but I would have like to know that when I booked. The owner is very friendly and we felt very welcomed. The free transportation to Manhattan with ferry was nice (although you cant go outside), it takes about 10 minutes to walk to and the ferry about 20. We made a mistake with subway once and ended up taking a cab, it was about $60-80 but gets you home in 30 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Davefrom Pennsville Township, NJ, USA

Charming and convenient to NYC

Posted Mar 27, 2013
Pros: Clean and Tranquil
Cons: None
Location: 10 minute walk to Staten Island ferry and easy to get to by car.
I stay here every time I must go to NYC. It is located a short 10 minute walk from the Staten Island Ferry which is free and runs every 30 minutes to Battery Park in Manhattan. The subway and bus stations are just outside the ferry terminal in Manhattan and the city lies at your feet. The B&B is charming, well kept, comparatively inexpensive, and located in a tranquil neighborhood for relaxing once your day in the city is complete. The proprietor is gracious with his time and advice and very flexible to your schedules. There are a few nice restaurants between the Ferry terminal and B&B if you prefer the tranquility. There is also a convenience store / deli across the street for the travel necessities you forgot or to simply grab a quick snack or soft drink.