Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from San Antonio

Excellent place to stay

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: I liked the cost, comfort, owner and free access by ferry 24 hours to Manhattan.
Cons: A little variety at breakfast such as cereal and hard boiled eggs.
Room was very nice and clean. The bed was comfortable. Paul, the owner, was very friendly. The neighborhood seemed a little sketchy but was actually pretty safe. Police station is nearby as is the courthouse, Staten Island ferry, minor league baseball stadium, public library and many cafes and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kerry from NYC

Wonderful accommodation in old worlde charm.

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: Space, privacy and character.
Location: Perfect for those wishing to stay out of NYC but still in comfortable commuting distance on the wonderful Staten Island ferry.
Fort Place is just the sort of accommodation we like - olde worlde building with quaint old furniture and a sense of home about it. Owner was very accommodating - storing our excess luggage whilst we travelled about. Breakfast was adequate, location on Staten Island perfect for the ferry. Possibly many would find the ambience not up to their standards of modernity but we found it perfectly suitable for our requirements - full of character, spacious and "quirky". Fantastic - in fact we will be staying again at the end of our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Odd but nice

Posted Apr 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not your typical B&B! Differrent but not unpleasant. The bederoom was very large and comfortable. It's right on a busy street but after 10 pm, it was no louder than neighborhood noises. There was a full kitchen included which was nice. But that was also where the shower stall was. The bathroom was very small; I'm sure was considered a powder room when the house was just a house. Little disconcerting but not real bad. Breakfast is brought to the kitchen at 7:30. 'That's the time I bring breakfast' I was told. Doesn't matter if that's not the time you eat. Breakfast was fresh fruit and bread with cream cheese, butter and jam. More than enough for us but not so for other people so if you're looking for a full cooked breakfast, this isn't the place. Like I said, odd but not unpleasant. It is a 5 minute walk to the ferry. Beware! The house is on a hill. If you're playing tourist and have been on your feet all day, it's uphill on the way back and it's a decent hill to walk. Oh. And if you're looking for the toilet paper, press the button on the brass box on the wall next to the toilet and voila! Toilet paper!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jonas from Sweden

Beautiful

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The interior of this house was very beautiful, with old real furniture, paintings and decorations, like a home that been in a family for generations. Yet not too much, me and my girlfriend felt very comfortable. We stayed two nights downstairs in what is more like a whole apartment/flat. The third night we moved upstairs to a smaller room, but yet very beautiful. The only thing that keeping this from being a five star review is that the room upstairs had a shared bathroom, indeed shared with another group. This was fine for us one night but I would have like to know that when I booked. The owner is very friendly and we felt very welcomed. The free transportation to Manhattan with ferry was nice (although you cant go outside), it takes about 10 minutes to walk to and the ferry about 20. We made a mistake with subway once and ended up taking a cab, it was about $60-80 but gets you home in 30 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Pennsville Township, NJ, USA

Charming and convenient to NYC

Posted Mar 27, 2013
Pros: Clean and Tranquil
Cons: None
Location: 10 minute walk to Staten Island ferry and easy to get to by car.
I stay here every time I must go to NYC. It is located a short 10 minute walk from the Staten Island Ferry which is free and runs every 30 minutes to Battery Park in Manhattan. The subway and bus stations are just outside the ferry terminal in Manhattan and the city lies at your feet. The B&B is charming, well kept, comparatively inexpensive, and located in a tranquil neighborhood for relaxing once your day in the city is complete. The proprietor is gracious with his time and advice and very flexible to your schedules. There are a few nice restaurants between the Ferry terminal and B&B if you prefer the tranquility. There is also a convenience store / deli across the street for the travel necessities you forgot or to simply grab a quick snack or soft drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK

A special place to stay

Posted Nov 14, 2012
This is quiet, cosy, clean accommodation, loved the artwork and the individually furnished rooms. We had the whole spacious top floor to ourselves (just myself and my daughter). Paul, the owner, was welcoming and helpful. Great for hopping across to the sights, museums and shops of Manhattan then escaping back to a peaceful and restful night. Definitely recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JAJ

Holiday in New York

Posted Oct 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Nice place, and very good place if you want to visit New York, but dont stay inside the city. Very prctical with 10 min walk to the free ferry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sally & Dave

Great Stay in New York

Posted Oct 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Fort Place was a great place to stay, very convienient for New York, if you have a car, just park here and get the free Staten Island ferry over to New York, our room was lovely, very spacious , breakfast was fine and the manager very helpful. would reccomend eating in New York as no decent places locally to eat, but Fort Place really was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You will love it or hate it...

Posted Aug 25, 2012
Pros: Lot of space, cheaper than staying on manhattan, cool getting the Staten Island ferry with real New Yorkers and seeing statue of liberty
Cons: Breakfast was really basic, decor was dated, shower was in the kitchen which don't think was cleaned during our stay, plastic bag found in bed
Location: Very handy for Staten Island ferry and south manhattan. Is a shop opposite b&b for any items you may have forgotten
This b&b will split people depending on what you're after. On the pluses, the room was huge with a large bed, we had our own kitchen with huge fridge, gas cooker, private toilet. Rooms are decorated in traditional style which is different and people may like. The b&b is 5 minutes from the Staten Island ferry (which is free) and takes you to the bottom of manhattan and onto the 1 line (that goes to Times Square) and other lines that go to all over the rest of New York. For these reasons, can see why families would love it as can't imagine getting this space in Manhattan. On the negative side, getting the ferry down after the end of each day and start of each day becomes a bit of a bore - after a long day, it can get irritating. The neighbourhood is ok, we didn't have any trouble but coming back late at night can be a bit intimidating if there are people hanging around. The breakfasts were basic, some bread, jam, some fruit that was ok and either tea or coffee. We didn't ever see the owner - he left instructions on how we could let ourselves in, this was fine for us but if you wanted any advice on where to go or how to get around, it could be a problem for you. I can't really think of anything else, just one thing, the beds were never made up but someone did go into our rooms as we found things moved around or curtains tied up. We also found a plastic bag in our bed which wasnt there before, this was a bit strange and was a really bad thing as no idea why or how it got there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dayton, Ohio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2012 on Hotels.com