Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2010 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

One Star Surprise

Posted Jan 13, 2010
In reality this is a youth hostel. The washrooms were a disaster and the windows that do open also let in the cold weather which at 32 degree and lower is not a good thing. TV's don't work except the one in the lobby, Insufficient bedding (ask for extra towels and blankets and they will be provided) and rather uncomfortable sagging beds with thin and sagging mattresses. No maid service during stay. No frills to the max!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Neil from Baltimore, MD

Okay, I guess

Posted Jan 11, 2010
For what I paid, I didn't expect a five-star experience. Room was clean, and the bathroom was cleaner than my own at home. The TV didn't work, the internet wasn't free, but they weren't too big sacrifices. However, there was very little to no heat in my room, and I had to sleep with the jacket on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from europw

cool place

Posted Dec 16, 2009
cool place. the location is great! Very close to subway and 3 bus lines. hotel was nice, bathroom very clean and everything was perfect except from the smell. it smelled like urine. but for what you pay it's a totally nice place to stay. I recommend this hotel, would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2009 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mesa Az

Has the feel of a government housing complex

Posted Nov 25, 2009
Probably one of the worst hotel stays ever. The room was small, with 2 bunk beds, both of which were broken. The hotel and the room had a strange odor, and the room had a cooler however there was no place to plug it in. The sheets were dirty and had blood stains on them, and the shared bathroom was just plain gross. The front desk service was hostile and made me uncomfortable. Booked for 3 night, however only stayed for two. Could not wait to get out of this place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

I stayed in bunk-bed room: OK if you believe like me that "you get what you pay for"

Posted Nov 15, 2009
I stayed in the bunk bed room: in a nutshell "you get what you pay for", not the cleanest or the slickest, not even the "traveller hostel" feel as it's kinda a hotel, but if you're only interested in a place to sleep for few days: it's OK (again I stayed in a shared bunk bed room for the typical low end price of a hostel, so my expectations weren't high)
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Cheap clean place

Posted Oct 30, 2009
This place is really simple but relatively clean and well connected to the subway system and the bus to La Guardia Airport. It is good value for money. There is internet in the basement comparatively cheap for NY. A pity that there is no closet in the room so one has to live out of the suitcase.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from new orleans

would stay again and reccomend to others

Posted Oct 22, 2009
said enough above, although the bed was uncomfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Cheap Place to Stay in an Expensive City

Posted Oct 8, 2009
It's close to the subway and in a nice neighbourhood. It didn't have any cockroaches or bedbugs. It could have been cleaner; I would not touch that floor with bare feet, bring flip flops! There always seemed to be hot water. You might want to bring a spare towel for longer stays as you only get one. The bathrooms were not cleaned often enough and something you had to go to a different floor to find one with toilet paper. The elevator is ancient and finicky; pack light and be prepared to drag your luggage up the stairs. Do not believe the pictures on the website, the rooms don't really look like that. The wireless internet only really works in the lobby - you'll always see people camped out there. Bring your laptop, the wired internet is ridiculous. The cable doesn't work. The staff was friendly but they don't go out of their way to help you. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs because the walls are paper thin. You don't want to be awakened by a neighbour singing raunchy drinking songs at 3am.