Ratings based on 409 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Moscow, Russia

Stylish hotel at Gramercy Park

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Nice experience overall, professional staff. Some things have gotten worse compared to my previous stay, such as the breakfast on top of the hotel is no more, as that area is now for private events, and full breakfast is not served until 10 am weekends at the restaurant on the first floor. The gym has always been a joke and remains so.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but weather frigid.

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Front staff was erratic but to be honest I had more than one dumb question
Location: I know the location but weather stopped me from wandering.
As someone who lived in a house in the W. Village for 55 yrs, ran a B&B there for 22, staying in a hotel was so strange. This was my first time in NY since selling (came back for closing) and I was apprehensive. Wanted to be out of Village but not Uptown. Weather horridly cold (as I now live in CA) and may come back for the location in the fall. Personally, everything was so dark. I am just too old to be in the dark...elevators all black and could barely find the floor! But this is an age thing. Ugh. As someone naive about hotel life, I had some problems but most of the staff were very nice. Room not my style (my opinion as an ex interior designer)and bathroom tiny. Will not go into that. Thought 16th floor, wow, but looked out on...what was it? ... and I had a problem figuring out/setting the heat/air. Strangely enough, if I felt I could afford a Room With A View in a Good Season, might very well come back. Morning coffee ordered in room every morning was EXCELLENT as was the mattress. Will be replacing mine ASAP. For the mattress epiphany alone I am grateful. I guess I am just not chic enough and too old to appreciate your special style. But depending on life's surprisesI may be back...asking that one nice young man on your staff multi times to help me get into my room. (I did ask how much it would cost to buy one of the goblets in the bar. $80 seemed steep for a memoir. How many just take them I wonder? I took all bath products. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good hotel well positioned for shops and transport

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Likes & well recommended: Location, top Concierge staff, Housekeeping staff, lobby staff, local shops for breakfast & dinner, tube station close by.
Cons: Dislikes: Surly reception staff engrossed on computers, reception desk used as a gathering post for hotel staff to natter, regardless of guests.
Location: Gramercy Park Hotel is well situated for tube or cab rides directly to Times square and surrounding tourist attractions.
We booked into the Gramercy Park Hotel for a well deserved Christmas break from 23rd December - 30th December. Arriving at JFK airport, we hit delays with the Expedia-arranged car transfer company, with the driver venting down the phone to his superior about his wages, we arrived at the hotel 1.5 hours late! We were warmly greeted by the hotel lobby manager. We had requested a quite room but were disappointed to have a room almost directly opposite the lift! Although we had a superb room with modern features, the main door isn't sound-proofed enough, and noise from outside is constantly heard, particularity late at night with returning guests. I'm not sure if the hotel has a policy informing guests to keep the noise down as they enter and exit the lifts? They also have a late-night bar playing music which closes around 2:30 am and can be heard as high as the 11th floor! Bizarre for a 5* hotel Gramercy Park Hotel is well situated for tube or cab rides directly to Times square and surrounding tourist attractions. As we didn't use the hotel restaurants (£45 each for a basic continental breakfast is awesome) we found some delightful alternatives not too far from the hotel, used by locals and professionals alike, and excellent value. Gramercy Park Hotel is a old fashioned type of hotel with lots of dark wood, heavy curtains and mood lighting. You practically require night-vision goggles as the lighting is very dim, but this adds to the general feel and style of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom r

Gear hotel and good location

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Had a terrific time at hotel. Beautiful rooms nice staff. Very comfortable and efficient staff made stay sweet!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chapel Hill, NC

Nice hotel, but I got an uncomfortable room.

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Room was too hot, mini-bar fridge did not keep things cold. After repeated reports of thermostat difficulties, it was obvious the problem was unfixable. Asked to be moved, but no other rooms available first night. Not a great experience for the money spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

great location, trendy hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2014
very hip hotel, fabulous location, great bar and breakfast/brunch restaurant. rooms are bijoux and the bathroom is the size of a shoe box. a little frustrating to have to pay for in room internet given it is free in the public area and the cost of the room is so high too. i happened to be traveling with a colleague who had managed to get wifi included in his (less expensive) rate so spoke to reception and had the fee reimbursed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Super vibey and a perfect location!
Cons: The only problem we had was the first night we were on the 5th floor and were sill hearing the loud music from the bar. The 9th floor was much better
Wonderful! I can't think of a better hotel for what we were looking for. Romantic with a great location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom milano

Il più' piacevole albergo nel più' bel luogo di NY

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Luogo, arredi, bar, stanze
Cons: Va bene come e'
Location: Vai ovunque a piedi, c'e'il parco più' bello, i ristoranti migliori ecc.
Ci vado da anni,non e'una esperienza.....e' ogni volta una conferma
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rio de Janeiro

Great hotel, perfect location, small, dark room

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Location, general conditions, service, cleaniness, bicycles (loved the bicycles).
Cons: Hard to improve size and natural light on the inside-facing rooms but the TV definitely should be bigger - much bigger.
Location: Nice and quiet neighborhood, close to Union Square and Fifth Avenue in the 20ths. Great cafe at 71 Irving Place, nice restaurantes and bars all around
GPH is indeed a lovely place for a quiet stay in Manhattan. Classic, renovated building, on an upscale neighborhood, close to nice cafes and restaurants, and right bt Gramercy Park, the famous closed park to which guests of the hotel have private access (breakfast can be served at the park, at guest's request, that must be an incredible family / couples experience on a nicer weather, not the case during my stay). There are very nice bicylcles available, that comes handy for anyone that is willing to explore the city on a less conventional way. Food at the 24-hour room service is very good, and the hotel has also a nice bar at the lobby and the pleasant Italian restaurant Maialino. The one problem of the hotel are the very small rooms, with tiny a 14'' TV set. The rooms facing the inside of the hotel are very dark, you need the lights on the whole day, and very close to other apartments which forces you to keep the blindings down, making the room even darker.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: style
Cons: The mattresses were not so comftorble.
The hotel was a happening spot, from the restaurant to the trendy Rose Bar. Be sure to make a reservation either way because locals and guests both like to hang out here.