Ratings based on 3,714 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

First time but certainly not last

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Central position right above Grand Central Station couldn't be better Hatty who checked us in was superb went out of her way to help us explaing all. Concierges were very knowledgeable and booked our trips and restaurants with no fuss. All in all a terrific five nights and going back next year. John and Debbie Riley England
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands, England

Excellent hotel close to everything

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Long weekend break to experience New York. Neede somewhere central, with style, comfort, clean, affordable and figured a Hyatt should tick all these boxes. The Grand Hyatt did with flying colous
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Lacking, Disappointing

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Checked in early no problem, as well as location
Cons: Staff Courteousness and Friendliness, Cleanliness of hotel
Location: Grand Central Terminal close to jump on trains, as well as good mid-town location to walk a radius that has alot of attractions
The location and the fact that they let us check in early is the only good things about this hotel. We booked a club room, which was subpar, the Club staff members were unfriendly and hospitable and not helpful. The shower curtain was covered in mildew and mold, and I asked the Club conceirge to call and have it changed, after being aggravated that I was speaking to him he did call, but to our dismay when we got back to our room later that night it still had not been changed. I had to call back 3 times in order to get housekeeping to come up and change it, even though they said each time that they would be right up. They took so long I had to go ahead and put my little girl to bed, but when the housekeeper got there, he knocked but did not wait for us to answer the door, and barged in turning all the lights on and banging the door, with barely an apology when he saw me standing there. He woke up my little girl, and took 45 min to change a hookless shower curtain, being extremely loud. Needless to say, this Hyatt stay was the worst one I've been to, especially for the price. The quality an d friendliness of staff I might as well have been at a 2star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect for midtown business travel

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Smooth, no-fuss check-in, great location above Grand Central station, clean rooms with comfortable beds. Ideal for a week of work meetings in midtown Manhattan. Will stay here again when I next visit NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Grand new york

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Absolutely wonderful,Kay on front desk upgraded us sent champagne and chocolates to our room told us about the best shops she is a credit to the hotel and the cleaners and the doorman brilliant . The rooms were lovely beds comfortable not to mention the location will be back next year
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, easy to catch the subway to go anywher

Posted Oct 22, 2014
The hotel was nice overall. They do charge for every little thing though. You would think you would at least get free wifi but they charge you for that. If your just sleeping at a hotel and gone the rest of the time I'd get something cheaper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids MI

Nice Hotel next to Grand Central

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: The hotel room was clean and quiet. The beds are very comfortable and the shower was good.
Cons: There was no coffee maker in the room.
Location: Right next to Grand Central Station and a short walk to 5th Avenue. Many stores close by. The walk to Time Square was short.
The lobby was very busy but staff were friendly and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Room was OK.A little dusty around the edges. Bathroom was very cramped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blackpool UK

Perfect New York Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The situation and the luxurious feel.
What a wonderful trip to New York. We have stayed at this hotel before and as usual it didn't disappoint. I e-mailed the hotel previous to our arrival to tell them we were celebrating my mother's 80th birthday and I don't know if that was the reason but we were given a superb room on about the 15th floor. I had also become a member of the Hyatt Gold Passport which is free and we then received free drinks vouchers every day for tea, coffee or water from the Marketplace Café. The hotel has a luxurious look about it inside and out and the rooms are a great size for New York standards, we had 3 adults in our room and we didn't struggle for space at all. We had a drink in the hotel bar on our last night for a treat - it is a lovely bar with a great view of 42nd street but it is quite pricey. The hotel situation is superb for accessing most parts of Manhattan by bus, subway or on foot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ashland Mo.

Not a 4.3 rated Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: See experience above
After the first night our room was not cleaned. After the second night I had to ask for the room to be cleaned. Overall the hotel rooms are poorly lighted and the bathroom was outdated. For the money not a very good deal. No, correction it was the worst hotel I have stayed at ever.