Ratings based on 6,219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

trendy hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: very helpful staff
Cons: maybe put guest staying longer than over night in higher rooms or away frfom main traffic noise
Location: walking distance to times square and shopping areas
our room was very noisy from street traffic so couldn't get much sleep at all had to buy earplugs but the staff were always trying to be helpful also recommend going on the rooftop tour of the hotel perfect view of NYC I don't recommend going on the green open top bus tours due to broken microphones and no poncho provided if it rains red busses are better
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2015
The staff at the reception and service were really kind and friendly. The room was a bit uncleaned, tables were dusty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great Location!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
The Grand Hyatt is literally attached to Grand Central Station so it was very easy to get around the City. The staff was very friendly. Upon check-in we told the front desk clerk (sorry I didn't get her name) that it was my daughter's first time in NYC. She then gave my daughter a gift bag filled with all sorts of (Grand Hyatt branded) goodies including a T-shirt, plastic binoculars and sunscreen. My only complaint (other than the outside traffic noise which you seem to get with pretty much every NYC hotel) was the small pedestal sink in the bathroom when it seemed like there was plenty of space for a larger counter. Little space for toiletries! However, with that being said I would recommed this hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel but wouldn't recommend it

Posted Jul 22, 2015
The hotel is conveniently located and has good facilities. Be prepared to pay extra for almost everything that is included in other hotels. If you have mail sent to you better check its size and weight in advance or else you may be in for a surprise as the hotel charges a handling fee for all letters and packages delivered to guests. I was charged over 60 dollars for three small packages containing DVDs and a few books I had ordered. Only after complaining about it with management and demanding a price list to determine how on earth they ce up with this amount did they agree to only charge 50% of it. The price list was entitled 'request form'. I never requested any of it. So my advice is better don't have anything shipped to you while you stay at the hotel. I stayed in many hotels in NYC but this was new to me, am not even sure it is legal to do this given that there is no way to know in advance how much the hotel will charge you. Their rates seem very random and can change without notice. Also, in case you check in early or want to leave your luggage after check out, it'll cost you 3usd per item. All in all, I didn't feel welcome and there are better hotels close by which treat their guests still as guests. That is definitely not the case at the grand hyatt. book elsewhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Convenient location.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Clean room. Nice staff. Quiet night sleep. Good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Salzburg

Super Hotel für diesen Städtetrip

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Die Lobby
Cons: Ja, die Terrasse auch ohne zusätzliche Kosten zu Öffnen; schließlich war das Hotel ja auch nicht gerade günstig.
Location: Siehe Beschreibung oben.
Super Hotel mit vielen wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten in unmittelbarer Umgebung. Mit der Grand Central Station in unmittelbarer Nähe hat man auch gute Verbindungen. Nachteil: Mit unserer Buchung und zur Benützung der Terrasse hätten wir pro Tag nochmals $ 100,-- zahlen müssen, allerdings wäre dann das gesamte Frühstück enthalten gewesen. Wir gingen zu "Pret a Manger" hatten ein super Frühstück für die Hälfte und konnten dafür mehr shoppen.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Location for NYC very good

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Location and self checkout
Cons: Customer service attitude, restaurant service and room quality.
Location: Very central
2 out of 4 elevators for our floor (20) were out and were also being used by hundreds of contestants at a dancing competition - it sometimes took up to 10 minutes waiting to be able to get on a down elevator at our floor as they were full when opening at the 20th floor - we waited with lots of others for 15 minutes at check out time on Sunday morning. Staff service on main floor and the restaurant were very brusque, no smiles and certainly didn't have a welcoming interaction. On arrival we had to get a person to replace the burnt out light bulb in the major reading lamp. We had to get a carpenter to fix a jammed drawer. There no hand towels or wash clothes in the bathroom and the two used wash clothes were not replaced on the second day and the floor towel was gone on the second day. Over the past 30 years (but not in the past 5) I have stayed at this hotel and there has been a serious deterioration in both customer service and facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel and central

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Central location to areas of interest
Cons: It must be made clear during booking that breakfast is extra! Was shocked when told room rate excludes breakfast when this was requested during bookin
I did not spend much time in the hotel itself as it was more exciting outside!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sassari

Posizione strategica

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Il punto di forza dell'hotel è senz'altro la posizione, nella 42 strada, contiguo alla Grand Central Station e alla metropolitana e vicinissimo alla fermata del Newark express (per chi utilizza questo aeroporto). A due passi da Bryant Park e Times Square. È un albergo molto grande e un po' impersonale. Migliorabile la pulizia ai piani. Molto rumorosa l'aria condizionata in camera. Molto gentile il personale alla reception. Wi fi free disponibile in camera e postazione internet con stampante per il check in on line. Nel complesso un buon rapporto qualità prezzo per la media di New York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Resterant very very overpriced elevators many elevators out of service