Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Italy

great location

Posted Sep 10, 2014
this is a guesthouse not an hotel as it is clearly specified in its name. You'll be in a two bedrooms apartment in heart of Manhattan (without doorman). This is an old tenement house that belongs to the Community Churrch of Manhattan. The building is old, the carpet is thorn and the kitchen is dirty. But you are on Park Avenue and 35th and the price is unbeatable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Seattle, WA

Live the way most New Yorkers do

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The apartment is cute and spacious by NY standards. Brick walls in the bedroom and living room, hardwood floors, etc. Wonderful dining area.
Cons: The plumbing is old, so it takes a while to get hot water, and the stairs are steep and uneven in places - as is typical with any new york brownstone.
Location: Empire State - 2 blocks away, Subway just 1. All the usuals - coffee shops, restaurants, convenience stores - in easy walking distance.
This is exactly as advertised - a fifth-floor walk-up that is comfortable and convenient. This is what you could expect to live in if you were a young well-employed New Yorker. The building is old, but that added a lot of charm for us. The staff were all off site but went out of their way to help us, and we found the apartment delightful.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Potential firetrap fifth floor walk-up

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Frightening
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Howard from London

Great location, convenient, sizeable but no luxury

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Cons: Needs to be cleaned more thoroughly!
Great location on Park and 33rd near the Empire State building. Spacious rooms. Three drawbacks - 1. four very tall flights of steps with no elevator, 2. the room was very dusty with all sorts of crap under the beds and in the drawers. 3. And the bathroom was tiny, dated and not in good condition.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by D from G

Ok hotel, great service

Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had some issues the first night with horrible noises coming from the heating system. We were moved the next night and our first night refunded. Quite nice service. The rooms are not properly clean. The location is fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Andy from Melbourne

Great location, lost booking

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Picture this. 2 days before travel you get a confirmation email from Hotels.com. You travel 26 hours and arrive to pick up your key from a third party. "Sorry we dont have keys for you, and no we don't have a contact number for the people that left the key". "Any nearby hotels?", "None that I know of". We then wander aimlessly, suitcases in tow, trying to find a hotel. Eventually google maps comes to the rescure. The next we day we are offered a full refund plus accommodation for the rest of our stay. The rooms are kitted out in opshop furniture but are clean, spacious, and quiet. Good internet, cable TV. The kitchen is almost unusable but that may be because we stayed in an apartment that was not quite ready for occupation. It suited us but you need to have a make do attitude. I would try and stay here again however I would definitely phone before hand and make sure they are expecting you. Get their emergency contact number before you leave home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Truly a wonderful New York experience!

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Comfortable beds, kitchenette
I lived in NY 15-20 years ago. I loved that this afforded my daughter and friends a true NY experience rather than the sterility of a hotel chain. Plan to be back in a couple years when the next kid turns 14...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kevin from UK

Very central, safe, shabby chic

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Cons: bathroom
Location: Central Park, Grand Central Station, Chrysler building, Rockefeller, Central Library, Bryant Park, Times Sq.
There are mixed reviews about this place. However, if you want a good central location in NYC, with lots of space (we were 6) and don't mind an older building and with it condition then this is perfect. I thought it was great just to walk to most of the central attractions in Manhatten
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location for a very old room

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: All but the location
Location: Empire State B is a block away
The description is not real, the appartment is run my the Community Church of Manhattan. There is no staff or anybody to talk to. The building is very old and so they are the rooms. the Bathroom is minuscule and the facilities are too fragile to be used. Location is incredible so depends what is that you rank higher
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by floyd from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK

Value for money basic rooms in midtown Manhattan

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: Location and price
Cons: coffee maker didn't work and dirty towels were never removed
Location: short walk to subway, good food store and restaurants nearby
You get what you pay for and this is an acceptable value for money option for midtown manhattan. I stayed here with my two teenage sons for a week and it was absolutely fine. There is no lift, the upkeep of the flat is poor and the kitchen is adequate for making breakfast but for little else and the aircon is noisy but the location is great and safe, the flat is large and comfortable and reasonably well equipped (fridge freezer, hairdryer, gas stove, tv, plenty of towels and soap, phone for local calls). You have to pick the keys up from a doorman at 10 park avenue just around the corner when you arrive.