Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by D from G

Ok hotel, great service

Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had some issues the first night with horrible noises coming from the heating system. We were moved the next night and our first night refunded. Quite nice service. The rooms are not properly clean. The location is fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Andy from Melbourne

Great location, lost booking

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Picture this. 2 days before travel you get a confirmation email from Hotels.com. You travel 26 hours and arrive to pick up your key from a third party. "Sorry we dont have keys for you, and no we don't have a contact number for the people that left the key". "Any nearby hotels?", "None that I know of". We then wander aimlessly, suitcases in tow, trying to find a hotel. Eventually google maps comes to the rescure. The next we day we are offered a full refund plus accommodation for the rest of our stay. The rooms are kitted out in opshop furniture but are clean, spacious, and quiet. Good internet, cable TV. The kitchen is almost unusable but that may be because we stayed in an apartment that was not quite ready for occupation. It suited us but you need to have a make do attitude. I would try and stay here again however I would definitely phone before hand and make sure they are expecting you. Get their emergency contact number before you leave home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Truly a wonderful New York experience!

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Comfortable beds, kitchenette
I lived in NY 15-20 years ago. I loved that this afforded my daughter and friends a true NY experience rather than the sterility of a hotel chain. Plan to be back in a couple years when the next kid turns 14...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kevin from UK

Very central, safe, shabby chic

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Cons: bathroom
Location: Central Park, Grand Central Station, Chrysler building, Rockefeller, Central Library, Bryant Park, Times Sq.
There are mixed reviews about this place. However, if you want a good central location in NYC, with lots of space (we were 6) and don't mind an older building and with it condition then this is perfect. I thought it was great just to walk to most of the central attractions in Manhatten
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location for a very old room

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: All but the location
Location: Empire State B is a block away
The description is not real, the appartment is run my the Community Church of Manhattan. There is no staff or anybody to talk to. The building is very old and so they are the rooms. the Bathroom is minuscule and the facilities are too fragile to be used. Location is incredible so depends what is that you rank higher
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by floyd from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK

Value for money basic rooms in midtown Manhattan

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: Location and price
Cons: coffee maker didn't work and dirty towels were never removed
Location: short walk to subway, good food store and restaurants nearby
You get what you pay for and this is an acceptable value for money option for midtown manhattan. I stayed here with my two teenage sons for a week and it was absolutely fine. There is no lift, the upkeep of the flat is poor and the kitchen is adequate for making breakfast but for little else and the aircon is noisy but the location is great and safe, the flat is large and comfortable and reasonably well equipped (fridge freezer, hairdryer, gas stove, tv, plenty of towels and soap, phone for local calls). You have to pick the keys up from a doorman at 10 park avenue just around the corner when you arrive.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rich V from Georgia

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location great, no one on site to giv keys. Need to explain where to pick up keys.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kelly from Denver, CO

Excellent location

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent location if you are looking to be away from massive tourist hotels and want more of a neighborhood type of stay. Major attractions in walking distance, if you are someone who likes to walk. If you want to finish your day at a local, less crowded bar you can do that here. The room is exactly as described. Clean, spacious, an older building with character. The kitchen is updated while the bathroom is less so. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hairy from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Value for money and location

Posted May 26, 2013
Pros: VFM Location
Cons: noisy aircon
Location: 15 mins stroll to 5th Avenue, 25 mins to Times Square
Value for money and location was our requirement and that's what we got. We were on 5th floor with no elevator and lots of luggage - a pain on arrival, but we did know of that! Rooms were comfy, basic but plenty of space and VFM. The apartments are let via a church association and they allowed us to leave our luggage in the church for a few hours which was very useful. We left a note of minor niggles for which we were thanked ("if we know we can fix it"). Only real gripe was a very noisy aircon unit, which was noted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Carrie from Concord, NC

Yankees weekend

Posted Apr 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We came up for a weekend of fun and Yankee games. The weather was perfect the area is wonderful and centrally located in Manhattan. Our group consisted of 2 families of 3 so we were looking for a large space. This worked well for us. If you're looking for a hotel with many amenities, services and a hotel employee to help you everytime you breath in exchange for a tip... This isn't it. If you're looking for a clean, adequate, seemingly safe, nicely located, large place to put your things and lay your head, that's NOT $1000 a night ...this works. We will be back as this trip is turning out to be an annual fun weekend in the city.