Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Jakarta, Indonesia

Excellent location without the loud noise

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Ha, breakfast more the "American" rather than "European" style
Location: Everything is near: MSG, Time Square, Empire State, both uptown and downtown points, subway nearby, expensive 5th Ave. etc.
A "European-efficient" hotel in the big apple, nice combination. Nice people, everything being efficient. Americana without the "noise".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

Great Breakfast!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Communication, a proper apology for the noise would have been nice!
Location: Great location close to Maddison Sq Garden
We stayed at this hotel over a weekend, on the first night (Friday) at around 10pm a pneumatic drill began and did not stop until 3am. We were on the 6th floor at the front and the noise was terrible. The following day we spoke to the manager who told us he was not aware they were going to dig the sidewalk up and had made a complaint to the company. We were not offered any complimentary upgrades for the inconvenience. The hotels location was great for all of New York and the best thing was the breakfast... not only included in the price but a great selection of waffles, pastries, bacon, sausage, cereals etc. The room itself was immaculate although small but i guess you expect a small room in New York!! Overall we enjoyed our stay apart from the pneumatic drill...!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Great location, a few minutes on foot from Penn St

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Really friendly staff, great complimentary B'fast, cookies in the afternoon and tea/coffee on tap. Will stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torino, Canada

New York visit

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Excellent staff, very courteous and helping. The room was surprisingly spacious given the location and price. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, central location

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was great! Plentiful and something for everyone.
Cons: Beds not very comfortable. Windows are paper thin could hear the noise from the street.
Stayed for 3 nights with 2 children. Central location: near Penn station, Macey's, Empire States bldg. walking distance to everything really!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Close to Penn Station

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, friendly helpful staff. Location
Cons: Faster lifts!
Location: One block from Penn station. Easy walk for Times Square, 42nd street, Empire State - 2 blocks away, Rockafella and tourist buses very near.
Good sized hotel 'stones throw' from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station. Easy walking distance from Times Square, subway, buses etc. Compact room with small bathroom for 3 people but very comfortable beds and good sound insulation as there is a building site next door. (Building sites everywhere in Manhattan) Great breakfast -plentiful food, hot, good variety.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, Canada

Review

Posted Aug 1, 2014
The hotel was great, staff was nice, breakfast was good, the room i got was tight fit, no space to walk. Over all rating 3.5
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to train station

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Staff and cleanliness of rooms.
Hotel staff was extremely friendly and courteous. Hotel is in a very convenient location, very close to the train station, stores and attractions. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Room is a little small but comfortable and cozy. Breakfast is also included.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall Good Experience

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly. Free breakfast and wi fi.
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Excellent location, close to Penn Station.
I had stayed here before and liked it so returned and was not disappointed. I chose it because it is close to Penn station, as I needed to get an early train. I was able to walk to the station, even with heavy bags. It is also walking distance to other attractions such as Macys and is close to the subway stop on 34th street. I thought the staff were really friendly and helpful, couldn't fault them. Also, there is free breakfast and tea throughout the day. The only real complaint that I had was that the pillows seemed to be a bit dirty, with stains on them. It made me wonder if they had been cleaned. I didn't complain, as by the time I noticed, it was late at night and I was in bed. I'm sure if I had mentioned it the staff would have done something because as mentioned above, they were very helpful and attentive. Overall though it was a good experience and I would definitely go back and I would also recommend it to others. I have stayed in a few hotels in New York over the years and I have found they tend to be pricey and not all that great in terms of customer service. This is definitely a good hotel compared with others I have stayed in, especially in terms of price, location and friendliness of staff. I hope this review helps you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stafford, va

Great hotel next to Madison Square Garden

Posted Jul 5, 2014
We arrived at 1pm and David checked us in early so we wouldn't have to store our luggage. He was so friendly and seemed genuinely nice. Room size was small but ok. We had 3 kids with us. Their double rooms have a little larger than twin bed. Barely any walking room esp with desk. Had to climb over bed to get to window. The hotel gave us a complimentary fridge so we could store our milk. The complimentary breakfast was great! Had sausage slices, eggs with cheese, waffles, boiled eggs, cereal, bread varieties, fruit, oatmeal, and a bunch of other goodies. We got down there around 9:55 and there were so many people they kept bringing more food even after 10. All the employees we encountered were super nice and David even remembered us the next day down in food area and asked us about our stay and if we needed any help getting anywhere. I've stayed at a lot of hotels and this one was at the top even though the rooms were snug because of the experience and location.