Ratings based on 957 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice base to explore New York .Stayed 16/8/14-20/8

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Good location ,friendly helpful staff , comfortable rooms ,close to Subway , free Wi Fi
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Close to Subway and within walking distance of many significant New York attractions
Friendly welcome by hotel staff . Hotel close to subway . Room comfortable and quieter than I had expected. Free Wi Fi and use of computers was useful 24 hour free hot drinks was lovely Looked after our suitcases after we checked out so that we could make the most of our last day in New York Only criticism-breakfast could have been better and breakfast room very crowded
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with a great location

Posted Aug 17, 2014
The staff is extremely nice, helpful and ready to help wherever they can and the breakfast is great. From fruits to scrambled eggs/bacon, there is everything you need to get your day started right. We always had a good breakfast that kept us full until at least noon. Coffee and tea bar is accessible 24/7. The rooms are clean and are updated and new. Elevators work perfectly, never waited for more than 2 minutes for an elevator. It's a 19 story building with two elevators. If I go to New York again, that's the place I'll go. If you're looking for a hotel in Manhattan with breakfast (you find hardly any), 5 minutes away from the Empire State Building and 2 minutes from the subway, that's the place to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City break

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Complimentary breakfast and tea/coffee facilities were very welcome, as were afternoon cookies. Staff friendly and helpful, including a great pizzeria recommendation. Beds are really comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Excellent location but rooms a little small.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Very convenient to subways and local restaurants. Always felt safe walking the neighborhood. Also the incl. breakfast
Cons: Faster elevators. Slightly upgraded decor.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and easy access to all of NYC's tourist attractions.
Excellent location. In a great neighborhood and close to multiple subway stations. Very convenient. However the "queen" sized beds were not quite the same size as a normal "queen" - one foot narrower. Overall room was quite cramped with two "queen beds". And decor a little bit old. Also elevators were slow and busy. But overall the room was perfectly fine. Smaller is to be expected in New York (similar to a European hotel experience). And staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Bottom line is that I would definitely recommend and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smithtown, NY

Nice simple clean hotel.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
It's a nice simple clean no frills hotel. Parking on the street was free all weekend which was GREAT!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything for the guests

Posted Aug 5, 2014
The hotel has amazing friendly stuff, the location is really convenient and rooms are comfortable. I'll definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wembley

ideal location in manhattan

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: hampton inn was a perfect place as a base to explore manhattan
Cons: I was happy with everything the hotel had to offer
Location: 5 min walk to metro to go down to ground zero,empire state building,time square and central park 10 to 15 min walk
stayed 4 nights and had a great time plenty to see and do but not enough time for everything but I am going back again in april to see some of the places I did not see the first time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Hotel located close to Midtown.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Everything about our stay was here was amazing. The room was a decent size, staff was very attentive and the free hot breakfast every morning was a huge bonus. The hotel is located in the trendy Chelsea neighbourhood and everything you need or would like to see is within an easy walk or subway ride including Lower Manhattan, Midtown or Central Park. Would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great stay at the Hampton Inn Chelsea!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good, rates were fair, staff were friendly and helpful, the subway is RIGHT there; it's clean and comfortable.
Cons: I'm not sure, it's not like there's any physical room available to expand the gym--this is a quality hotel that is budget friendly.
Location: One subway stop away from Times Square; 15 minutes by subway to the Financial District and the 9/11 Memorial, etc, etc....great central location.
Our family of four just visited NYC-Manhattan and we stayed at the Hampton Inn in Chelsea due to the good reviews, the fair price that included breakfast and because it is close to the subway lines. We made a good choice. A friendly staff, a clean, comfortable hotel with good AC (thank God, it was so hot and humid last week!), a decent breakfast and yes, close proximity to two of the subway lines made our stay terrific. I have no complaints other than the gym is tiny but after all the walking we did, no one felt like using the gym! Running into Howard Stern at the beer fridge at Whole Foods down the street made it that much more fun. Great trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Great location.. Friendly staff

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Worked out well with 2 teenagers... Breakfast was good... The location ( important in NYC) was perfect!