Ratings based on 1,802 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Great location and a great price!!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: clean, cost, location
Cons: WiFi was very slow, is an older hotel so some of the rooms could use a little bit of an update
Location: close to everything! Union Square is nearest where there is a subway station that can take you to the heart of touristy Manhattan.
You're in NYC so you usually just need a place to shower and sleep. The room was small, but comfortable and had a sink and mirror for washing your face, brushing your teeth, etc. which was awesome! There were two bathrooms on the floor. Even though they were shared bathrooms they were really clean and I never had an issue of waiting to use the facilities or shower. One of them was always open. You also CANNOT beat the location and price! Very inexpensive for a decent, clean hotel that is about a 5-10 minute walk away from restaurants, bars, Union Square, and the subway. I will DEFINITELY be staying here the next time I go to NYC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

July in NYC

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Great location, great price!!!
Cons: Other than a larger elevator, which is MINOR.
Location: Two blocks to Union Square. What more could you ask for?
Really good experience overall. The room was just fine for one offering TV, Sink, Bed, and Air Conditioner. Bathrooms were well maintained and I never had to wait to get in. If you are looking for a pleasant, inexpensive stay, this is the ticket!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Great location. Beautiful old neighborhood.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Easy access to all of Manhattan and Brooklyn. Plenty to do and see (and eat) right there. Union Square Farmers Market a bonus and the staff is phenomenal in their level of service. I wasn't sure about the shared bath situation but they were always clean and available. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from westchester

Great for the price

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Its NYC so you're not getting more comfort than what you get here for this price. My mom struggled with the shared bathroom thing but I found it ok. It was always very clean - water was hot and whenever I needed to use it it was available. Room was clean and bed was comfortable enough. It is not a hotel to be lazy and hang out in your room all day; it is to sleep and it is perfectly good. I found the elevator a little weird at first but then I got the hang of it. Its just antique. I would totally recommend this place - plus the union square subway is just an 8 min walk from here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Excellent location, staff, and price. The staff is diligent about keeping the restrooms cleaned and I really appreciate it. There is an old, musty smell in the building that might prevent me from staying there again. I loved everything else, but I have a very keen sense of smell so I found the smell overwhelming at times. It was a very hat week. My room was clean and perfect. I really appreciate hotels that have hardwood or tile floors. Can't go wrong with clean there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in lower Manhattan

Posted Jul 5, 2014
James the ft. desk guy should get a rise he was very very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, cheap, friendly staff

Posted Jul 4, 2014
I came to NYC for a friends retirement, stayed at the Hotel 17. I saw good reviews and low price for manhatton. It was less than $170 per night. Much lower than other hotels! But this hotel had good reviews? No bedbugs no derelicts, very clean, excellent decor, very nice actually. The staff were all so friendly! This turned out to be a real gem of a place. Great location, I walked there from penn station. The only negative was small bed, shared bathroom. But this was no problem as the room has a sink, flat screen tv nice old school Victorian decor, clean sheets. I had a great time and the staff were all very nice. They went out of there way to help me with directions, I forgot toothpaste and the desk clerk gave me his own tube! They also thanked me for my military service. Great place!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

No Restroom in my Room

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Very old classical elevator. Not dirty but very old facility. I will never stay this hotel again in my life.
Location: Nothing to do near. 10 min. to Union Square by walk.
I was shocked to find that no restroom in my room. Shared restroom and shower booth on the floor. OMG.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Charming yet affordable

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Front desk staff was a little surly, but the place had the feel of classic NYC from the beautiful banisters to the little elevator. We didn't have much trouble with the shared bathrooms, but you have to be prepared to be okay with sharing. Our room was tiny but others seemed bigger- but who cares, it's NYC! You shouldn't be in your hotel anyway:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2014
I enjoyed this Hotel as it was a smooth experience. The staff was kind and the rooms were comfortable and clean.